Are you ready for 7 million people on tiny Singapore?

1.5k Posts 95 Posters 328.4k Views 1 Watching
      mum_sugoku

Harlequin:
      wonderm:

Indeed, there could be a day Singapore is no longer the place to work and live. Not only that foreigners will stop coming, our own young and capable people may seek better job opportunities overseas, leaving even less working adults here supporting an aging population. The question of how to prevent such a scenario from happening should be pondered over and answered by all of us, not just by the govt.

Yap! That might just be. 3Boys said the golden age of SG is over, I kind of feel the same too.

Proud Singaporean take every success for granted, think all well ends well.

It will be a day, when we, commoners/laymen started to agree that we need new immigrants but it may be too late, we have got not much left to attract the willing people. So, the White Paper says, WE DO IT NOW! While we still can....

Alas problem is, these immigrants are highly mobile lot, if they can uproot from their home country for another, no reason why they wouldn't do the same again--should they find Singapore no longer attractive to them.

Harlequin

mum_sugoku:
        Harlequin:

Yap! That might just be. 3Boys said the golden age of SG is over, I kind of feel the same too.

It will be a day, when we, commoners/laymen started to agree that we need new immigrants but it may be too late, we have got not much left to attract the willing people. So, the White Paper says, WE DO IT NOW! While we still can....

But it could've been the proud govt--the current 3G batch--who is taking every success for granted..

After reading again your post, I am curious as to their are taking they own PAP success for granted? Or, taking the nation's success for granted?

Harlequin

mum_sugoku:
          Harlequin:

[quote=\"wonderm\"]

Indeed, there could be a day Singapore is no longer the place to work and live. Not only that foreigners will stop coming, our own young and capable people may seek better job opportunities overseas, leaving even less working adults here supporting an aging population. The question of how to prevent such a scenario from happening should be pondered over and answered by all of us, not just by the govt.

Alas problem is, these immigrants are highly mobile lot, if they can uproot from their home country for another, no reason why they wouldn't do the same again--should they find Singapore no longer attractive to them.[/quote]Ya, not before they pay their taxes/duties before they go.
          (See, that's why gov collect levy directly from employers :evil: šŸ˜‰ )

So, the question is, how to make them want to stay long? If you are a foreigner, FT in SG, reading this forum, how would you feel? Would you feel belonged?

I think we also have to ask ourselves why they don't want to root here.

ngl2010

Harlequin:
            wonderm:

Harlequin, I saw in another thread that you bought d'Leedon? So, the 7m population is good for your properti(es), right? I also like to buy, but no money leh...

mum_sugoku

Harlequin:
              mum_sugoku:

[quote=\"Harlequin\"]Yap! That might just be. 3Boys said the golden age of SG is over, I kind of feel the same too.

But it could've been the proud govt--the current 3G batch--who is taking every success for granted..

After reading again your post, I am curious as to their are taking they own PAP success for granted? Or, taking the nation's success for granted?[/quote]The former - People have been faithfully voting for The Party for so many years that they probably take it that people will always believe in--and vote for--the Party regardless of what they do.

mum_sugoku

Harlequin:
                mum_sugoku:

Alas problem is, these immigrants are highly mobile lot, if they can uproot from their home country for another, no reason why they wouldn't do the same again--should they find Singapore no longer attractive to them.

Ya, not before they pay their taxes/duties before they go.

So, the question is, how to make them want to stay long? If you are a foreigner, FT in SG, reading this forum, how would you feel? Would you feel belonged?

Why?

Because they find somewhere else more attractive than Singapore lor. Whatever that lures them here, can lure them elsewhere.

Harlequin

mum_sugoku:
                  Harlequin:

[quote=\"mum_sugoku\"]Alas problem is, these immigrants are highly mobile lot, if they can uproot from their home country for another, no reason why they wouldn't do the same again--should they find Singapore no longer attractive to them.

Ya, not before they pay their taxes/duties before they go.

Why?

Because they find somewhere else more attractive than Singapore lor. Whatever that lures them here, can lure them elsewhere.[/quote]Yap! That's why we have to stay attractive! Don't take them for granted.

Harlequin

mum_sugoku:
                    Harlequin:

[quote=\"mum_sugoku\"]

After reading again your post, I am curious as to their are taking they own PAP success for granted? Or, taking the nation's success for granted?

The former - People have been faithfully voting for The Party for so many years that they probably take it that people will always believe in--and vote for--the Party regardless of what they do.[/quote]Agree with you, PAP needs revamp!

Somehow I still find consolation that they do not take our nation's success for granted. Now, let's hope that we do not too, at our ground level.

Harlequin

ngl2010:
                      Harlequin:

[quote=\"wonderm\"]

Harlequin, I saw in another thread that you bought d'Leedon? So, the 7m population is good for your properti(es), right? I also like to buy, but no money leh...[/quote]Haha, are you implying that because I have bought D'Leedon thus I support the 7m population?

Psssst.... It's called \"CONFIDENCE\", I have faith in what you don't have in! šŸ˜„

Harlequin

:siao:

Getting fed up of having to scroll through the same posts each visit? When you register for an account, you'll always come back to exactly where you were before, and choose to be notified of new replies (either via email, or push notification). You'll also be able to save bookmarks and upvote posts to show your appreciation to other community members.

• 35 / 150