Are you ready for 7 million people on tiny Singapore?

1.5k Posts 95 Posters 318.6k Views 1 Watching
      MR06

crony.in.ksp:
      All these ostriches have lots of hot air suggestions after burying their heads under the hot sand for too long

Anything non-PAP is like genius to them even though they are most alike with dodo birds
      Don't lump the two. Very different species hor!
      Ostriches at least run as fast as their legs can carry them. They know how to flee from their enemies.
      Dodo birds can't differentiate enemies from friends, let alone sense potential danger to themselves and their forest friends.

Ostrich
      http://i48.tinypic.com/5xsd1z.jpg\">

Dodo
      http://i48.tinypic.com/j0iej8.jpg\">

Don't sully the image of the ostrich!

• 3 Offline
        3Boys

MR06:

From LLL

\"In a recent ST report, Singapore sees an average of 12,000 abortions a year, and 4 out of 10 women who went for abortions were single women. Reducing the discrimination against single mothers may reduce the likelihood of single mothers having to resort to terminating their pregnancies for fear of lack of support. Furthermore, for a country suffering from a fertility crisis, each child should be valued, and not punished simply because he or she is born to unmarried parents.\"

Are we as a society, ready for this?

She is not encouraging promiscuity, just suggesting accepting the product. I don't see why sweeping the dirt under the carpet by getting rid of the product should be considered a more noble solution.

I do not advocate abortions, but I can't see how you can walk that line as you suggest. Observations of more liberal societies than ours will tell you that's exactly the slippery slope we are headed down.

So please quit making excuses for the WP and at least be honest and accept the proposal for what it is, a more liberal mindset and greater acceptance of sexual promiscuity.

Harlequin

crony.in.ksp:
          All these ostriches have lots of hot air suggestions after burying their heads under the hot sand for too long

Anything non-PAP is like genius to them even though they are most alike with dodo birds
          Psst... She thought we are the same person. :rotflmao: I received a PM from a kind member last night, about what she wrote on another thread... Hahahaha...you see, she has a \"thing\" about nailing whoever is/are her perceived suspect/s. You know, they call it an obsession.

She is a bird species expert, so, don't play play. :rotflmao: I don't have any bird, if you have any bird you better :siam: far far before she made your bird her private specimen collection :rotflmao: :rotflmao:

Take care, keep posting, I enjoy reading your posts... :rahrah:

cimman

sunflower:

Actually, I do see some flaws in the WP’s proposals while scanning through. Not going to say anything at this point of time, until I see more concrete plans and implementation strategies.
            actually, the implementation strategy is where things normally fall apart. The strategic direction is alright, but flops when it comes to implementation. One can't really predict a good successful implementation strategy, however, with a good feedback system and a pro active approach, the initial strategy can be fine tuned to make the strategic direction a practical reality.

One very simple example of where strategy and practical reality diverge. In, let's say a forum which deals in primary school education, :evil: , the forum has multiple threads for Science, Maths, English, Chinese (strategy). People are supposed to post questions in the relevant forum threads. You will find people posting Maths questions in Science forum, etc... :slapshead: Without a good checks and balance system, the initial direction will fall apart.

pirate

MR06:

She is not encouraging promiscuity, just suggesting accepting the product. I don't see why sweeping the dirt under the carpet by getting rid of the product should be considered a more noble solution.

I do not advocate abortions, but I can't see how you can walk that line as you suggest. Observations of more liberal societies than ours will tell you that's exactly the slippery slope we are headed down.

So please quit making excuses for the WP and at least be honest and accept the proposal for what it is, a more liberal mindset and greater acceptance of sexual promiscuity.

Ya lor. Sexual promiscuity is conducive to making babies. People have to decide these hard questions instead of trying to cop out. Which is more important, traditional 'family values' or TFR? šŸ˜‰

• 3 Offline
                3Boys

pirate:

[quote=\"MR06\"]She is not encouraging promiscuity, just suggesting accepting the product. I don't see why sweeping the dirt under the carpet by getting rid of the product should be considered a more noble solution.

Ya lor. Sexual promiscuity is conducive to making babies. People have to decide these hard questions instead of trying to cop out. Which is more important, traditional 'family values' or TFR? šŸ˜‰[/quote]Chan Chun Sing already said more than a year ago, in some countries, population growth is sustained by no-traditional families, and perhaps that's one path we might be headed down. He asked, are we ready, as a society, for that?

This idea so new meh? Just because WP says it, it is some BIG deal, when PAP says it, just silence.

pirate

pirate:

Ya lor. Sexual promiscuity is conducive to making babies. People have to decide these hard questions instead of trying to cop out. Which is more important, traditional 'family values' or TFR? šŸ˜‰

Chan Chun Sing already said more than a year ago, in some countries, population growth is sustained by no-traditional families, and perhaps that's one path we might be headed down. He asked, are we ready, as a society, for that?

This idea so new meh? Just because WP says it, it is some BIG deal, when PAP says it, just silence.

Ya lor. I remember having a similar discussion in some other thread on KSP some time ago.

Wait a minute. Here it is:
                  http://www.kiasuparents.com/kiasu/forum/viewtopic.php?f=1&t=39012&start=340

• MMMM Offline
                    MMM

pirate:

[quote=\"MR06\"]She is not encouraging promiscuity, just suggesting accepting the product. I don't see why sweeping the dirt under the carpet by getting rid of the product should be considered a more noble solution.

Ya lor. Sexual promiscuity is conducive to making babies. People have to decide these hard questions instead of trying to cop out. Which is more important, traditional 'family values' or TFR? šŸ˜‰[/quote]Someone who is working for me got pregnant. She is already past mid 30's and I didn't even know she has a bf. She got to know about her pregnancy really late (eg. 30+ weeks). It's a long amazing story. Btw, she always talk to me and I didn't even realise she is pregnant.... :? As she is already at 30+ weeks, abortion is out of question. But I am sure if she got to know about it earlier, abortion will be a consideration. They also contemplated if she should give up the baby. In the end, she kept the child and she is still single.

Initially it was a hush hush situation that only a few know. But now the entire office is aware and we support her. We encourage her to let people know so that people know the kind of challenges she has with a child and is probably more understanding, etc... The point I am driving is that maybe LLL is refering to this group of people. Not some young teenage pregnancies but rather single mature ladies who got pregnant?

limlim

pirate:

Will employment passes be subject to the same regime? What will be the interplay between EP and WP under such a regime?
                      Increase WP, reduce EP.. :evil:

Isolate one group of EPs which are excluded from the restriction, which are, EPs assigned to employees sent from host company HQ. These will be considered skilled workers for technology transfer to local workforce.

All locally employed EP workers should be subjected to restrictions.

FW can have directly impact in inflation and cost of goods & services etc.. but EPs have minimum impact generally.

A separate group may be assigned to industries which is difficult to hire local workers, like healthcare nurse, etc.. maybe have restriction but less tight.

limlim

JannettLee:

[quote=\"raysusan\"]http://sphotos-h.ak.fbcdn.net/hphotos-ak-ash4/379316_608040349212552_165554393_n.jpg\">

Based on the comparison, I must say WP scores better than PAP's

It's such an obvious piece of propaganda and you are falling for it?

I can also say 'Strong economic growth is in the best interest of Singaporeans'.

How, you believe me or not?[/quote]Did SG experience strong economic growth in the last decade?

Did the population feels an improvement? Already disappointed.. how to believe? Where is the Swiss standard of living? oh.. for a few groups maybe..

Getting fed up of having to scroll through the same posts each visit? When you register for an account, you'll always come back to exactly where you were before, and choose to be notified of new replies (either via email, or push notification). You'll also be able to save bookmarks and upvote posts to show your appreciation to other community members.

• 75 / 150