All About Autism
ImMeeMee:
ImMeeMee,Dear all mummies who have congratulated me, thanks!
But hor ... this is just the first step ... still have considerable issues to tackle along the way before we even confirm our enrolment.
In any case, I appreciate the well wishes ...
I am wondering whether there is a thread at this forum dedicated to PL parents networking.
I think you are the first parent here whose child is enrolled into pathlight.
You can always start a PL thread in the forum. I would love to read what PL kids and parents did and try to learn from them too.
May the enrollment goes smoothly for you :rahrah: -
mashy:
We didn't go for the assessment. I didn't know what got into me at that time, I told the PL's administrator that I got my son a placement in mainstream as a back up plan, and after a short chat with her on the over capacity situation in PL, I somehow feel that it is not right for me to hold on to enrollment, so we withdraw. Well, I got scolding for being stupid by my folks after that. :oops:
So if pathlight offers u the place now, will u still take it up? Or your son has coped well in mainstream much better than expected?specialboymum:
Hi ImMeeMee
Is your girl going P1 next year? Maybe it may be a good idea to start contacting Pathlight. Before they except your enrolment, they will need to do another round of assessment (in other word, the psy's assessment report is only reference). Also be mentally prepared for the long queue.
We submitted our son's enrolment to Pathlight through KKH CDU in June, we only get the appointment for assessment towards december (though there were also some hiccups in between like KKH forgot to submit the original diagnosis report of my son's condition). Pathlight also told us to expect at least 9 months-1.5 years of wait if my son pass their assessment, as they were already 50% over capacity. We panicked as we were worried what is he going to do during the 1.5 years wait? So we sent him to mainstream. It was difficult at start but now we think it isn't a bad idea to be in mainstream so as to learn integrating with his normal peers
Anyway, I don't know what is the situation in Pathlight now- I heard that they open up more vacancy... but I still think it is good to be prepared earlier and also good to have a plan B
So far, he is doing pretty ok, making significant improvement, though we need to spend more effort to guide him. Unless we come to stage when we see the need to consider special school, I think we will not rock the boat for now. -
nugget:
errr ... not confirmed enrolled yet leh. Until the day that I receive the confirmation letter, this battle is not over yet. There's still PL screening to tackle ...
ImMeeMee,
I think you are the first parent here whose child is enrolled into pathlight.
You can always start a PL thread in the forum. I would love to read what PL kids and parents did and try to learn from them too.
May the enrollment goes smoothly for you :rahrah: -
specialboymum:
Actually I have a very selfish thinking but I am not too sure if its allowed. If come May after IQ assessment and if KKH really suggest pathlight to me, I might just go ahead and enroll first.
We didn't go for the assessment. I didn't know what got into me at that time, I told the PL's administrator that I got my son a placement in mainstream as a back up plan, and after a short chat with her on the over capacity situation in PL, I somehow feel that it is not right for me to hold on to enrollment, so we withdraw. Well, I got scolding for being stupid by my folks after that. :oops:
So far, he is doing pretty ok, making significant improvement, though we need to spend more effort to guide him. Unless we come to stage when we see the need to consider special school, I think we will not rock the boat for now.
At the sametime, i will let son go into the mainstream P1 that I have PV in to see how well he can adapt. Hopefully by the time when Pathlight have a vacancy (say 6months - 1.5 years), then I see if I should let son go into PL.
I guess I am one of the kiasu parents, covering all grounds for my son. -
nugget:
Nugget, during school placement talks, I have heard of recommendations for parents to register for mainstream while awaiting special schools admission. The rationale is so that the child has a place in some school by the age of 7 yo. Our law requires compulsory education by the age of 7 yo unless there is special request subjec to MOE's approval. So I dont think its out of the norm.Actually I have a very selfish thinking but I am not too sure if its allowed. If come May after IQ assessment and if KKH really suggest pathlight to me, I might just go ahead and enroll first.
At the sametime, i will let son go into the mainstream P1 that I have PV in to see how well he can adapt. Hopefully by the time when Pathlight have a vacancy (say 6months - 1.5 years), then I see if I should let son go into PL.
ImMeeMee:
Hmm.. I didn't know that. I thought the compulsory education act excludes special needs children...gee..so all these while, my worries for school not accepting him is not necessary at all
Nugget, during school placement talks, I have heard of recommendations for parents to register for mainstream while awaiting special schools admission. The rationale is so that the child has a place in some school by the age of 7 yo. Our law requires compulsory education by the age of 7 yo unless there is special request subjec to MOE's approval. So I dont think its out of the norm.nugget:
Actually I have a very selfish thinking but I am not too sure if its allowed. If come May after IQ assessment and if KKH really suggest pathlight to me, I might just go ahead and enroll first.
ImMeeMee:
ImMeeMee,
Nugget, during school placement talks, I have heard of recommendations for parents to register for mainstream while awaiting special schools admission. The rationale is so that the child has a place in some school by the age of 7 yo. Our law requires compulsory education by the age of 7 yo unless there is special request subjec to MOE's approval. So I dont think its out of the norm.
I see. Thanks for the info. I was thinking I was being selfish to making both schools busy with all the paper work. Cos come end of the day, if my son can cope in mainstream, I might just let him continue with it.
Not only because I want him to adapt to mainstream but also for the cost and distance. -
Just visited pathlight website.
http://www.pathlight.org.sg/admissions/application.php
For Primary 1 Placements in Pathlight
Parents applying for Pathlight's Primary 1 programmes are advised to send in their completed applications to us before 30 May 2013. Eligible applications will be called for the School's first Screening Assessments from end June, according to number of vacancies available.
Parents who send in applications after 1 June 2013 will have their applications processed for later phases of the School Screening Assessments, which will be subject to available vacancies.
I don't know if I can even make the date cos my assessment is in May. -
Hello immeemee
I think your daughter's test went very well, congrats! It's a good sign that her psy recommends she go PL isn't it?
Hi mums
Thought I pop by and just update. I've decided to not test my son for autism
Anymore. I think what's important is he's able to live independently in most aspects. I have friend's whose kids were diagnose as autism at young age but later age discharge coz he was deemed to be 'normal'. I've also read an account of a mom who was told by teachers that something was wrong with her son which made her Send him for test after test, psychologists after another. Only to get varying opinions on whether he's on the spectrum or not. The result of it all was that her son retreated even more socially and damage on him was done. It makes me realise even if the drs can be wrong too & they each have differing opinions. I've had several therapists tell me my son is definitely not on the spectrum and some say 'maybe'. My pd says he's not but the developmental dr says to send him for the test just in case - which I took it that she suspect that my son is on the spectrum. All these made me very confused and I lost a good half a year last year worrying, crying etc. but I've got my mind back. It's very obvious he is capable to live on his own, to be independent. So that's enough for me. To heck that he isn't as sociable as his peers. As long as he's able to think independently, live independently that's good.
I just want to thank you all mummies for listening to me rant. I found very good support here and very inspired by all of you. Please allow me to drop by from time to time!
Blokus
I want to congratulate you too cos your son is no longer ‘applicable’ to this thread. Haha!
Yah, if my son can be independent (think and live), I will not send him for assessment too. Not sure if I share this with you before. My husband’s client sent his son for assessment because of feedback from teachers but it turns out that his son is not ASD, probably just a loner who doesn’t like to socialise. So it may just be your son’s character that he doesn’t like to socialise too, nothing wrong with that.
Getting fed up of having to scroll through the same posts each visit? When you register for an account, you'll always come back to exactly where you were before, and choose to be notified of new replies (either via email, or push notification). You'll also be able to save bookmarks and upvote posts to show your appreciation to other community members.