From PSLE to University

Scheduled Pinned Locked Moved Tertiary Education - A-Levels, Diplomas, Degrees
    198 Posts 40 Posters 92.1k Views 1 Watching
    • 2 Offline
      2ppaamm

tacit:
      Thank you for sharing, 2ppaamm. 😄

Question: How did you select the Diploma course? I mean, like what do you look at, how do you know that it's reliable, etc.
      A lot of bodies out there that monitors. The Americas have at least 4 of them. Surf the net, look for accredited high school programs. You will come across many, many.

The ones Singaporeans are used to include: EPGY (this is Stanford University's program) - I have some experience with them - they very proud leh. But that's a very recognized program.

Another very well known program is John Hopkins. They conduct tests to identify early high school students frequently. Check out all the high school programs conducted by the universities (also many - I can think of Maryland and Indiana), they are all accredited and recognized.

There are also those run commercially. http://www.worldwidelearn.com/online-degrees/online-high-school-courses.htm Don't write them off simply because they are commercially run.

One more thing, there are some you can attend a graduation, some without a gown graduation. See what your kids like. Also check the age criteria to start. Some states do not allow children below 14 to start a high school program. Write to these schools and check all these out. Choose one relevant to your child.

There may be tests they need to take. It is almost safe to say that if your child score A or A* for Math at PSLE, they will breeze through the tests. But note the gifted programs, these are hard to ace.

Most of these programs are also expensive, definitely more than your school sup fees. So calculate carefully here, and plan accordingly. They are still cheaper than international schools, and all your years of books and tuition add up!

Hope this helps! 😄

micko07

Wow amazing!

I’m also curious about which diploma programme you used. Also, which university is your son studying in now?

Is it very difficult to manage with both secondary school and HS diploma? I’m on the IP track and just studying for SATs alone gives me a headache. And that’s taking into account that my tutors rarely give us homework and the programme I’m in emphasizes on self-study.

P.S What scores did your son get in SAT?

mintcc

this is very inspiring! :udawoman:

It certainly help to see that there are always choices when it comes to our childrens education.

harini

Hi 2appaamm,

I am impressed !!! Thanks for sharing your experience here.

You have really independant and passionate children. What kind of Diplomas are you referring to, and from which instittutions? Also curious what faculty are your children doing their degrees in.

• 2 Offline
              2ppaamm

micko07:
              Wow amazing!

I'm also curious about which diploma programme you used. Also, which university is your son studying in now?

Is it very difficult to manage with both secondary school and HS diploma? I'm on the IP track and just studying for SATs alone gives me a headache. And that's taking into account that my tutors rarely give us homework and the programme I'm in emphasizes on self-study.

P.S What scores did your son get in SAT?
              No, just do the diploma during hols, since they are modular. Did you do any course to prepare for the SAT? There are some you can take on the net. Why are you taking the SAT if you are taking A or IB? Going to a American U? They also recognize both of these. Or are you super kiasu? :lol: Don't be lah.

metz

Hi 2ppaamm,

Like the rest, a big thanks for sharing!

Just one question, is there any age limit or other minimum requirements for taking the diploma courses? Or is the child allowed to enrol for the courses once he/she passes the entry tests?

Since it’s modular based and no time constraint, I am just wondering if it is possible to start the kids younger, say at primary school level?

Pardon my asking cos there is a chance my kids might not stay in the local education system. So, I’m interested in looking out for all possibilities.

Many thanks.

JonC

Wow.

Great to read such an interesting article.

Anyway, I personally do not like Singapore’s education system, we are producing rebots, not students.

fairydust3

JonC:
                    Wow.

Great to read such an interesting article.

Anyway, I personally do not like Singapore's education system, we are producing rebots, not students.
                    I completely agree. And our students may do well academically, but they are, to put it bluntly, absolutely clueless when it comes to general knowledge, world issues and application of what we are taught.

We study; we do not learn - and I find that rather sad..

tacit

2ppaamm:

A lot of bodies out there that monitors. The Americas have at least 4 of them. Surf the net, look for accredited high school programs. You will come across many, many.

The ones Singaporeans are used to include: EPGY (this is Stanford University's program) - I have some experience with them - they very proud leh. But that's a very recognized program.

Another very well known program is John Hopkins. They conduct tests to identify early high school students frequently. Check out all the high school programs conducted by the universities (also many - I can think of Maryland and Indiana), they are all accredited and recognized.

There are also those run commercially. http://www.worldwidelearn.com/online-degrees/online-high-school-courses.htm Don't write them off simply because they are commercially run.

One more thing, there are some you can attend a graduation, some without a gown graduation. See what your kids like. Also check the age criteria to start. Some states do not allow children below 14 to start a high school program. Write to these schools and check all these out. Choose one relevant to your child.

There may be tests they need to take. It is almost safe to say that if your child score A or A* for Math at PSLE, they will breeze through the tests. But note the gifted programs, these are hard to ace.

Most of these programs are also expensive, definitely more than your school sup fees. So calculate carefully here, and plan accordingly. They are still cheaper than international schools, and all your years of books and tuition add up!

Hope this helps! 😄
                      2ppaamm, thank you for answering my questions 😄 Yes, I've heard of EPGY before. We really appreciate your sharing.

micko07

2ppaamm:

No, just do the diploma during hols, since they are modular. Did you do any course to prepare for the SAT? There are some you can take on the net. Why are you taking the SAT if you are taking A or IB? Going to a American U? They also recognize both of these. Or are you super kiasu? :lol: Don't be lah.
                        Nope. Self-studying my way through (not very effective because I lack the discipline lol)

Haha thinking about it! American Unis don't recognize A levels as an alternative to SATs, unforunately. It's mandatory to take SAT I + SAT IIs or ACT are nearly all universities. Annoying but what to do. I wouldn't take the test if I didn't have to! (Waste money + time)

Oh well, I'm far too old for the diploma programme. Better stick it out for one more year and hope to do well for A levels!

Thanks for the sharing! :udawoman:

Getting fed up of having to scroll through the same posts each visit? When you register for an account, you'll always come back to exactly where you were before, and choose to be notified of new replies (either via email, or push notification). You'll also be able to save bookmarks and upvote posts to show your appreciation to other community members.

• 2 / 20

JuningJ
                        Juning
                        thebottomsupblogT
                        thebottomsupblog