From PSLE to University
Fairy:
Thank for the info. Should aim for Raffles Girls thenTo quote Ms. Lim Lai Cheng, principal of RI in her RI's Founder's Day Speech on 15Aug09:
\"The medical faculty at NUS takes in 260 freshmen a year ā 114 places went to Rafflesians this year. The law faculty at NUS takes in 240 students each year. Rafflesians took up 133 places....\"
Fairy:
No, not going to RGS. That's my school, but my daughter is going to SCGS, my older girls' school. Raffles is not for everyone. Though I love the school, my son didn't enjoy every aspect of it. While I sometimes wonder if he would have been happier elsewhere, the school ultimately helped him get to the U. So, two different sides of the coin. At the end of the day, everything worked out fine. Things always work out fine, I believe that.Hi 2ppaamm,
Thanks for the info. My child is 12, joining RGS next week. Yours too? Well, I'm not planning anything yet. Just hoping to tap on your wisdom for some info/guidance.
2ppaamm:
Very interesting, very enlightening. Can't use this method on my kids already, too late.....but.....shall keep in mind...can use on my future grandchildren! :idea: ha ha ha :lol: :lol: :lol:
Ha ha, I also don't like to read story books. I have hardly finished a novel in my entire life! However, I like to read journals, factual and more serious stuff... Strange hor?
This is how I read to my kids, see if it helps you. At 1, just take a book, not more than a sentence each page. Read through it very happily and quickly and interestingly with the child on your lap. Don't test his understanding or anything. Key is to make it very interesting. Before he can process the page, go on to the next. He must not be bored. I can go through 20+ books on one seating with my kids when they were at about 1 to 1.5 years old. They keep asking for more. Don't worry about them learning to read. Just keep doing this day in day out. One day, they will read and love books. Surprisingly, all my 4 kids read books (like Chronicles of Narnia) at 4 years old.
Don't be uptight about them learning. They will.
Now that they are in their teens, all of them read much more than me. My 2nd daughter and 4th boy read about 2-3 novels a DAY. Sometimes, I have to force them to stop reading because I'm worried about their eyesight.
O, I don't believe in all those reading classes, enrichment courses, expensive programs by profiteering groups. My method seems to work pretty well, all my kids love books, and my P3 boy has already finished reading all his P4 textbooks (they even like textbooks
). He also finished reading the 5 sets of encyclopedia in the house when he was 5. In addition, he also reads all the comic books I can buy off the shelf (Tintin, Archie, Batman, Spider - you name it, I have it)
I buy toys 6 times a year for the kids. But I buy or borrow books from the library liberally. Being surrounded by thousands of books in the house, they will naturally read. My 13 year old also reads all the business books and all the self-help adult books as well. She also read the university text I teach from, which most undergrads find so boring. I just wonder why these are interesting to her? We call #2 and #4 the reading machine of the house. Because of that, their knowledge is scary... they seem to know everything, from who invented what, to the history of everything we see in any country. My oldest also knows the origin of each dinosaur bone and the birthdays of every famous pop star.... (whatever for?):?
Funny? But these info can be useful when asking for autographs when you meet these stars on the road in HK. :lol:
Hope this helps!
I fully agree about not making learning a pain for the kids. Through the years, I've never insisted that my kids learn their ting xie or spelling assigned by their school teachers. So, even if they get lousy marks or less than full marks due to the fact that they did not prepare for the tests, I will not reprimand or kick up a fuss. When choosing an enrichment centre for tuition in Chinese Language, I made sure I choose one that does not give homework to their students, all worksheets/compo must be completed in class. -
clarabella:
Can lah, academic part can be replaced by the IB or HSD or NUSH AP (which is also HSD).ooptimizer:
Don't they just use the A levels any more?
Yes, they do require A levels. Cannot run away from the academic record part, hee.
The BMAT/UKCAT is part of the whole application process, in addition to A levels, personal statements, etc. The tests are supposed to evaluate scientific aptitude and abilities relevant to medical studies. -
clarabella:
Can lah, academic part can be replaced by the IB or HSD or NUSH AP (which is also HSD).ooptimizer:
Don't they just use the A levels any more?
Yes, they do require A levels. Cannot run away from the academic record part, hee.
The BMAT/UKCAT is part of the whole application process, in addition to A levels, personal statements, etc. The tests are supposed to evaluate scientific aptitude and abilities relevant to medical studies. -
tired mom:
IMHumbleO, to be successful as a doctor, you don't need Maths, or Chem, or Physics or Bio. You need good people skills.plan sounds good
especially like the part of attachment as an intern, to see that doctoring is not all glorious
:lol: but the researcher and teaching part ... must see interest lah...... clinical medicine is actually very fun and fulfilling.
Actually medicine in uni does not need superb maths or science. just some biology/ chemistry background is enough to pull one through
(though maths and physics are usually requirements as well)
Just read about all the GPs struggling... Hm, what do we want our kids to be? A successful doctor and doing well, or just getting into Med school? So are we spending too much time training them their Math, Physics etc, they get into RGS/RI great schools, they get into Med school, become doctors.... and then cannot survive as medical doctors because all these years they forgot to work on their HR skills.
Some cannot even hold a decent conversation with 'normal' folks, or hold together a marriage. What's the point of becoming a doctor, then? The doctors that are doing the best, are the ones who know how to reach out, and some are great in marketing themselves, too.
Doctor is not all that glamorous also. Remember the SARS years? That pretty much helped me decide medicine is just too scary for me. My friend was widowed in that incident, her hubby a doctor. -
2ppaamm:
Ya, totally agree. Amidst all the fuss about academic excellence, I have to keep reminding myself that the parents' primary responsibility is to teach non-academic skills, HR skills included.IMHumbleO, to be successful as a doctor, you don't need Maths, or Chem, or Physics or Bio. You need good people skills.
Just read about all the GPs struggling... Hm, what do we want our kids to be? A successful doctor and doing well, or just getting into Med school? So are we spending too much time training them their Math, Physics etc, they get into RGS/RI great schools, they get into Med school, become doctors.... and then cannot survive as medical doctors because all these years they forgot to work on their HR skills.
Some cannot even hold a decent conversation with 'normal' folks, or hold together a marriage. What's the point of becoming a doctor, then? The doctors that are doing the best, are the ones who know how to reach out, and some are great in marketing themselves, too.
Doctor is not all that glamorous also. Remember the SARS years? That pretty much helped me decide medicine is just too scary for me. My friend was widowed in that incident, her hubby a doctor.
But sometimes easier said than done lei... very easy to lose my way :roll: -
2ppaamm:
I totally agree that Medicine is not as glamorous as laymen think it is. Aspiring doctors taking the plunge for reasons like glam, fame, money, parents' \"face\" etc -- Think again ! There's tons of hard work, sleepless nights, occupational hazards (eg.SARS, H1N1) etc involved. Definitely not a bed of roses. What about good old-fashioned altruistic reasons such as the simple, sincere desire to minister to and to heal the sick/dying? Only true passion for the vocation and a genuine love for people will be able to bring about the great satisfaction and fulfilment that this job offers. Otherwise, it's just like any other job.IMHumbleO, to be successful as a doctor, you don't need Maths, or Chem, or Physics or Bio. You need good people skills.
Doctor is not all that glamorous also. Remember the SARS years? That pretty much helped me decide medicine is just too scary for me. My friend was widowed in that incident, her hubby a doctor.
And yes, good people skills, a high EQ are crucial factors determining how successful a doctor is and not merely excellent paper qualifications. Tired mum is right to say that one does not really need to be very strong in Maths or Science to succeed in this field. I have encountered many highly qualified doctors with impressive resumes but sadly, with poor HR skills and who, as a result cannot 'connect' properly with their patients. How tragic !
BTW, 2ppaamm, is the widow you're referring to KWP(initials)?
Cheers ! :celebrate: -
2ppaamm:
Can lah, academic part can be replaced by the IB or HSD or NUSH AP (which is also HSD).
My bad, I meant to say A levels or equivalents, to fulfill the academic requirements lor. -
2ppaamm:
Ha ha, I also don't like to read story books. I have hardly finished a novel in my entire life! However, I like to read journals, factual and more serious stuff... Strange hor?
This is how I read to my kids, see if it helps you. At 1, just take a book, not more than a sentence each page. Read through it very happily and quickly and interestingly with the child on your lap. Don't test his understanding or anything. Key is to make it very interesting. Before he can process the page, go on to the next. He must not be bored. I can go through 20+ books on one seating with my kids when they were at about 1 to 1.5 years old. They keep asking for more. Don't worry about them learning to read. Just keep doing this day in day out. One day, they will read and love books. Surprisingly, all my 4 kids read books (like Chronicles of Narnia) at 4 years old.
Don't be uptight about them learning. They will.
Now that they are in their teens, all of them read much more than me. My 2nd daughter and 4th boy read about 2-3 novels a DAY. Sometimes, I have to force them to stop reading because I'm worried about their eyesight.
O, I don't believe in all those reading classes, enrichment courses, expensive programs by profiteering groups. My method seems to work pretty well, all my kids love books, and my P3 boy has already finished reading all his P4 textbooks (they even like textbooks
). He also finished reading the 5 sets of encyclopedia in the house when he was 5. In addition, he also reads all the comic books I can buy off the shelf (Tintin, Archie, Batman, Spider - you name it, I have it)
I buy toys 6 times a year for the kids. But I buy or borrow books from the library liberally. Being surrounded by thousands of books in the house, they will naturally read. My 13 year old also reads all the business books and all the self-help adult books as well. She also read the university text I teach from, which most undergrads find so boring. I just wonder why these are interesting to her? We call #2 and #4 the reading machine of the house. Because of that, their knowledge is scary... they seem to know everything, from who invented what, to the history of everything we see in any country. My oldest also knows the origin of each dinosaur bone and the birthdays of every famous pop star.... (whatever for?):?
Funny? But these info can be useful when asking for autographs when you meet these stars on the road in HK. :lol:
Hope this helps!
:thankyou: :thankyou: really appreciate this and will start reading to my boy today!
Getting fed up of having to scroll through the same posts each visit? When you register for an account, you'll always come back to exactly where you were before, and choose to be notified of new replies (either via email, or push notification). You'll also be able to save bookmarks and upvote posts to show your appreciation to other community members.
Popular Topics