Club Super Aunties

666 Posts 61 Posters 318.5k Views 1 Watching
    • FunzF Offline
      Funz

You all har... call yourselves super aunties some more. You shake the watermelon to feel or hear the water content mah. The more sloshing you feel or hear, the more juicy the melon.

@ janet: You go shake durian lor. I oso want to see :siao: 😉
      Huh? Can hear by shaking? Wouldn't that mean that under the skin it is all mush inside? You looking for instant watermelon juice? That happened to my maid once. She wanted very ripe honeydew so left the melon on the counter for a few days. When she decided to cut it, out came fermented juice.

But who am I to question our super ah pek. Hehe. I major failed the test.

I just happened to see this thread...and I must say, no regrets.

Super refreshing and brought up my mood.
        Thanks.
        FREE laughs for recess today! :celebrate:
        On behalf of Chiefy's cheap bird that some more comes with two small eggs... FREE!

Laughter is the best medicine.

Nihauma, hope you feel better soon. :snuggles:

I remember seeing durian sellers shake durians...but Chief here doesn't seem to know...he shakes watermelons to hear how juicy they are...must find out if this is the way...hmmmm :?

My daughter has been promoted to be 'Jie Jie', now that my SIL has given birth. She is happy she is not the youngest.

Our super ah pek a.k.a Chief, here has a strange way of testing watermelon for juiciness. I have not laughed like this for a long time...thanks.

What sloshing? 😆

If it sloshes, that's one darn rotten melon awrite. :rotflmao:

Chiefy, melons meant to be juicy but only when you slurp from the tips...
            You just try it this weekend lah. Can tell one. I'm the melon expert.
            ...But seriously, the durian ah peks do that to hear the seeds.. attached or detached from skin.. hollow sound or no sound..

If size does matter, shake your durians by all means. Serious.
            Sure anot? I've never seen any self-respecting durian vendor shaking durians. What I see them do is to knock on the thing with the blunt end of their parang. Apparently the acoustics of the fruit will enable the discovery of heavenly fleshly seeds.

Don't anyhow shake the durian lah. Scarly you hit a cyclist passing by then dua kee liao.

Mawar

I have seen people shaking durians but watermelons… ? Thought the people in the know would tap to check for hollowed middle, and try to estimate water content by its weight?

Eh, means Chief not Ah Pek enuf. Needs more training.

Alamak… all you aunties ganging up against this ah pek. Like dat oso can? Never mind, I’ll get to enjoy my juicy melons while you all kanna booked for "dangerous maneuvers with spiky fruits".

What sloshing? 😆

If it sloshes, that's one darn rotten melon awrite. :rotflmao:

Chiefy, melons meant to be juicy but only when you slurp from the tips...

You just try it this weekend lah. Can tell one. I'm the melon expert.

:siao:

How many melons have you shaken to prove this theory true aniwaes? :idea:

...But seriously, the durian ah peks do that to hear the seeds.. attached or detached from skin.. hollow sound or no sound..

If size does matter, shake your durians by all means. Serious.

Sure anot? I've never seen any self-respecting durian vendor shaking durians. What I see them do is to knock on the thing with the blunt end of their parang. Apparently the acoustics of the fruit will enable the discovery of heavenly fleshly seeds.

Don't anyhow shake the durian lah. Scarly you hit a cyclist passing by then dua kee liao.

They don't shake the durians like you do melons leh Chiefy-pek.. 😆

It's an elegant bell-shaking-action nia. It is after all a royal fruit.

And YOU.. quit shaking those melons. :razz:

Mawar:
                    I have seen people shaking durians but watermelons... ? Thought the people in the know would tap to check for hollowed middle, and try to estimate water content by its weight?

Eh, means Chief not Ah Pek enuf. Needs more training.

DON'T!!! :dowan:

He will be shaking even more melons this weekend if you tell him that! :faint:
                    He thinks it helps in his expertise to finding his perfect melon theory.

Let's save as many melons as we can!

This weekend, you all got see Cheekopek i mean Chiefy pek shake melons... give him your fish. :heresmyfish:

Mawar

When you shake durians, you can tell how fleshy it is. If you heard the seeds rattle or move, pick another one.

It's an elegant bell-shaking-action nia. It is after all a royal fruit.
                        You mean like that?
                        http://www.find-me-a-gift.co.uk/images/product_images/dgp053_ring_for_a_kiss_bell_300%281%29.jpg\">

I'll like to see you shake a durian like that! :yikes: :rotflmao:

Getting fed up of having to scroll through the same posts each visit? When you register for an account, you'll always come back to exactly where you were before, and choose to be notified of new replies (either via email, or push notification). You'll also be able to save bookmarks and upvote posts to show your appreciation to other community members.

• 28 / 67