Club SAHM
flim:
You phrased it exactly!! Yah, it's such a fine balancing act. As the parent, we're supposed to know better. That's true because of our experience, but we're not them, with their individual tastes. So when we feel we've become too pushy, we tell them to choose. But they're not sure either! I tell my son that all three of us (mummy, daddy and him) have to keep trying to maintain a \"happy\" balance. And if it fails, we have to trust that we have the best intentions for each other. This really keeps us going.
the thing about it is, at least from personal experience with my daughter, sometimes the children can be pretty inconsistent. i asked my daughter the other day if she wanted to learn drawing. she said she didn't want to. after much persuasion, she agreed to give it a go for one lesson. now, she says she wants to go there everyday! haha...
being a parent is really tricky...
Really funny story about your daughter's drawing class! -
hi everyone, merry christmas!
just wanted to share http://www.nytimes.com/2009/08/30/weekinreview/30pennebaker.html with all of you... i read it in the today paper the other day.
it's about a study that showed that those who usually try to multitask are generally worse at multitasking than those who don't usually do it.
i wonder if it also applies to those who try to be good at many things all in one go... and what does that mean to us parents, in terms of our expectation of our children, and expectation of ourselves... -
Besides being the homemaker, taking care of children, meals, laundry etc, what other things do you do for your OWN interest? Yoga? cooking classes? Anyone can share?
I PTWM, can contribute ideas anot, yen715?
I climb stairs, hills (Bt timah nia), cycle, run, gym, shop, movies, facial, yoga too. And I nap, snack, nag, tea, gossip, read, sudoku, count calories and most importantly, I'm a junkie kiasuparent here.
:welcome: yen715. -
Yen715:
Besides being the homemaker, taking care of children, meals, laundry etc, what other things do you do for your OWN interest? Yoga? cooking classes? Anyone can share?
I PT too, although quite a lot of flexibility.
So glad you asked this question cos I got quite a lot going on. I definitely DONT' do housework - just not my cup of tea and am lucky I can avoid. But I lurve to cook and concoct all sorts of new recipes. I love making fusion food, especially Japanese style ones (lighter on palate and waist). Love baking too. Stopped yoga/pilates cos of injury but re-starting. Started scooting with son (got adult size scooter some more :D). I read tonnes - fiction, non fiction. Used to read a lot of parenting books but sian liao. Have only a few good friends that I go out with a lot. Love jewelry :love: but this addiction worse than chocolate. Love holidays, foot reflex and massages. And then these days, hooked on ksparents.
mathsparks:
Me too, a PTWM. THought of doing something for myself (seems like I've \"lost\" my own self after giving birth and taking care of 2 children). But clueless where to start off.I PTWM, can contribute ideas anot, yen715?
I climb stairs, hills (Bt timah nia), cycle, run, gym, shop, movies, facial, yoga too. And I nap, snack, nag, tea, gossip, read, sudoku, count calories and most importantly, I'm a junkie kiasuparent here.
:welcome: yen715. -
Hi yen715,
I am a SAHM. Give tuition, but limit to 2 classes a yr. Love yoga and have recently resumed classes.
Love to read, scour for gd bargain books for me and the DS. Go for facials once a mth. Can't live w/o woman's weekly, Her world and parenting magazines, even though hard to find time to read them
Try to go for pedi (no point going for mani with a toddler, plus cooking)
and massages once evry 2 mths.
Love to cook, play with/teach DS. Also love to explore s'pore with DS ie parks, shopping centres etc...
Chat with galfrds, also go out with galfrds once evry couple of months as they are busy with careers and kids
Oh yes, how can I forget ... am a kiasuparents' addict .....
Lucky 'quite' under control, if not need to go for rehabilitation
Yen715:
Go facial once a month, massage ad-hoc basis, browse at bookshop & movies with my dd2 on weekday afternoon, go makan/ karoke/movie with my girlfriend at least once every two months or whenever she's free to take leave on weekdays. My all time favourite - surf kiasuParents.com
I've tried step aerobics for a few months. Cannot take it, pant like :siao: so I gave up. Still waiting for a lower impact aerobic class to commence because insufficient participants on weekdays. Meantime, I'm a couch potato, love to watch channel 5 drama (hero, fringe, mentalist, CSI) when my kids are in bed
I dislike cooking. Only like to :snuggles: with my kids. Unfortunately cooking is part of SAHM job description :rant: -
PTWMs
what kind of part time job are you on ? -
sleepy:
Hi sleepy,Yen715:
Go facial once a month, massage ad-hoc basis, browse at bookshop & movies with my dd2 on weekday afternoon, go makan/ karoke/movie with my girlfriend at least once every two months or whenever she's free to take leave on weekdays. My all time favourite - surf kiasuParents.com
I've tried step aerobics for a few months. Cannot take it, pant like :siao: so I gave up. Still waiting for a lower impact aerobic class to commence because insufficient participants on weekdays. Meantime, I'm a couch potato, love to watch channel 5 drama (hero, fringe, mentalist, CSI) when my kids are in bed
I dislike cooking. Only like to :snuggles: with my kids. Unfortunately cooking is part of SAHM job description :rant:
Yup, forgot to mention that watch tv too if DH and DS permit...
I love watching CSI and late teen dramas like Greek on cable and Hotel Babylon, Spooks on BBC entertainment. If not, watch DVDs with DH aft DS sleeps....
BTW, where is the low impact aerobic class held and what time?? I am looking for a weekday workout class but either morn or aft.
Getting fed up of having to scroll through the same posts each visit? When you register for an account, you'll always come back to exactly where you were before, and choose to be notified of new replies (either via email, or push notification). You'll also be able to save bookmarks and upvote posts to show your appreciation to other community members.