Pei Chun Public

2.7k Posts 145 Posters 841.2k Views 1 Watching
      bridesep

Mummy_Tang:
      iLoveChubby:

Any idea what is this \"Booklet K\" about? It was stated in the examination matters notification (for P3) that \"it is part of the assessment given to the pupils of the different levels since 2002\".

There's a PN on examination matters notification (for P3)?? Aiyo, gotta go dig out fm my DS tonite.... Booklet K??? never heard fm it too....

Thanks to KSP Forum.... if not, would know what's happening...

Hi mummy Tang

Yes, the PN was distributed last week or so. I note that the PNs are not uploaded on the school website yet. In fact, the website is a bit out-dated leh....

bridesep

kin:
        Hi bridesep,

Actually, The sch system is only modified for lower primary. How each sch bridge the children back to the ca2, sa1, sa2 exam system, i think every sch has its own plan. Although i find that the non exam style in P1 & P 2 is gd for the kids, eventually, they sit the same PSLE paper. So, the in between stages where the child goes fr modular to ( accumulative) exam style is something we have to prepare ourselves and children too.

Because my P5 dd is the last batch of old exam system, she went thro ca and sa style where the syllabus tested is accumulative. Even in P3 , you can be tested stuff fr P1 and 2, which I think make sense, because you need to be sure of yr foundation wk before moving on. My dd really undergo stress in that sense because the amt of knowledge will increase. Hence, consistency and not having back log in hmwk and doubts are v impt.

Just my humble opinion : )
        Thanks, Kin for sharing. I am beginning to feel stressed. Maybe that is the reason why there is no CA1. In fact, I note that there is no CA1 for P4 as well. So SA1 is going to be super stressful. This is indeed a big transition, makes me wonder if MA is a good idea at all. Maybe MA makes sense in P1 but I think, the school ought to start phasing in CA and SA in P2 and not have a big jump in P3. Really feeling the difference.....

Callie Tan

bridesep:
          Callie Tan:

Just checked with my girl... no Feb newsletter yet...

Hi Callie, my son got the Feb Newsletter last week. It is in pink.

Oh dear...my girl doesnt have it, I checked her bag liao....either she misplaced it or what lah...anything need to pay attention to?

bridesep

Callie Tan:
            bridesep:

[quote=\"Callie Tan\"]Just checked with my girl... no Feb newsletter yet...

Hi Callie, my son got the Feb Newsletter last week. It is in pink.

Oh dear...my girl doesnt have it, I checked her bag liao....either she misplaced it or what lah...anything need to pay attention to?[/quote]Hi Calli,
            Basically, normal school hours on o8 Feb, no lessons on 11 and 12 Feb, 15 Feb is Total Defence Day, workshop on Di Zi Gui on 9 Mar (Sat) for all parents. The rest are not relevant for P3.

• lagL Offline
              lag

DS in p4 this yr and every tuesday he needs to stay back for AS which ends at 3.30pm… we are both working parents therefore he has been taking the school bus since p1…

I was told by my mum that DS reach home at 5pm yesterday…After checking with DS I realise that there is only 2 school bus to cater for all the P4 that are taking AS…and my DS school bus need to make 2 trips. He belongs to the 2nd trip which means from 3.30pm to 4.15pm…he is playing happily in school while waiting for the sch bus!! There are abt 12 students that are taking the same school bus as my kid…
              sigh…i dont want to sound like a protective parent and question the sch regarding this…but then i dont feel comfortable knowing that from 3.30pm to 4.15pm there is totally no one who knows the whereabout of my son ( or the 11 students that are in the same sch bus )… what if something happen to him between this timing? who is responsible for it? Do you think it is possible to have a teacher to keep an eye on the 12 students…maybe keep them in the classroom or whatsoever…let them do some work or read some books rather than running all over the place?
              I check with my ds… this "coming home at 5pm" every tuesday will continue until the rest of the year…
              parents.any suggestions?

Callie Tan

bridesep:

Hi Calli,
                Basically, normal school hours on o8 Feb, no lessons on 11 and 12 Feb, 15 Feb is Total Defence Day, workshop on Di Zi Gui on 9 Mar (Sat) for all parents. The rest are not relevant for P3.

Thanks!! I just saw the newsletter last night, finally... hehehehe

Callie Tan

lag:
                  DS in p4 this yr and every tuesday he needs to stay back for AS which ends at 3.30pm.. we are both working parents therefore he has been taking the school bus since p1..

I was told by my mum that DS reach home at 5pm yesterday..After checking with DS I realise that there is only 2 school bus to cater for all the P4 that are taking AS..and my DS school bus need to make 2 trips. He belongs to the 2nd trip which means from 3.30pm to 4.15pm..he is playing happily in school while waiting for the sch bus!! There are abt 12 students that are taking the same school bus as my kid..
                  sigh..i dont want to sound like a protective parent and question the sch regarding this..but then i dont feel comfortable knowing that from 3.30pm to 4.15pm there is totally no one who knows the whereabout of my son ( or the 11 students that are in the same sch bus ).. what if something happen to him between this timing? who is responsible for it? Do you think it is possible to have a teacher to keep an eye on the 12 students..maybe keep them in the classroom or whatsoever..let them do some work or read some books rather than running all over the place?
                  I check with my ds.. this \"coming home at 5pm\" every tuesday will continue until the rest of the year..
                  parents.any suggestions?
                  Yes I can totally understand your worries ... but seriously, i feel the only possible solution is for the school to allocate a teacher-in-charge to ensure that the kids stay in the classrooms while waiting to board the bus... you may wish to feedback to the school?

popireis

bridesep:
                    Thanks, Kin for sharing. I am beginning to feel stressed. Maybe that is the reason why there is no CA1. In fact, I note that there is no CA1 for P4 as well. So SA1 is going to be super stressful. This is indeed a big transition, makes me wonder if MA is a good idea at all. Maybe MA makes sense in P1 but I think, the school ought to start phasing in CA and SA in P2 and not have a big jump in P3. Really feeling the difference.....

Hi, my DS2 went thru the MA in P1/P2 then CA/SA in P3 onwards. He was the first batch under the new system. Though from P2 to P3 there is a jump in the level of syllabus and with additional subject, I think most students cope pretty well. DS has no problems transiting from MA to CA/SA. To them, it seems like a test is still a test, an exam is still an exam. Kids are pretty amazing people 🙂

• lagL Offline
                      lag

Callie Tan:
                      lag:

DS in p4 this yr and every tuesday he needs to stay back for AS which ends at 3.30pm.. we are both working parents therefore he has been taking the school bus since p1..

I was told by my mum that DS reach home at 5pm yesterday..After checking with DS I realise that there is only 2 school bus to cater for all the P4 that are taking AS..and my DS school bus need to make 2 trips. He belongs to the 2nd trip which means from 3.30pm to 4.15pm..he is playing happily in school while waiting for the sch bus!! There are abt 12 students that are taking the same school bus as my kid..
                      sigh..i dont want to sound like a protective parent and question the sch regarding this..but then i dont feel comfortable knowing that from 3.30pm to 4.15pm there is totally no one who knows the whereabout of my son ( or the 11 students that are in the same sch bus ).. what if something happen to him between this timing? who is responsible for it? Do you think it is possible to have a teacher to keep an eye on the 12 students..maybe keep them in the classroom or whatsoever..let them do some work or read some books rather than running all over the place?
                      I check with my ds.. this \"coming home at 5pm\" every tuesday will continue until the rest of the year..
                      parents.any suggestions?

Yes I can totally understand your worries ... but seriously, i feel the only possible solution is for the school to allocate a teacher-in-charge to ensure that the kids stay in the classrooms while waiting to board the bus... you may wish to feedback to the school?

thanks... glad to know that i did not over-react.. i will write an email to the P and VP about this..

muska

Is this Fri CNY celebration day for PM session? Are the kids supposed to come in CNY wear? i might have misplaced the PN, and the website is not updated yet

Getting fed up of having to scroll through the same posts each visit? When you register for an account, you'll always come back to exactly where you were before, and choose to be notified of new replies (either via email, or push notification). You'll also be able to save bookmarks and upvote posts to show your appreciation to other community members.

• 162 / 269