Tingkat Dinner
DesertWind:
I'm into 2nd month with Select. Just changed my Tue dinner to their 'special', meaning no need to cook rice. Last week was lotus leaf rice with a sweet & sour fish + siao bai cai. What I don't like is blackened lettuce or baked beans, which is a waste of money for a dish. I could easily open a can of beans for a meal. But if the beans was cooked with minced pork or something, that is justifiable.I wanted to try Select but unfortunately they don't deliver to my area.
Empirefood is very reliable and economical at about SGD200/= for two. Fuss-free service hence am happy since it really helped tide us over the crucial period when I simply could not get more help at home and need to rely on just one maid. -
fluffyboy:
Change tingkat company...but home-cooked meals will beat tingkat anytime.I am currently half-way through my 2nd cycle of kim's kitchen. Food is not salty (dont feel thirsty after eating), but quality of food mostly processed stuff e.g. nuggets, ngoh hiang, baked beans, canned peanuts, imitation crab sticks etc, which makes me think that I could have bought them from supermarket and heat up myself. So may change to try out another tingkat after this.
Anyway, wanna sought your opinions, actually, my mum staying nearby has been cooking for us for past 2 years. We will either eat at her place after work or taobao home to eat. But (paisay to say) her cooking is nothing is shout about. I know it's very very nice of her to offer to cook for us so that we have homecook meals everyday, but sometimes, I really eat until :sick: That why we decided to try out tingkat this year. T
What will you do in my situation? Continue to order tingkat or eat my mum's home cooked meal? -
Janet,
How do you rate Select catering’s tingkat dinner so far? I am SAHM and kids dun need my supervision but my hands have bad dermatitis so was considering taking a 4-day tingkat to let my skin heal. Are the portions plenty? Should I take the 4 dishes or 3 dishes 1 soup?
Did some calculations too and realised we could be saving a huge sum of money to order from tingkat instead of cooking at home. My grocery bills amount to almost $900 per month (with milk formula and diapers incl) but most come from food items. And it’s only 2 adults and 2 young kids! -
fluffyboy:
Enrol your mum in cooking classes? Or buy cookbooks for her?but sometimes, I really eat until :sick: That why we decided to try out tingkat this year. T
What will you do in my situation? Continue to order tingkat or eat my mum's home cooked meal? -
cherrygal:
There are certain days the food can be hard to eat...like boiled lettuce or baked beans. But the days when the food is yummy, we can finish all the food. I am still thinking whether to switch to 3 dish 1 soup.Janet,
How do you rate Select catering's tingkat dinner so far? I am SAHM and kids dun need my supervision but my hands have bad dermatitis so was considering taking a 4-day tingkat to let my skin heal. Are the portions plenty? Should I take the 4 dishes or 3 dishes 1 soup?
Most of my expenditure also from food. I still have to cook lunch which is a soup and rice since kids and I eat little. Sometimes, it is just my daughter and I eating.
It's more like the time and headache from planning what to cook. Washing up is a chore and cleaning floor :faint: -
i cook everyday,including wkend. Both my DH n kids hv different set of meals.I try to finish all the cooking b4 picking my kids at noon.
I put the food into aluminium container n seal it wf aluminium foil,then put into the fridge.When DH comes home,i’ll just heat it up by steaming. I put all the vege+meat+rice into the container.So DH doesn’t nid to do lot of washing…except the bowl for his soup or desert.
As my kids, i either steam or bake. If nid to fry, I cover it with lid so to minimize the spilling of oil. I use disposable wet tissue to clean up the stove n wall after frying.
Initially,it was tough. Now I am getting used to it.It is a matter of planning.I pre-cut all the garlic/ginger/onion.There r lots of ways,i learn it step by step fr. starhub cooking programmes n website. -
vinegar:
:udawoman:i cook everyday,including wkend. Both my DH n kids hv different set of meals.I try to finish all the cooking b4 picking my kids at noon.
I put the food into aluminium container n seal it wf aluminium foil,then put into the fridge.When DH comes home,i'll just heat it up by steaming. I put all the vege+meat+rice into the container.So DH doesn't nid to do lot of washing...except the bowl for his soup or desert.
As my kids, i either steam or bake. If nid to fry, I cover it with lid so to minimize the spilling of oil. I use disposable wet tissue to clean up the stove n wall after frying.
Initially,it was tough. Now I am getting used to it.It is a matter of planning.I pre-cut all the garlic/ginger/onion.There r lots of ways,i learn it step by step fr. starhub cooking programmes n website. -
challenging part is DH prefers spicy food.So hv to prepare sambal belacan every few wks. Cleaning up the seeds fr. dried chilis is a challenge.Not sure what is the best way to cut chilis or onion without tears :?
Thanks Janet. DH is worried the kids won't eat the tingkat food. Guess for a start, I'll try to tapao some dishes from the economic rice stall first or just do one dish meals like pasta.There are certain days the food can be hard to eat...like boiled lettuce or baked beans. But the days when the food is yummy, we can finish all the food. I am still thinking whether to switch to 3 dish 1 soup.
Most of my expenditure also from food. I still have to cook lunch which is a soup and rice since kids and I eat little. Sometimes, it is just my daughter and I eating.
It's more like the time and headache from planning what to cook. Washing up is a chore and cleaning floor :faint:
I cook almost 4 dishes and soup daily for dinner and the constant exposure to oil and water is wreaking havoc on my skin. Yes, there is lots of washing up too and I can't touch detergent! :faint: -
I love cooking but I detest washing. Maybe someday I will consider ordering tingkat too
There are certain days the food can be hard to eat...like boiled lettuce or baked beans. But the days when the food is yummy, we can finish all the food. I am still thinking whether to switch to 3 dish 1 soup.cherrygal:
Janet,
How do you rate Select catering's tingkat dinner so far? I am SAHM and kids dun need my supervision but my hands have bad dermatitis so was considering taking a 4-day tingkat to let my skin heal. Are the portions plenty? Should I take the 4 dishes or 3 dishes 1 soup?
It's more like the time and headache from planning what to cook. Washing up is a chore and cleaning floor :faint:
Getting fed up of having to scroll through the same posts each visit? When you register for an account, you'll always come back to exactly where you were before, and choose to be notified of new replies (either via email, or push notification). You'll also be able to save bookmarks and upvote posts to show your appreciation to other community members.