Club 2002 Kids

Scheduled Pinned Locked Moved Clubs for parents with similar age children
    3.6k Posts 111 Posters 1.1m Views 1 Watching
      Trina

Trina:

I would like DD1 to get into IP IB. Then I no longer worry about HCL (which is a pain to me) and A level Chinese. Alas the cutoff point for IP is so high.... :nailbite:

IB no need do chinese?
      i thought still have?
      i thought IB no need worry about HCL Olevel as no benefits, but why no worry about Alevel chinese??

IB don't have O level or A level, isn't it? I think they still take chinese as a subject but HCL wouldn't help.

For more info on IB, logon to http://www.ibo.org

Snow Crystal

Trina:

I would like DD1 to get into IP IB. Then I no longer worry about HCL (which is a pain to me) and A level Chinese. Alas the cutoff point for IP is so high.... :nailbite:

IB no need do chinese?
        i thought still have?
        i thought IB no need worry about HCL Olevel as no benefits, but why no worry about Alevel chinese??

I think Trina is saying that if her DD goes to IP/IB, take HCL, just pass will do then no need to take H1 Chinese in JC. ie No more Chinese after Year 4.

Trina - just to remind you that some SAP IP schools impose min criteria for HCL O levels before a kid can drop Chinese in Yr5. Please check with respective schools of interest.

• NebbermindN Offline
          Nebbermind

Only MGS offering IB, ya? Think their intake is very small.

BeContented

Only MGS offering IB, ya? Think their intake is very small.

How small?

• NebbermindN Offline
              Nebbermind

60?

http://www.kiasuparents.com/kiasu/forum/viewtopic.php?f=48&t=42206

BeContented

60?

http://www.kiasuparents.com/kiasu/forum/viewtopic.php?f=48&t=42206
                Thanks. Like that difficult liao. πŸ˜“
                So DSA lagi smaller or no DSA??

j.032906a.032906m.032906

MotherHen:
                  j.a.m.:

Her weaknesses r in both the picture discussion & conversation. Doesn't know the terms for the stuff :razz: .

I think that is a very common problem with kids, cos they hardly speak mandarin. I'm not sure if it's the right thing to do, but due to the lack of time, I'm trying to spoonfeed/cram these terms down dd's throat.

I've written down the common terms for each possible scenario, and asked her to memorise by heart. Eg: εœ°ι“η«™οΌšεˆ—θ½¦γ€θ½»θ½¨εˆ—θ½¦γ€ζœˆε°γ€η”΅εŠ¨ζ‰Άζ’―, etc. Hopefully, she won't be completely blank like the last CL oral, cos she does not even know what some of the items are called in chinese.

Thanks, gonna do it, probably create some kinda of flashcards & group them according to the situation they are found. Would be useful for my #2 too πŸ˜„

j.032906a.032906m.032906

MotherHen:
                    j.a.m.:

Hi MotherHen,

thot she's mature & independent enuf (always like tht one mah) to autopilot but all I got was tears & screams from her... sibling rivalry & adolescence all rolled into 1 is NOT fun :scared: (& my dh just glued himself in front of the computer & played his games, completely ignoring all these commotion the whole time, even tho dd was crying sitting next to him...)

You are right abt SS. My dd also has a lot of hw from this subject : write-ups, scrapbook & wat-not. Apparently they have a list of questions to do (each qn make up of stars) & they are supposed to do enuf to collect at least 8(?) stars by end of term 1. Part of the grading. Even her SS notebook is very detailed & colourful - full of drawings, captions & mappings. Apparently that is graded too! Her class has formed project groups in the beginning of the year but so far, no detail yet on what is the project about yet.

haha I've long given up on getting my dd to autopilot. The minute my back is turned, she wld be on her iphone/doodling/daydreaming, in fact doing anything but what she's supposed to do. My dh shares the same capability as yours. Totally oblivious... :slapshead: ...Luckily her jie jie (my DD1) in Sec 1 this year, so I am more bochap abt dd1 and get devote a little more time to her.

For SS, I got my dd to finish all 8 stars during the Mar hols. There's no way she wld have time for it during school term.

For now, just really glad that CCA will stop temporarily from next week. At least we'll have a bit more time for revision.

Usually my girl is quite auto-pilot one, that's why her outburst caught me by surprise. Anyway, we did 2 egs of EL & CL orals last few days & that seemed to have calm her down somewhat. Gonna do the memorisation of the vocab words for different situations next...

Just checked with her, she has also completed her 8 stars. πŸ˜„ But still got tingxie and apparently 2 θ€ƒε―Ÿs next week, the tests on the orals days!

(regarding the fathers' reactions - or lack of -, my fren just shared that her dh also same thing leh... kwa kwa kwa kwa...)

j.032906a.032906m.032906

jam

your dd's FT very good ah. can treat it as 'oral' prep too. so long kids find it comfy to open up/speak to persons in authority, half the battle is won for Oral conversation! lol. πŸ™‚
                      My dd still didn't feel comfortable with figure of authority, she said she could only give a short sentence for each question. Anyway, it's really like a getting-to-know-you session. The ft basically asked abt their families, hobbies/interests & do they have tuition(!). Actually, before the session, I had already given her ideas what the teacher would probably ask (& I was correct) & advised her that she could always turn the table around & ask her ft the same questions. Then it'll be an exchange of ideas & she can also get to know her teacher better... but she froze up during the chat... :roll:

Anyway, she told me some of her frens did not tell her ft the truth regarding their lives...

j.032906a.032906m.032906

Laura02:
                        DD had both EL & CL oral today. EL picture topic was on a hand phone shop, CL on a road scene.

I am trying to encourage her to be a \"self directed learner\"... by not sending her for tuition, not asking her to switch off the TV/ iPad/ computer/ Whatsapp/ other electronic device when she's been on it for over half an hour. But I do start to nag when she hits 1 hr.

j.a.m., there's more than one TLL centre. And no, I can't imagine walking her to school.
                        Hi Laura02, long time no see, welcome back. :rahrah:

Thanks for sharing the orals topics. May I know what was the 'major incident' in each picture? Also what was the conversation topics on? Thank you! πŸ˜„

Actually, I have no complaints abt my dd most of the time. She's very self-motivated & cannot bear to leave work unfinished (she's very scared of getting scolded by anyone, esp teachers!). Just that time, perhaps her hormones was acting up... πŸ¦†

To be fair with her, whenever she's done with her work & reading, sometimes she would help me with ds2 too. :love: :love:

erm... lost track of what I wrote abt tll liao. Yeah, just saw that they open up a 3rd branch in the west, right? Ok, so 3 choices to pick from??? :scratchhead:

πŸ˜‰

Getting fed up of having to scroll through the same posts each visit? When you register for an account, you'll always come back to exactly where you were before, and choose to be notified of new replies (either via email, or push notification). You'll also be able to save bookmarks and upvote posts to show your appreciation to other community members.

• 337 / 359

EducareTutoringE
                        EducareTutoring
                        motherhoood_loveM
                        motherhoood_love
                        sharonkhooS
                        sharonkhoo