Are you ready for 7 million people on tiny Singapore?
Musings:
Rationally Singaporeans may not oppose having FT in these sectors but emotionally, Singaporeans cannot accept them. Hence the opposition to foreign workers dorms in your backyard, the unhappiness of squeezing with them on MRT trains, the backlash against FT drivers who get involved in accidents (sometimes fatal ones). We want them to do our dirty work but we want them out of sight.
The govt already come up with the answer mah.. Foreign \"talent\".limlim:
[quote=\"pirate\"]
So how?
Based on the discussion in other forums, many do not oppose to having FT in these sectors.
So how?[/quote]Aiya, aiya, nevermind lah! Garmen want more population, they also don't care if you are black, white, brown, or yellow, from North, South, East or West, so long as you contribute to GDP!! Do you think they also want a foreign workers dorm in their private estate and travel in the crowded public transport?
All our PMET aspirants should also bear in mind that there is another variable in the equation that is not mentioned explicitly in both the White Paper and the various opposition partiesβ alternatives - balance of payment.
Practically all of our food, energy and things we use are imported. If our economy does not earn foreign exchange, we are all dead ducks. Where will the forex we need come from if Singaporeans only want to be PMETs? -
ruohoo97:
:hi5: But hor, next time who would want to marry my boy if he is a plumber? :faint: See, I don't mind if he's a plumber and he gets to spend more time with family. I also don't mind them wanting to get married earlier and have children at a younger age, and I can be a grandparent at an age which I can be mobile enough to give a helping hand if needed...only thing is would kiasuparents want their DD to marry a plumber?
:grphug: applause. Would be nice to have more such ksps. To be honest, it is human for parents wish their children better than what they had been through, especially if they had gone through a hard time. But, think about, those generations who had gone through the hardship made today's Singapore. If more locals don't mind to do those jobs, then no need Foreign immigration (FT or FW) , then no need 6.9 millions .concern2:
Whatever one craves, there is a cost. I don't mind if my boy decides to be a plumber one day if he finds it is the most productive thing to do for a living - esp. if there is a market shortage. It is an honest living. But he must still get a tertiary education. Education should not be about what he does for a living later on. Doesn't mean if he can be a plumber now, I will not push him to do well in his studies. Hence, I never like to give kids the idea that they must study hard now so next time can make more money. They are 2 different issues. JMHO.
I totally agree with you. 10+ years ago, when I was a fresh graduate, I had no problems look for a job even though I have no experience. The companies were will to give us a chance and train us. Now, in the stat board that I am in, there are 10 fresh uni grads who have technical degrees fr NUS and NTU, doing temp data entry and admin work. They said they can't find work, cos the companies all don't want to hire fresh graduates. My friends who are still in the industry say that's because for the same pay, they can hire FTs with abt 3-5 years experience. So its credit to the HR if they can get the max out of the same $$. However, these FTs bring their very different work culture with them. When their numbers are small, it is easier to mould them to adapt to the SG culture. But now we have 80% of the depts from the same country, the working culture is no longer SG. I shared previously that there are MNCs who are considering to stop further investments in SG because they find that SG now has 1st world cost of doing business, but 3rd world work attitude. And on top of that, the young SG grads cannot find work and are doing stg totally unrelated. a few years later, companies will continue to lament that they need to hire more FTs because no SCs with relevant experience and expertise. They were never given the chance in the 1st place, how to have the experience?
Personally, I don't mind FT in some area (eg. construction, cleaner, etc...) I also don't mind some in service but it does get alarming if every shop you go, you think you are in another country or to the effect that all the NTUC local aunties are being replaced by F\"T\"... then I think that is really too much.
We do observed a resource crunch recently at various food places. Plates will pile up, etc... and there are only a few cleaners. The positive aspect is that we start to see local old folks taking up more of those job as compared to before where it's mainly done by F\"T\". Some of these old folks need a job and they probably didn't stand a chance earlier before the stricter control????
In the workplace, we have alot of FT. In my old co., locals are the minorities. Though we work harmoniously together as a team but I feel that some of these jobs don't actually need a FT. These are jobs that can be performed by our local graduates. So are our local graduates being deprived a chance due to that????
If the companies cannot hire FTs so freely like during my time, I'm sure they will be more willing to hire fresh graduates. -
pirate:
...Where will the forex we need come from if Singaporeans only want to be PMETs?
Ok, now I want to point my finger - it is time to celebrate meritocracy! :rahrah: :rahrah: :siam: -
We all nid to learn to clear our own trays ....
We do observed a resource crunch recently at various food places. Plates will pile up, etc... -
:hi5: But hor, next time who would want to marry my boy if he is a plumber? :faint: See, I don't mind if he's a plumber and he gets to spend more time with family. I also don't mind them wanting to get married earlier and have children at a younger age, and I can be a grandparent at an age which I can be mobile enough to give a helping hand if needed...only thing is would kiasuparents want their DD to marry a plumber?
:grphug: applause. Would be nice to have more such ksps. To be honest, it is human for parents wish their children better than what they had been through, especially if they had gone through a hard time. But, think about, those generations who had gone through the hardship made today's Singapore. If more locals don't mind to do those jobs, then no need Foreign immigration (FT or FW) , then no need 6.9 millions .ruohoo97:
[quote=\"concern2\"]
Whatever one craves, there is a cost. I don't mind if my boy decides to be a plumber one day if he finds it is the most productive thing to do for a living - esp. if there is a market shortage. It is an honest living. But he must still get a tertiary education. Education should not be about what he does for a living later on. Doesn't mean if he can be a plumber now, I will not push him to do well in his studies. Hence, I never like to give kids the idea that they must study hard now so next time can make more money. They are 2 different issues. JMHO.
[/quote]Well, if he can earn a decent pay, own a flat, I'm sure there will be people who are willing to marry him. I think the crux of the problem is the super low wages. Plumbers, carpenters, mechanics are also technical people who deserve a decent pay. If they can earn a decent pay like say, and IT professional does, then why not? I won't mind my DD marry a plumber, it's the pay!!!
Musings:
Rationally Singaporeans may not oppose having FT in these sectors but emotionally, Singaporeans cannot accept them. Hence the opposition to foreign workers dorms in your backyard, the unhappiness of squeezing with them on MRT trains, the backlash against FT drivers who get involved in accidents (sometimes fatal ones). We want them to do our dirty work but we want them out of sight.
[quote=\"pirate\"]
So how?
Based on the discussion in other forums, many do not oppose to having FT in these sectors.
So how?[/quote]I didn't say I cannot accept them so I can't answer your question. -
pirate:
So they say. They seem to not like these FT on the MRT trains or in the HDB flats or in the malls or in the parks or taking their food orders or driving the buses or even talking amongst themselves.[/quote]Some are just against PMETs and not all FTs.
[quote=\"pirate\"]
So how?
Based on the discussion in other forums, many do not oppose to having FT in these sectors. -
Laura02:
Probably explains the national campaign to clear your own plates after meal. The govt see it coming when they clamp down on certain F \"T\".
We all nid to learn to clear our own trays ....MMM:
We do observed a resource crunch recently at various food places. Plates will pile up, etc...
Getting fed up of having to scroll through the same posts each visit? When you register for an account, you'll always come back to exactly where you were before, and choose to be notified of new replies (either via email, or push notification). You'll also be able to save bookmarks and upvote posts to show your appreciation to other community members.