Are you ready for 7 million people on tiny Singapore?
pirate:
There is no where in the world that people will allow gov to implement policies that threaten their livelihood for the sake of a \"greater good\". It is simply against human nature. So, i don't think you can run to anywhere.Harlequin:
Let's die together in a natural death! Pop champagne!
No, lah. If everybody wants to die together, I just go somewhere else. :siam: -
hercules:
Sigh. That's the question they forgot to ask themselves. Everything also they want, only don't know how to justify. Hence no answer!Harlequin:
[quote=\"pirate\"]I'm still waiting for people to say what they want leh. :scratchhead:
Shall we have 0.00% population growth between now and 2030? :evil:
Many laymen like us we have no answers coz we dont have the data and the knowledge to formulate this kind of plans.
What we have is an 'instinct' and a 'gut feel', that this 7 million figure doesnt make sense in this small country.
What we have is the distrust in the government that they can come up with the infrastructure that can sustain this number for most of us, esp our offspring, to live comfortably in the future.
When we don't have the answers, does it mean that we have to shut up and sit down and let the 'wise ones' plan and do whatever they want?[/quote]No, had anyone been shut up since this White Paper?
7m by 2030, not by tomorrow. We may not even achieve 7m or may not even need 7m.... But do people care to know?
White Paper lei... not like is already made a law! -
WeiHan:
There is no where in the world that people will allow gov to implement policies that threaten their livelihood for the sake of a \"greater good\". It is simply against human nature. So, i don't think you can run to anywhere.[/quote]Really... Why is Spain jobless rate at 22%? Bcos they subscribe to the same thinking that the gov policies are threatening their livelihood, least do they know they are the ones that handcuffing themselves into the Death Valley!pirate:
[quote=\"Harlequin\"]Let's die together in a natural death! Pop champagne!
No, lah. If everybody wants to die together, I just go somewhere else. :siam: -
Harlequin:
Ya lor! At the end still the rich and affluent win! If they don't leave they too have to swallow the bitter pills while paying higher taxes here with us peasants!pirate:
[quote=\"Harlequin\"]Let's die together in a natural death! Pop champagne!
No, lah. If everybody wants to die together, I just go somewhere else. :siam:
Not just us peasants can smell the stingy armpits of the FT/FW, the rich and affluent also got long nose lei![/quote]Peasants or the rich and affluent get to smell more?
Who travel by public transport? Who by private sedan?
Who cramp in HDB flats? Whose neighbour is not just 2 steps away from your door?
Who work sitting side by side with their colleagues? Who have the luxury to close their door and inform someone sitting outside they should not be disturbed, should they feel the need?
Who shop in NTUC FairPrice? Who order their groceries and got them delivered to their doorstep?
Who goes to the shops/malls to get their clothes? Who got designer shops jostling to visit their home with their latest collection? -
MR06:
Me this peasant only think of how the immigrants can bring forth or contribute to a better growth of economy, me not so concern about what I smell or what agitate me daily.
Peasants or the rich and affluent get to smell more?
Who travel by public transport, who by private sedan?
Who cramp in HDB flats, whose neighbour is not 2 steps away from your door?
Who work sitting side by side with their colleagues? Who have the luxury to close their door and inform someone sitting outside they should not be disturbed, should they feel the need?
If the economy in the negative territory, me the peasants suffer the greatest! The rich gang just get themselves another heaven!
Now, I better think of how to stop others being rich before I become one! -
MR06:
Ya lor! At the end still the rich and affluent win! If they don't leave they too have to swallow the bitter pills while paying higher taxes here with us peasants!Harlequin:
[quote=\"pirate\"]
Not just us peasants can smell the stingy armpits of the FT/FW, the rich and affluent also got long nose lei!
Who cramp in HDB flats? Whose neighbour is not just 2 steps away from your door?
Who shop in NTUC FairPrice? Who order their groceries and got them delivered to their doorstep?
Who goes to the shops/malls to get their clothes? Who got designer shops jostling to visit their home with their latest collection?[/quote]Noble!
Noble should start with M, as \"Me\"! -
Harlequin:
I don't understand what you are driving at. I think mentioning of Greece and Spain are just red herring here. Greece has serious tax evasion issue which Singapore does not have and I hope gov has a good system to prevent that. both countries suffered property bubble burst.
Really... Why is Spain jobless rate at 22%? Bcos they subscribe to the same thinking that the gov policies are threatening the livelihood, least do they know they are the ones that handcuffing themselves into the Death Valley!
In fact, Spain has allowed immigration but emigration exceed immigration after 2008. So what does it says? Our issue is not completely similar to theirs.
There is really nowhere in the world for you to escape to even gov were to increase tax for high income earners by a few percent because their tax system for the high income earner is much harsher than ours. So, it also answers my point earlier on that 10% GST is bad. -
Harlequin:
Is it a promise the economy would be in the positive territory with more immigrants and you the peasant would benefit the most?
Me this peasant only think of how the immigrants can bring forth or contribute to a better growth of economy, me not so concern about what I smell or what agitate me daily.MR06:
If the economy in the negative territory, me the peasants suffer the greatest! The rich gang just get themselves another heaven!
Now, I better think of how to stop others being rich before I become one!
On your last sentence, don't understand your logic. -
MR06:
Ya lor! At the end still the rich and affluent win! If they don't leave they too have to swallow the bitter pills while paying higher taxes here with us peasants!Harlequin:
[quote=\"pirate\"]
Not just us peasants can smell the stingy armpits of the FT/FW, the rich and affluent also got long nose lei!
Who goes to the shops/malls to get their clothes? Who got designer shops jostling to visit their home with their latest collection?[/quote]Fret not! We the whole gang of peasants are sitting tight awaiting for a natural death with you, cos it's easier to die together than to make the rich smell or feel the suffering we are going through... Daily!
So, it's not just about the the 7m immigrants, the rich shall ceased to exist first :evil: -
MR06:
Is it a promise the economy would be in the positive territory with more immigrants and you the peasant would benefit the most?
Me this peasant only think of how the immigrants can bring forth or contribute to a better growth of economy, me not so concern about what I smell or what agitate me daily.Harlequin:
[quote=\"MR06\"]
Now, I better think of how to stop others being rich before I become one!
On your last sentence, don't understand your logic.[/quote]No, it is never a 100% promise, but at least we try, a good odds at 90%. Now that's a A*
Don't try, ZERO!
Getting fed up of having to scroll through the same posts each visit? When you register for an account, you'll always come back to exactly where you were before, and choose to be notified of new replies (either via email, or push notification). You'll also be able to save bookmarks and upvote posts to show your appreciation to other community members.