Are you ready for 7 million people on tiny Singapore?

1.5k Posts 95 Posters 316.8k Views 1 Watching
      Dora1

pirate:
      Moonsun55:

Then commercial & industrial properties owned & monopolized by a few big players how? Can ask govt to introduce cooling measures here by banning them from buying & owning whole building or >1 unit etc? Many people's businesses are suffering from jack up rentals & have no choice but to pass some down to consumers. Cooling measure for commercial & industrial properties are long overdued!

There are sufficient commercial & industrial properties (not very well managed) where rent is not very high. Most of them are in old strata-titled buildings. Ok lah, they are not very nice. But if you want nice location, nice building, nice human traffic... then you pay a premium lor. 🤷

I personally know of some SMEs operating out of JTC flatted factories. But once the same building is now managed by Maple trees the rent has been increased dramatically, some >50% within a couple years. I know of a few that have to hire FWs because they cant afford to pay SC wages because of the increased rental. And with the new FW quota and levy, a couple of called it quits. And besides private companies, who else is driving up business cost?

Irrelevant

Dora1:

I personally know of some SMEs operating out of JTC flatted factories. But once the same building is now managed by Maple trees the rent has been increased dramatically, some >50% within a couple years. I know of a few that have to hire FWs because they cant afford to pay SC wages because of the increased rental. And with the new FW quota and levy, a couple of called it quits. And besides private companies, who else is driving up business cost?
        Wah.... so chum hor... If they are in mfg industry, for every Singaporean/PR, they can hire 1.5 FW. Even with such a high ratio also cannot survive, so how ah? We might as well let them hire 100% FW to survive lor. One other thing, rental cost is normally only 10-15% of a company's overheads, whereas manpower cost is easily 30%.... :evil:

Dora1

Irrelevant:
          Dora1:

Wah.... so chum hor... If they are in mfg industry, for every Singaporean/PR, they can hire 1.5 FW. Even with such a high ratio also cannot survive, so how ah? We might as well let them hire 100% FW to survive lor. One other thing, rental cost is normally only 10-15% of a company's overheads, whereas manpower cost is easily 30%.... :evil:

Depends on what type of co. Some SME only have less than 30 pax, the rental cost can be the same as the manpower cost, esp if they need big space for machines etc.
          if u look at my previous posts, I am against indiscriminately hiring foreigners. However I am also aware that a lot of SMEs are \"forced\" to hire cheap FW because of other rising cost such as rental and even COE. So dun only focus on cheap manpower, lower business cost for SMEs as well.

• O Offline
            octoberbaby

Soon natives will be like the Red Indians (native to US island), all diminised in 2030

pirate

octoberbaby:
              Soon natives will be like the Red Indians (native to US island), all diminised in 2030

Har? Singapore got natives meh? You mean the indigenous population of Old Temasek? Those already diminised in 1830 lah.

Dora1

pirate:
                octoberbaby:

Har? Singapore got natives meh? You mean the indigenous population of Old Temasek? Those already diminised in 1830 lah.

Have lah, our Malay population are considered indigenous, since they were here a long time before the Chinese and Indians. The people who negotiated with Raffles not Malay meh?

pirate

Dora1:
                  pirate:

[quote=\"octoberbaby\"]Soon natives will be like the Red Indians (native to US island), all diminised in 2030

Have lah, our Malay population are considered indigenous, since they were here a long time before the Chinese and Indians. The people who negotiated with Raffles not Malay meh?[/quote]Raffles negotiated with the Sultan of Johor. The ancestors of a lot of the Malays here and in Malaysia actually immigrated from the Middle East, India and various islands in the Indonesian archipelagos after Raffles and Farquhar set up the British outpost. So yeah, those indigenous occupants of Old Temasek already diminished, if not by 1830, certainly by 1930.

Singapore is not Malaysia. No \"bumiputras\" here.

Dora1

pirate:
                    Dora1:

[quote=\"pirate\"]

Have lah, our Malay population are considered indigenous, since they were here a long time before the Chinese and Indians. The people who negotiated with Raffles not Malay meh?

Raffles negotiated with the Sultan of Johor. The ancestors of a lot of the Malays here and in Malaysia actually immigrated from the Middle East, India and various islands in the Indonesian archipelagos after Raffles and Farquhar set up the British outpost. So yeah, those indigenous occupants of Old Temasek already diminished, if not by 1830, certainly by 1930.

Singapore is not Malaysia. No \"bumiputras\" here.[/quote] :slapshead: you want to trace like tat, then everyone on this earth are also not indigenous except the Eithopians lor 😆
                    By the way, the bumiputra policy in MY includes Malay hor, unless u talking abt Orang Asli

Irrelevant

Dora1:
                      Irrelevant:

Depends on what type of co. Some SME only have less than 30 pax, the rental cost can be the same as the manpower cost, esp if they need big space for machines etc.
                      if u look at my previous posts, I am against indiscriminately hiring foreigners. However I am also aware that a lot of SMEs are \"forced\" to hire cheap FW because of other rising cost such as rental and even COE. So dun only focus on cheap manpower, lower business cost for SMEs as well.

You must be seriously joking lah. Where got get forced to hire FW one. Singapore manufacturers have been hiring FWs since 30 years ago! There are professional firms all over the place helping you to recruit them, Chinese, Indians, etc. Just tell them your quota. If your fren tell you never hire FW until recently, I would also like some of what he is smoking. FW are hired simply because they are cheaper and more hardworking than Singaporeans at the same price point, period. Remember we use to have many garment factories...

As for rental = labour cost, have you seen hard numbers before or not? Rental for factory is $20 per sq metre per month, give or take. If a company has 25 employees with average pay of $2,500 (including bonus, cpf, insurance, etc), total wage cost is $62,500 per month. To spend that much on rental, factory size would be like in excess of 33,000 square feet! And probably there are at lease 2 shifts working since there are BIG machines? So 12 ppl in 33,000 sqft? You can't get that kind of space ratio even in Malaysia, except maybe a logistics warehouse 😉

• O Offline
                        octoberbaby

Orang Asli in Singapore island may be diminished liao.

In 2030, do you think we are also called orang asli?

By then, immigrants will occupied the whole island. Same as pharoah’s time, where the Israelites occupied the land of Egypt during Joseph’s time. Multiply over the years, till they became slaves. Before Moses rescued them out of Egypt.

Getting fed up of having to scroll through the same posts each visit? When you register for an account, you'll always come back to exactly where you were before, and choose to be notified of new replies (either via email, or push notification). You'll also be able to save bookmarks and upvote posts to show your appreciation to other community members.

• 132 / 150

Amber2018A
                        Amber2018