How much is enough for retirement in Singapore?

Scheduled Pinned Locked Moved Money Matters
    1.8k Posts 133 Posters 376.6k Views 2 Watching
    • O Offline
      Oppsgal

dolphinsiah:
      :thankyou: wiimum,

I fully understand your explaination ...if a person do not meet the MS during at the age of 55.-they need to pledge their property....

But what if the person meet the CPF MS at age of 55 can he or she still pledge the fully paid property.

So that he or she can take out more cash at the age of 55?

I know I should be able to hit the MS by 55 if I continue to work for the next 10 years...and CPF interest rates do not change.

I am worry at the age of 55 , I do not have any cash :moneyflies: to take out .... :skeptical:
      Because all will be lock up in the Retirement Account(RA) until 65....

If can take out more cash :moneyflies: , can plan to tour before too old to walk... :evil:

For your kind comment ,please. :please:
      Wonder anyone have cash enough to meet MS but an almost empty cpf account before age of 55, then have to pledge the house? 😂

Irrelevant

Harlequin:

No withdrawal at 55, right?
        Harlequin

Are you sure you are giving proper advice? 😆

Since time immemorial, CPF account holders can withdraw their excess funds at age 55. The last time PAP govt tried to touch this sacred cow (remember Howe Yoon Chong?), they lost 12% of the votes plus Potong Pasir. The only thing the govt dared to do now is to tweak the rules of withdrawal.

Incidentally, I do not know the answer to dolphinsiah's question. I have always assume that one can always pledge one's property and reduce the minimum sum by half. :scratchhead:

Harlequin

Irrelevant:
          Harlequin:

No MS withdrawal at 55, right?

Harlequin

Are you sure you are giving proper advice? 😆

Since time immemorial, CPF account holders can withdraw their excess funds at age 55. The last time PAP govt tried to touch this sacred cow (remember Howe Yoon Chong?), they lost 12% of the votes plus Potong Pasir. The only thing the govt dared to do now is to tweak the rules of withdrawal.

Incidentally, I do not know the answer to dolphinsiah's question. I have always assume that one can always pledge one's property and reduce the minimum sum by half. :scratchhead:

There is no MS withdrawal at 55.

Pledging the property is for meeting the MS requirement, it's not for transforming the property into cash as if \"pawning\" the property to CPF board for instant cash, so it's not even the issue of whether can draw \"more cash\" or \"less cash\" at 55...... unless pledge cash lor eg. top up CPF? Tio bo?

Irrelevant

Harlequin:

There is no MS withdrawal at 55.

Pledging the property is for meeting the MS requirement, it's not for transforming the property into cash as if \"pawning\" the property to CPF board for instant cash, so it's not even the issue of whether can draw \"more cash\" or \"less cash\" at 55...... unless pledge cash lor eg. top up CPF? Tio bo?
            Now I see what you mean.

Ermm...... although this old uncle quite old, still not old enough to withdraw CPF yet. :evil: So based on my understanding (which can of course be wrong), the situation is like this.

1. Not so long ago, CPF rules were like this: No matter how little money you have in your CPF account (i.e. Ordinary Account + Special Account+Excess of Medisave Minimum Sum), you are allowed to withdraw 50%. E.g. if minimum sum is 100k, and CPF member only has 80k at age 55, he can still withdraw 40k.

2. As an additional \"concession\", the govt also allows CPF members to pledge their property as part of this minimum sum.

3. I believe that a member can only rely on point 1 or point 2, but not both points.

4. The implication of pledging the property as part of the minimum sum is that once the property is sold, the money must be refunded to CPF as part of the minimum sum. If one never sells his property after retirement, this point becomes moot. So the government assumes that as long as member does not have to sell his property, he should be doing ok.

5. Given the above, naturally I assume that even if one has greater than the minimum sum in the CPF account, one can still pledge one's property as part of the 50% minimum sum. In doing so, a member would be able to withdraw more money at age of 55....

I tried to surf CPF's website. But it appears to deftly avoid the question of \"if one has more than the minimum sum in place, can one still pledge his property\"?

CloudeeDaz

I am also not old enuf for CPF withdrawal …yet.

My understanding of it is same as Uncle’s ( of course, it may not be right 😄 )

Irrelevant:
              5. ...........even if one has greater than the minimum sum in the CPF account, one can still pledge one's property as part of the 50% minimum sum. In doing so, a member would be able to withdraw more money at age of 55....

Harlequin

CloudeeDaz:
                I am also not old enuf for CPF withdrawal …yet.

My understanding of it is same as Uncle’s ( of course, it may not be right 😄 )
                Irrelevant:

5. ...........even if one has greater than the minimum sum in the CPF account, one can still pledge one's property as part of the 50% minimum sum. In doing so, a member would be able to withdraw more money at age of 55....

hmmm... like that har...
                Anyone wrote to CPF pertaining the MS and pledging property please share the reply from CPF...

Harlequin

since we are on cpf topic.... today's ST Opinion.

http://i49.tinypic.com/34fmbf7.jpg\">

Inflation indexing missing in CPF Life

Published on Apr 02, 2013

By Joseph Cheria, for The Straits Times
                  THOSE about to retire are likely to be concerned about three aspects of retirement financing: receiving a reasonable level of payout every month; a payout that lasts for the rest of their lives; and a payout that takes account of inflation.

In other words, an average retiree would like to receive a payout that makes maintaining his or her standard of living possible.

A good baseline retirement product would hence have the following characteristics: its returns are at least that of local inflation; it has negligible risk; and it is easily understandable and investible by the average person saving for retirement.

The best retirement product that meets this need is not a well-diversified equity fund, lifecycle fund or other funds offered by the private sector.

Rather, it is an inflation-linked life annuity. Such a fund converts an individual's accumulated investment capital to lifetime real cash flows that provide for retirement consumption and expenditures.

In 2009, the Central Provident Fund (CPF) took a step in the right direction when it established the lifelong income scheme (CPF Life). It met the first two criteria required by retirees. However, it did not have an inflation-indexing feature. This is due to the fact that Singapore lacks government-backed inflation-indexed bonds.

An inflation-indexed bond is like a regular government bond that has a fixed face value and interest rate, except that the former's face value and associated interest payments rise with inflation and fall with deflation.

We often hear claims that certain investments such as equities or commodities, such as gold or housing, will outperform inflation in the long run. But none of these are perfect low-risk hedges. They are therefore not very reliable investments to ensure a safe, dignified retirement for the average person.

The government is the most natural institution to provide inflation-linked bonds and products. This is because goods, property, services and sales tax revenues usually increase as the general price level rises. Government tax receipts are therefore closely linked to inflation.

The government can also exercise some control over interest rates and inflation through the use of fiscal and monetary tools. In the 1970s and 1980s, the Israeli government used price controls to stem runaway inflation successfully.

Inflation-indexed bonds change in value in response to inflation. With inflation, the face value increases; with deflation, the face value decreases.

In the United States, the government goes further, guaranteeing that the adjusted face value will not fall below its original face value in the event of severe deflation. Changes in inflation, as reflected in the consumer price index, affect both the interest paid out annually and the face value of the bond when it matures.

An example would be instructive. Let's assume one buys a 30-year inflation-indexed bond today with a $10,000 original face value and fixed annual interest rate of 3 per cent of face value.

If the inflation rate is 4 per cent the following year, the bond's face value is adjusted upwards to $10,400, which means the actual interest paid out that year is 3 per cent of the adjusted face value of $10,400.

At the bond's maturity you would receive the final inflation-adjusted face value as well as the associated interest payments.

Until recently, only Japan and Australia offered inflation-protected bonds in Asia that could be used by a local pension fund to produce retirement products.

In July 2011, however, Hong Kong and Thailand issued an initial tranche of such bonds. India and Singapore are considering the possibility. Our rough calculations show that for a 26-year-old professional to receive Singapore's median per capita monthly household income of $1,990 (in real cash flows) upon retirement at age 62, he or she would need to save around $575 per month in total (in real dollars) as of today. In doing our calculation, we used the US Treasury Inflation Protected Securities (TIPS) real interest curve as a proxy for the Singapore one, given that the latter doesn't currently exist.

What is needed is a life annuity product that can convert the money saved over an individual's lifetime into durable spending power.

What if there isn't sufficient accumulated capital in one's retirement account?

Singapore has the CPF. If that is not enough, consider Hong Kong and Taiwan that offer a \"reverse mortgage\" scheme for the elderly. It allows the elderly to receive a monthly stipend by taking some or all equity out of their owner-occupied home, while being guaranteed never to be evicted.

The Hong Kong reverse mortgage programme is privately managed but highly regulated by the Hong Kong Mortgage Corporation. The more recent Taiwan programme for elderly singles (yi fang yang lao) is fully managed by the government.

While the HDB's Lease Buyback Scheme (LBS) is a step in the right direction, it is overly complicated for the intended audience (that is, the low-income elderly) with its formulaic top-ups and bonus schemes. The LBS also does not provide for lifelong security as it takes into account only the tail-end of the lease of a house. This means someone who lives beyond the 30 years of the LBS technically has no equity left in his house.

Common practice is that the entire equity in the home's remaining lease market value is converted into a life annuity, with a guarantee that you can live in your house for as long as you live. The residual housing market value, if there's any appreciation (and less the payouts), accrues to the owner's estate at the point of death.

Products involving long-term savings require a strong public- private partnership, involving a credible government and a well-regulated and trained private sector.

The objective is to ensure that the average Singaporean is able to maintain a dignified, inflation- indexed standard of living in retirement, by taking advantage of appropriate retirement products purchased at a fair price.

[email protected]

The writer is practice professor of finance and director of the Centre for Asset Management Research & Investments at the National University of Singapore Business School.

Irrelevant

Harlequin:
                    hmmm... like that har...

Anyone wrote to CPF pertaining the MS and pledging property please share the reply from CPF...
                    Aunty

I called CPF board. The lady who answered confirmed that one's property can be used as 50% of the MS. The effective amount of money left in CPF after that will be 69,500 (Retirement Account) and 38,500 Medisave....... provided one retires this year. This is no guarantee that the CPF board will not change the rules by next year.

Words in bold are mine. :evil:

Harlequin

Irrelevant:
                      Harlequin:

hmmm... like that har...

Aunty

I called CPF board. The lady who answered confirmed that one's property can be used as 50% of the MS. The effective amount of money left in CPF after that will be 69,500 (Retirement Account) and 38,500 Medisave....... provided one retires this year. This is no guarantee that the CPF board will not change the rules by next year.

Even when the cpf account with sufficient balance to meet the MS? Wow, it's like pawning, tweaked.

dolphinsiah

Irrelevant:
                        Harlequin:

hmmm... like that har...

Aunty

To me this is something to look for when I turn 55....at least I know if I cannot work I can still pledge my property.....and get some cash to do things I want to do....

I know is still early....to dream..... :snooze: but must have dream then will work hard for the money :moneyflies:

Getting fed up of having to scroll through the same posts each visit? When you register for an account, you'll always come back to exactly where you were before, and choose to be notified of new replies (either via email, or push notification). You'll also be able to save bookmarks and upvote posts to show your appreciation to other community members.

• 7 / 181

lilac8803L
                        lilac8803

P1 Registration 2027 Changes
                        DSA Discussions and Strategies