Are you ready for 7 million people on tiny Singapore?

1.5k Posts 95 Posters 319.5k Views 1 Watching
      pirate

Harlequin:
      Must marry up, cannot marry down :siam:

But wait the kiddoes decide to go play soccer for South Africa instead of Singapore. Then how?

Mdm Koh

How did you arrive at the conclusion that healthcare’s contribution to total GST revenue is 10%?

Also, sorry, I don’t think $3 billion nett is an impressive figure to spend on healthcare policies for a greying population of 5.3 million.

$3 billion is a lot of money for one person but not enough for a whole country.

Harlequin

pirate:
          Harlequin:

Must marry up, cannot marry down :siam:

But wait the kiddoes decide to go play soccer for South Africa instead of Singapore. Then how?

Ha... aptly quote.

Marry down wait the kiddoes go plant paddy in our northern up neighbor countries how?

Wait! Maybe they will have a happier lives there.... with the population of approx. 90/1km2 :siam: No need COE, just ride motorcycle or bicycle.

Harlequin

Mdm Koh:
            How did you arrive at the conclusion that healthcare's contribution to total GST revenue is 10%?

Also, sorry, I don't think $3 billion nett is an impressive figure to spend on healthcare policies for a greying population of 5.3 million.

$3b nett nett was in year 2010, not yet with 5.3 million greying population...

Per capital, that's an astonishing amount on healthcare Liao...

neighboring countries with much bigger population do not even come close, some more a big chunk of their healthcare budget go into many personal pockets leh! What actually being spent on their people is pathetic, take a tour to their gov hospital you would know what I mean.

• 3 Offline
              3Boys

Mdm Koh:
              How did you arrive at the conclusion that healthcare's contribution to total GST revenue is 10%?

Also, sorry, I don't think $3 billion nett is an impressive figure to spend on healthcare policies for a greying population of 5.3 million.

On the basis of the size of the sector's (buried under Other Services, in the singstat link) contributions to GDP. Other services is less than 3.5% of the contribution to GDP, therefore the GST receipts for healthcare, even at a huge stretch, should not be anything near 10% of the total GST receipts.

You distract from the point. The point is not about whether $3 billion is the right number, the point is that the g'ment puts more back into healthcare than it takes out in GST, much much more. They are not, as you put it, making money off people in healthcare.

So don't fixate on the GST!

Anyhow, I don't really aim to convince you, since you seem very set in this view, but I think it's barking up the wrong tree.

Mdm Koh

You distract from the point. The point is not about whether $3 billion is the right number, the point is that the g'ment puts more back into healthcare than it takes out in GST, much much more. They are not, as you put it, making money off people in healthcare.

Anyhow, I don't really aim to convince you, since you seem very set in this view, but I think it's barking up the wrong tree.
                When did I say that? :?

Harlequin

Harlequin:

[quote=\"pirate\"]$1,000,000 Ferrari. GST $70,000. Cannot buy from Italy. Actually can, but still have to pay the GST when shipped into Singapore. 😉

Any goods above SGD400 brought in to SG for consumption are liable for GST; can hide lah, but must pray hard don't get caught, if get caught kena pay hefty fine plus GST.
                  Even those luxury items bought at Changi Airport departure hall's duty free shops if brought back to SG on your returning flight are subjected to GST.

You pay GST before for such goods when you are carrying them or put them unpacked (w/o original boxes, price tag) in luggage?

For item shipped in, yes. For hand carry stuff.. highly doubt so. Unless you looked like bringing them in to sell that kind.[/quote]Never. Cos I always declare.

But I have seen people being caught.... unpacked and bagged in luggage. Note that they can summon your credit cards statement, once they tell you that, then you better own up. These are usually the luxury designer items lah.

• 3 Offline
                    3Boys

Mdm Koh:

When did I say that? :?

Well, here...
                    Mdm Koh:
                    I think exemption of GST on healthcare can be done; it's whether the government wants to do it. It's much more comfortable for them to maintain high revenues, but at what cost to the people?
                    If you think the g'ment is not making money off people overall in healthcare, then what's the issue with GST?

Back on point, the g'ment puts much more back into healthcare than they take out of it in GST, so I don't see the issue of GST in healthcare.

And as Harlequin says, our per capita spend is actually pretty high.

WeiHan

This is plainly incorrect. Our spending in health care and education is the lowest in percentage of GDP among developed countries.

• 3 Offline
                        3Boys

WeiHan:

This is plainly incorrectly. Our spending in health care and education is the lowest in percentage of GDP among developed countries.

He was making reference to the region.

You are free to provide rankings and per capita figures.

Getting fed up of having to scroll through the same posts each visit? When you register for an account, you'll always come back to exactly where you were before, and choose to be notified of new replies (either via email, or push notification). You'll also be able to save bookmarks and upvote posts to show your appreciation to other community members.

• 101 / 150

sharonkhooS
                        sharonkhoo
                        LestdnksL
                        Lestdnks