Are you ready for 7 million people on tiny Singapore?
pirate:
Aiyoyo! The question is too high brow. They should have asked, \"If there is a reduction in the number of foreigners, will you accept lower pay and bonuses, and higher prices?[/quote]http://www.cnbc.com/id/42891768/Singapore039s_Fast_Growth_Creating_RichPoor_Divideraysusan:
Frontline Connects《前线开讲》: Whitepaper on Population
http://singaporemind.blogspot.sg/2013/02/frontline-connects-whitepaper-on.html
[quote]\"If there is a reduction the number of foreigners , will you accept a slowdown in the economy?\" : Vote Yes or No.
92.5% voted \"yes\" and 7.5% voted \"no\".
After the results of the poll was announced, Grace Fu did an incredible thing. She reinterpreted the question to mean : \"If there is a reduction in the growth in number of foreigners in our population , will you accept a slowdown in the economy?\" and concluded t he poll showed that most people agree with the White Paper which proposes a growth in foreign workforce smaller than that of recent years...........
Some quotes from the linked article:
[quote]\"It's unfair. I'm a Singaporean, yet I'm not benefiting at all from how rich Singapore has become.\"
Liyana and Fazli say they earn a combined S$800 ($652) a month but have been unable to make ends meet. \"Sometimes I can't even afford a S$1 ($0.80) ice cream cone for my kids,\" says Fazli, a former mechanic apprentice, who is now unemployed and depends on the income from his wife's online handmade trinkets business.[/quote][quote]Chow Penn Nee, an economist at United Overseas Bank says, \"Wage growth is clearly not keeping up with GDP growth and the divide between the rich and the poor is getting bigger.\"[/quote][quote]The opposition Workers' Party candidate, Chen Show Mao, who was a corporate lawyer before he joined the largest opposition party in Singapore, said during the party's election rally that the benefit of Singapore's economic growth \"went to corporate profits and the wages of top earners\".[/quote][quote]71-year-old cleaner Mr Tan, who only wanted to be identified by his last name, has been earning just S$4.00 ($3.20) an hour for the past 5 years. He says he's not convinced.
\"They don't care about us. The profits all go to the bosses and government ministers. And when we speak up, we're considered as complaining.\"[/quote] -
pirate:
Probably most Singaporean never really gotten more bonuses and increments as a result of the economic growth.. other than the ministers whose pay is pegged to GDP.. and biz owners of course..
Oh, I see. So we have enjoyed the presence of fewer construction workers, gotten our salaries and bonuses from a more economic activity than would have been the case had the population been \"properly planned\" the last few years. Ok lor. Singaporeans should give back the last 5-10 years of their bonuses and increments.WeiHan:
But don't forget the current strangle in infrustructure is exactly due to improperly planned population increase. Now, you are turning around to tell us that population increase will solve the problem?

All these arguments too high brow. I put it in layman terms so people can understand better. :evil:
For most of us.. Give back those due to impressive economic growth? sure.. take it.. $1~$10 perhaps..
Give it all back.. 我不稀罕。。
WeiHan:
You really think so highly of these whiny weak businesses. When the gov gave them some incentives, they probably keep the benefits and still gave their employees 0.1% pay increment.[/quote]Maybe he own the company? His employer is the biz that he is running.. of coz he can decide pay himself big fat bonuses no matter how \"difficult\" it is.. :evil:pirate:
[quote=\"WeiHan\"]These Businesses are whiny weak businesses that only think of their own little profit growth in the expense of bigger others.
My employer very the good one. They pay good year-end bonuses and give me annual increments even though revenue and profit never grows.
pirate:
bcoz that question is technically wrong?
Aiyoyo! The question is too high brow. They should have asked, \"If there is a reduction in the number of foreigners, will you accept lower pay and bonuses, and higher prices?
If there is a reduction in FT and no wage suppression, salary could go up!
Ok lor. You tell us for the last 5-10 years, you never received any bonus or any increment hor. Even that 13th month pay is a bonus har (unless it is provided in your employment contract).
Probably most Singaporean never really gotten more bonuses and increments as a result of the economic growth.. other than the ministers whose pay is pegged to GDP.. and biz owners of course..pirate:
Oh, I see. So we have enjoyed the presence of fewer construction workers, gotten our salaries and bonuses from a more economic activity than would have been the case had the population been \"properly planned\" the last few years. Ok lor. Singaporeans should give back the last 5-10 years of their bonuses and increments.

All these arguments too high brow. I put it in layman terms so people can understand better. :evil:
For most of us.. Give back those due to impressive economic growth? sure.. take it.. $1~$10 perhaps..
After that, I will tell you to change jobs.
Sure it can. For the construction worker, waiter, cashier etc...
bcoz that question is technically wrong?pirate:
Aiyoyo! The question is too high brow. They should have asked, \"If there is a reduction in the number of foreigners, will you accept lower pay and bonuses, and higher prices?
I am all in favour of reduction of FWs/FTs in these sectors. I have always said that the lowest segments of our labour force are underpaid.
But don't kpkb when the price of kopi etc goes up.
PS. Tharman just announced that there will be further tightening of dependency ratio, workpasses etc. All the PMEs, don't be surprised when your head office/towkay dumps that problem on your desk hor or tells you that you have to relocate to Vietnam/PRC/Malaysia if you want to keep your cushy aircon PME job. :evil: -
pirate:
Ok lor. You tell us for the last 5-10 years, you never received any bonus or any increment hor. Even that 13th month pay is a bonus har (unless it is provided in your employment contract).
Probably most Singaporean never really gotten more bonuses and increments as a result of the economic growth.. other than the ministers whose pay is pegged to GDP.. and biz owners of course..limlim:
[quote=\"pirate\"]Oh, I see. So we have enjoyed the presence of fewer construction workers, gotten our salaries and bonuses from a more economic activity than would have been the case had the population been \"properly planned\" the last few years. Ok lor. Singaporeans should give back the last 5-10 years of their bonuses and increments.

After that, I will tell you to change jobs.
[/quote]My bonus and increment has NOTHING to do with the accelerated economic growth.. :evil:
pirate:
Sure it can. For the construction worker, waiter, cashier etc...
bcoz that question is technically wrong?limlim:
[quote=\"pirate\"]
I am all in favour of reduction of FWs/FTs in these sectors. I have always said that the lowest segments of our labour force are underpaid.
But don't kpkb when the price of kopi etc goes up.
PS. Tharman just announced that there will be further tightening of dependency ratio, workpasses etc. All the PMEs, don't be surprised when your head office/towkay dumps that problem on your desk hor or tells you that you have to relocate to Vietnam/PRC/Malaysia if you want to keep your cushy aircon PME job. :evil:[/quote]That's the problem with govt and some pple.
When we complain about FT and EP jobs, they go can cut the FW and foreign labour for jobs that companies have difficulty finding workers.
As long as there is FW to fill job vacancies that Singaporean workers shun, the companies will be able to survive and skilled workers need not worry about jobs. At the same time, they can cut down reliance on FTs
win-win. -
Not necessarily, pirate. They can still hire foreign talent if the job requires relocation to countries that Singaporeans are unwilling to move to.
Anyway, I do have friends who travel frequently for work and know of families that have relocated to countries like China. Let’s not assume that only foreigners are willing to travel or relocate. The companies just need to hire the right Singaporeans and offer the right benefits. -
Mdm Koh:
I never say all Singaporean PMEs unwilling. I am sure those who are willing to do so are highly capable, motivated and resilient.Not necessarily, pirate. They can still hire foreign talent if the job requires relocation to countries that Singaporeans are unwilling to move to.
Anyway, I do have friends who travel frequently for work and know of families that have relocated to countries like China. Let's not assume that only foreigners are willing to travel or relocate. The companies just need to hire the right Singaporeans and offer the right benefits.
I only say the PMEs back home should not be surprised if the head office/towkay drops the problem on their desks. Isn't figuring out how to improve productivity the PMEs' jobs?
Anyway, if any of our PMEs have to relocate to other countries, they are no longer locals. They become the FT... over there. Then they can enjoy competing over there on a \"level playing field\" with Malaysian, Indian and PRC FTs. :evil:
Getting fed up of having to scroll through the same posts each visit? When you register for an account, you'll always come back to exactly where you were before, and choose to be notified of new replies (either via email, or push notification). You'll also be able to save bookmarks and upvote posts to show your appreciation to other community members.