From PSLE to University

Scheduled Pinned Locked Moved Tertiary Education - A-Levels, Diplomas, Degrees
    198 Posts 40 Posters 96.8k Views 1 Watching
    • 2 Offline
      2ppaamm

clarabella:
      2ppaamm:

[quote=\"jedamum\"]does it matter?

He he, I also don't track this. Not important lah. What you can do is take down all the top PSLE scholars 6 years ago and check if they are the same guys in \"A\" levels. I know only of 1 leh...

Haha 2ppaamm, as I was reading this I suddenly realize that I know of 1 too! In my profession there is a bright young one who was a top scholar at PSLE, O levels (PM Book Prize for PSLE AND O levels) and a President's Scholar![/quote]Wah, this one is a natural. Square, square or not? Also, doing well at work or not? I used to employ some of these and boy! they drove me nuts. Only take instructions. Then I retired and joined the university. Suddenly, these are prized possessions.

• 2 Offline
        2ppaamm

clarabella:

Haha 2ppaamm, as I was reading this I suddenly realize that I know of 1 too! In my profession there is a bright young one who was a top scholar at PSLE, O levels (PM Book Prize for PSLE AND O levels) and a President's Scholar!

Err... clarabella... this person sounds so much like... YOU :lol:

Oops, then I take back what I said above! Ha ha... you not square, square I hope. Cause I am not.

• 2 Offline
          2ppaamm

sleepy:
          Is EPGY recognised by most universities?

How does this compare to IB programme or SAT?
          Err... it's hard to compare and will take me at least 2 decades to write about this..... It's like Ong Teck Chin telling every one that 'A' levels is dead and NUSH saying their program will groom your child the best and Raffles claiming they make the best scholars in the world. Which is the best system? I don't know... I only know which works for me, and as long as the program gets my child into the U, I use it. I figured if most universities use them, they should be good enough. I think you can get all the reviews surfing the net... I've done that for years, ha ha, have yet gotten any conclusion.

clarabella

2ppaamm:
            Whew! Someone who knows more about medicine school! Thanks!

Medicine and Law are graduate courses in US and some other US-based education centers, only, right? UK, Australia, Singapore and other UK-based education centers you can still become a doctor from undergrad studies.

I have never taken that MCAT test, I have never aspired to be a doctor, neither have I taken a look at the test, because there's no aspiring doctors in the house. But I have seen the LSAT and GMAT - hm... Singaporeans can ace it better than the Americans, I think. We are great test takers mah... :nailbite:
            Hehe, much of my knowledge about medical schools comes from my DH/young relatives who studied/are studying in various ones in U.K. Australia and U.S. Somehow we have many aspiring doctors-to-be in our extended families...

Yes, yes, you're indeed right about undergrad medical degrees in UK, Australia and of course Singapore lah. šŸ™‚
            I did the MCAT mostly for, er... fun (long story, basically egged on by DH). At my age there is no way I'd switch careers!

BTW, parents please note: professional degrees in medicine and law should be those recognized by the respective professional bodies.
            See the Singapore Medical Council website for a list of the registrable medical qualifications, and the Ministry of Law website for the overseas law degrees that are recognised for admission to the Singapore Bar.

clarabella

2ppaamm:

Err... clarabella... this person sounds so much like... YOU :lol:

Oops, then I take back what I said above! Ha ha... you not square, square I hope. Cause I am not.

CHIEF, you old already lah, I said young person mah! How can it be moi hee šŸ˜›

2ppaamm, nah, that young person is not square at all... not the nerdy nerdy type, and yes, doing WELL at work!

• 2 Offline
                2ppaamm

clarabella:
                2ppaamm:

[quote=\"ChiefKiasu\"]Err... clarabella... this person sounds so much like... YOU :lol:

CHIEF, you old already lah, I said young person mah! How come it be moi hee šŸ˜›

2ppaamm, nah, that young person is not square at all... not the nerdy nerdy type, and yes, doing WELL at work![/quote]Then you must be cheng hu. Government person hor?

clarabella

šŸ˜“ I, er, cannot say, *cough*

• 2 Offline
                    2ppaamm

clarabella:
                    šŸ˜“ I, er, cannot say, *cough*

Ha ha, I know the answer already lah!

clarabella

sleepy:
                      What's MCAT?

sleepy, MCAT = Medical College Admission Test. It's required for entry to U.S. med schools. It is also a requirement for Singapore's Duke-NUS Graduate Medical School.

-----
                      For UK, there are two aptitude tests.
                      Most medical schools now require applicants to take the UKCAT (UK Clinical Aptitude Test).
                      The other test is the BMAT (BioMedical Admissions Test). This is required for application to Cambridge, Oxford, Imperial College and UCL medical schools.

The UKCAT comprises five subtests:-
                      Verbal / Quantitative / Abstract Reasoning;
                      Decision / Non-Cognitive Analysis

The BMAT has three sections:-
                      Aptitude and Skills (e.g. Logic and Reasoning);
                      Scientific Knowledge and Application;
                      Writing Task (essay).

tired mom

2ppaamm:
                        sleepy:

[quote=\"2ppaamm\"]
                        Hm... I don't know of any advantage. What did the admission folks from NUSH tell you guys? They are not supposed to give preferences, but maybe they do behind closed doors? 😐 We don't know yet because the first batch of NUSH grads are not out yet, right?

Ok, I rephrase :lol: Would NUSH provide them stronger foundation to medicine faculty?
                        For aspiring doctors, should they aim for NUSH to better prepare themselves?

Hm... I don't have an aspiring doctor in my house. However, if I were to prepare a path for my child, I'd just go finish the HSD, then prepare to ace SATI and SATII, and then the MCAT. Instead of doing the impossible maths NUSH is doing - even though I'm a maths grad, I still think maths is a crazy subject. :roll: Then, I'll let him read about what great doctors do, and then attach him to one of my doctor-friend as an intern to see if that's the kind of life he wants. If he still likes to do medicine, then any uni that gives a recognized degree so that he can practise will do. After he has done his housemanship and 2 years' or so of practice, I will encourage him/her to study further and become a specialist. After another few years, I'd suggest he become a researcher and teach in the uni - to help better even more lives. That's what I'll do.... This is a fantastic life to have. Lots of recognition and money and holidays.

What do you think? Will this plan work?[/quote]plan sounds good šŸ˜„ especially like the part of attachment as an intern, to see that doctoring is not all glorious
                        :lol: but the researcher and teaching part ... must see interest lah...... clinical medicine is actually very fun and fulfilling.

Actually medicine in uni does not need superb maths or science. just some biology/ chemistry background is enough to pull one through
                        šŸ˜‰ (though maths and physics are usually requirements as well)

Getting fed up of having to scroll through the same posts each visit? When you register for an account, you'll always come back to exactly where you were before, and choose to be notified of new replies (either via email, or push notification). You'll also be able to save bookmarks and upvote posts to show your appreciation to other community members.

• 9 / 20

flamingoeschoolF
                        flamingoeschool