You are most welcome. All the best in your search for a Primary School for your kids.
chic_savvy:
Thank you so much for your advices. It gave me a better idea on how I should start. And yes, I am also aware that the registration for P1 in 2011 is in mid 2010
That's why now I am ready (kiasu) to become a PV kekeke...
Err... chic_savvy, not to pour cold water on your eagerness to become kiasu by doing PV, but most, if not all, schools will have closed their registration for PVs attempting to register their children in 2010, by now. You are going to have to look at other means to get priority registration. -
Huh? Really??
But I called CHIJ OLN this early noon and the lady told me to personally go to their school and pick up the application form. Ermm so I assumed it's still not late?
Anyways fingers cross lor..
chic_savvy:
Umm... did you tell them it is for the Registration exercise next year (2010)?Huh? Really??
But I called CHIJ OLN this early noon and the lady told me to personally go to their school and pick up the application form. Ermm so I assumed it's still not late?
Anyways fingers cross lor..
Oh yes, it started off with...
\"Hi, I'm calling to enquire about PV.\"
\"Sure, for which year enrollment mam?\"
\"It's for 2011 P1.\"
\"Ok, you can come down to our school and collect the form to fill up your application.\" - mumbling to herself for a while like calculating something.
Then I asked if they have any online application or attachment to download, which they dun. So I have to go down personally and register.
\"Mam you must at least fufill 40 hours of PV ok.\"
\"Yap, I'm aware, thanks.\"
And she told me I could go down anytime from tmr (which is half day) or from next week on.
Voila!
Umm... this is from MOE's website for 2009's Registration Exercise:
\"Phase 2B2
For a child whose parent has joined the school as a parent volunteer not later than 1 July 2008 and has given at least 40 hours of voluntary service to the school by 30 June 2009; or whose parent is a member endorsed by the church/clan directly connected with the school; or whose parent is endorsed as an active community leader.\"
http://www.moe.gov.sg/education/admissions/primary-one-registration/phases/
So for the 2010 Registration Exercise, you just have to add 1 to all those years in the announcement.
Perhaps OLN practices some other form of PV? Dunno. In any case, if that is true, then congrats to you but you will need to do 40hrs of PV in less than 6 months, which can be tough. -
chic_savvy:
what is considered as enrolment?Oh yes, it started off with...
\"Hi, I'm calling to enquire about PV.\"
\"Sure, for which year enrollment mam?\"
\"It's for 2011 P1.\"
seems like OLN staff meant enrolment as registration while the parent answer the staff's question with P1 start year.
if enrolment is meant as registration, the OLN staff may have thought that 2011 P1 answer from the parent meant 2011 P1 registration.
better double check. -
what is considered as enrolment?
My interpretation of enrolment - year that you need to register your child, not the year your child starts P1.
Like what Chief said, even if you manage to get in as a PV, you will need to clock 40 hours by Jun 2010. 40 hours over a span of 6 months may not seem a lot, but you must remember there are other PVs around, and the school may not have enough pie to spread around so many PVs.
In short, be psychologically prepared and have a contingency plan. -
Rite.. And you know what, I just called up and you are rite. This lady told me it's too late
Hmm... what can I do really... -
Guess I'll opt for Nan Chiau as the next best choice

Getting fed up of having to scroll through the same posts each visit? When you register for an account, you'll always come back to exactly where you were before, and choose to be notified of new replies (either via email, or push notification). You'll also be able to save bookmarks and upvote posts to show your appreciation to other community members.