2013 PSLE Discussions and Strategy

Scheduled Pinned Locked Moved Primary 6 & PSLE
    5.7k Posts 204 Posters 982.2k Views 1 Watching
    • Suz855S Offline
      Suz855

Goodluck8:
      Suz855:

Good luck 8, the subject banding thingy sound like what my dd school practicing .... The irony is they gather the same ability children together n the better they are, they assign the \"not so competent teacher\" to teach ... So to me unless the calibre of teacher match ..else the programme is just another wayang the school put up to show :slapshead: . besides, honestly betw the 3 so call HA class in dd school, there isn't big gap to begin with so why the need to differentiate n create all these movement n waste of time, until now I am still :?

Are our children in the same school? I talked to a lot of my friends, only this school practised this type of banding, no others (what i know until now).
      And even the child is in the 3 HA class, doesnt mean that he/she will perform well. Last year PSLE result, one of the student in the first class has the same T-score as one of the students in the fourth class. Even one of
      students in the third class can score 250+.

Hi, did the school recently move to a holding school due to upgrading, if so then probably our dds are school mates or maybe classmate ( what a small world). If so, I wouldn't be surprise that other students can do as well as the first class as the children are band but the principal does not believe in allocation their better teachers ( those committed type) to the top class :sad:

• JohnYeoJ Offline
        JohnYeo

mummy so kiasu:
        JohnYeo:

I'm just a normal dad...really...my DD1 is 3 y.o and DD2 is going to be 1 soon...hehe...think I KS so I better start asking and learning parenting tips from experienced parents like yourself...hehe....

Sorry many questions...cos now, when our kids are young, we find the time spent with them is so limited and so stretched...so really worried about the future when they go into pri and sec school...

think I must change my name to KS John...;p

You are the most KS daddy I ever seen. I thought usually mummy is more KS than daddy. Are you are a SAHD? Don't worry so early, really too kiasu already.Your kids is only 3 & 1.

PSLE might be scrapped by then & your kids might not need to take PSLE. Your should focus on bonding & development rather than PSLE leh.

Hehe...Im officially KS John...yes, Im a WAHD....yeah, we never know PSLE may be scrapped then hor....but maybe replaced with something else...hehe...something similar.... 😛

• JohnYeoJ Offline
          JohnYeo

happyheart:

I am bad with that.

Pls do not misunderstand me for the following remarks. I am not insinuating anything but I always tell my kids 慈母多败儿 so I am not going to be their 慈母 and don't expect me to be one. Well... they say I am their tiger mum....

Nah..don't worry, I actually agree with this saying. They also know when I say it, they better start doing or else...
          Once, I heard the younger one say to elder one...' oh O...mummy is upset, we better go'. I have also been called tiger evil mum, strict mum, no nonsense mum alongside with best mum, gentle mum. I guess they see both sides of me. Perhaps it is the PSLE that is getting to me 😓

I think mommy (as well as daddy) wears different masks (in the eyes of children) at different times....so it is common...hehe...

😓 Yah boy.... Sept, Oct and then PSLE results and school posting day.... pls relax. breathe in, breath out, breath in and out....

I have another PSLE child next year 😓 and then I was calculating. When my P6 dd is doing her \"O\" levels, my youngest will be sitting for PSLE....
            same situation here...#1 sitting for O levels in 2016, rebellious #2 sitting for PSLE same year 😓

if you still remember the breathing method during labour pain, start practising...my heart was pounding when principal talked to us in the hall...and i was reaching hyperventilating stage.

ngl2010

popireis:
              ngl2010:

My son's problem is time management. He does things very slowly. So, I usually race with him e.g. who can finish faster; he doing his Maths homework or me ironing clothes? He likes this kind of game :rotflmao: Sometimes he will criticize my ironing quality so that he would have more time for his homework 😆 I would play along with him 😉

Mine oso the same... suuuuper slow, and worse, dun like us to rush him. he's super \"cool\" and \"laid-back\", no amount of coaxing, motivating, nagging can rush him. I am FTWM so no time to \"monitor\" him during the day. His \"time-wasting\" tactics supersede any of us. I feel if he has done his work faster, he will have more time for other revision, but he is not motivated.

Best, he told me, cannot stress him, too stress will not perform well during exams... ya... he \"not\" stress oso nvr perform so well... :roll:

One day we should let them compete on who is slower :rotflmao:

Watching my son does things is like watching slow motion movie. The time from him picking up an eraser until he start erasing is about 7 seconds :faint:

Actually, feeling super cool has its benefit. He won't panic easily. Do you notice that?

ngl2010

those raging hormones do make him easily tired and hungry often.

Teachers pumping work plus humid weather do not make it easier either. This was the reason why I took him out of supplementary lessons. The whole year of supplementary lessons at P5 did not help.
                In my son's school, supplementary lessons are extension of school time. If they don't go, they will miss a lot. Nobody dares to skip suplementary lessons :nailbite: But a lot of children dropped CCA.

ngl2010:

those raging hormones do make him easily tired and hungry often.

Teachers pumping work plus humid weather do not make it easier either. This was the reason why I took him out of supplementary lessons. The whole year of supplementary lessons at P5 did not help.

In my son's school, supplementary lessons are extension of school time. If they don't go, they will miss a lot. Nobody dares to skip suplementary lessons :nailbite: But a lot of children dropped CCA.

son didn't have cca in school...thank goodness.

• JohnYeoJ Offline
                    JohnYeo

ngl2010:

Watching my son does things is like watching slow motion movie. The time from him picking up an eraser until he start erasing is about 7 seconds :faint:

Actually, feeling super cool has its benefit. He won't panic easily. Do you notice that?
                    It's reframing... 🙂 but it's true...it can be seen as a positive trait...

popireis

JohnYeo:
                      ngl2010:

It's reframing... 🙂 but it's true...it can be seen as a positive trait...

Yes, it's nice to be cool, girls are all over men who are cool yeah? :evil:

It does has it's positive benefits, he was all calm and cool when he was separated from us a couple of times, in shopping malls, MRT (he went in and I was left outside when the door closed), even overseas.

However it may also become his tripping stone if he is too complacent which is a no-no in this so competitive world/SG.

• JohnYeoJ Offline
                        JohnYeo

I realise children’s grades fly after they have the aha moment…and it seems to me that these aha moments play a big part in helping the children to move onto the next level…these are the real motivation that comes from inside them and this is what really pushes them to do well and excel…maybe, just maybe the answers most are looking for…on how to improve…

for example, some children decided to do well after they seen their best friends improved alot and they wanted to be just like their friends…others were determined to do well after they realised their grades can’t get them into a school they want…or for others, they simply want to do well because they want to make their parents proud and they have finally understood how hard the parents are working for them.

I know of a girl who was hospitalised for food poisioning and after she was discharged, she shared with me this hospitalisation stay made her see how much her mom cares for her and she really wanted to do well for her PSLE.

I’m wondering any parent here have experienced a aha moment with their children…

Getting fed up of having to scroll through the same posts each visit? When you register for an account, you'll always come back to exactly where you were before, and choose to be notified of new replies (either via email, or push notification). You'll also be able to save bookmarks and upvote posts to show your appreciation to other community members.

• 103 / 566