DSA 2023

Scheduled Pinned Locked Moved Secondary Schools - Selection
    2.9k Posts 421 Posters 945.3k Views 1 Watching
    • iRabbitI Offline
      iRabbit

floppy\" post_id=\"2066600\" time=\"1651890884\" user_id=\"97579:

Your colleague would be shocked to know that badminton is just as bad as table tennis. No shortage of players and applicants. One of the few sports with enough players and teams to organize zonal competitions.

Likewise, science isn’t any easier than math.
      That was more than 10 years ago. His kids should be in uni by now.

One low-key sport I know that RI offers DSA for is judo. And there are dojos training young kids for this sport as well.

Imp75\" post_id=\"2066613\" time=\"1651895524\" user_id=\"2358:

Better to train for less common and more affordable sports ba ........try searching around sure can find.......
        How about wushu, because wushu is also a good form of self-defence ?

Or how about Chinese chess training ? Which one better ? play English chess or play Chinese chess ?

Badminton training is very, very competitive in schools

• floppyF Offline
          floppy

Imp75\" post_id=\"2066613\" time=\"1651895524\" user_id=\"2358:

Better to train for less common and more affordable sports ba ........try searching around sure can find.......
          Table tennis and badminton are probably the most affordable sports leh 😂

Less common sports tend to be slightly more expensive some how. Sports that require specialized equipment and apparatus are probably the worst, in terms of amount spent. If you add up 6 years+ of training, competition fees, basic equipment fees, etc, I think the total amount spent on even the most “affordable” sport will shock many people. Do it if you like / enjoy the sport, but don’t do it for the sake of DSA lah.

Team sports are probably the lowest cost, since most don’t require expensive equipment or attire, and can only play in schools or in a club (club membership fee, if any, is another matter).

phtthp\" post_id=\"2066621\" time=\"1651899455\" user_id=\"35251:

How about wushu, because wushu is also a good form of self-defence ?

Or how about Chinese chess training ? Which one better ? play English chess or play Chinese chess ?

Badminton training is very, very competitive in schools
            I think we have to distinguish between joining a sport for fun and joining it for DSA. Actually I sent my son for swimming at 4yo to build up his nasal robustness (he was getting asthmatic) and accidentally stumbled on the world of competitive swimming. By 5 he already know all the strokes and got gold* for all the swimming badges for survival swimming and by 6 he won a bunch of medals in competition. But then when I sat down with him, he told me he did it, not because he loved swimming, but because he wants to make me happy. I stopped the swimming immediately and he was very happy.
            I think most times, we need to stop to check if the kids are doing it, out of their own volition, or out of trying to please us parents. If it is out of their own volition, like my dd with her interest in theatre arts, by all means support their dreams. Otherwise, better to listen to your kids and adapt accordingly.

• iRabbitI Offline
              iRabbit

ChiefKiasu\" post_id=\"2066650\" time=\"1651914817\" user_id=\"3:

I think we have to distinguish between joining a sport for fun and joining it for DSA. Actually I sent my son for swimming at 4yo to build up his nasal robustness (he was getting asthmatic) and accidentally stumbled on the world of competitive swimming. By 5 he already know all the strokes and got gold* for all the swimming badges for survival swimming and by 6 he won a bunch of medals in competition. But then when I sat down with him, he told me he did it, not because he loved swimming, but because he wants to make me happy. I stopped the swimming immediately and he was very happy.
              I think most times, we need to stop to check if the kids are doing it, out of their own volition, or out of trying to please us parents. If it is out of their own volition, like my dd with her interest in theatre arts, by all means support their dreams. Otherwise, better to listen to your kids and adapt accordingly.
              But … but … if my kid makes me happy, I’ll have my ways to make him happy too. Lol

I recall when my kid attended his first MO enrichment, he came home and gabbled non-stop for 5 min on a formula he learned in class to short-cut the answer to a math qn. I knew instantly then he’s into Math.

Roll forward many years later, he’s no longer into this subject but instead will go all out with his sports CCA. In this regard, I’m glad he didn’t enroll into a specialized school then due to this shift of interest later on (not saying specialized sch is no good, just that he’s not suitable for it).

Toomuchlaundry

My girl took table tennis lessons for 5 years and got on the school team. But she wasnt good enough for DSA into the sec school. Then in Sec 1 we asked, u want to try for the school team? She said, Mom, I never liked table tennis. I only did it for you. :moneyflies: :moneyflies:

Turns out she likes volleyball and badminton leh.

• Zeal mummyZ Offline
                  Zeal mummy

iRabbit\" post_id=\"2066652\" time=\"1651916885\" user_id=\"51587:

But … but … if my kid makes me happy, I’ll have my ways to make him happy too. Lol

I recall when my kid attended his first MO enrichment, he came home and gabbled non-stop for 5 min on a formula he learned in class to short-cut the answer to a math qn. I knew instantly then he’s into Math.

Roll forward many years later, he’s no longer into this subject but instead will go all out with his sports CCA. In this regard, I’m glad he didn’t enroll into a specialized school then due to this shift of interest later on (not saying specialized sch is no good, just that he’s not suitable for it).
                  I agree with this view.. my child tries to make me happy and I do the same as well, that’s a good relationship. If we do find out that they have other interests as well, we would pursue those too. Being passionate about your DSA domain is a plus, but it has to be realistic as well. Not all passion are meant for DSA.

aspiring, potential DSA applicants for the domain, Social Innovation (Cedar Girls' Secondary) may read this

https://www.kiasuparents.com/kiasu/forum/viewtopic.php?f=39&t=7176&p=2066697#p2066697

supermummy2010

My girl is interested in DSA visual arts, but not many schools have visual arts DSA and I understand that there is a need to create a portfolio of 10 artworks in order to apply for DSA. Need to find out whether there are good recommendations on any compact Art lessons to create portfolio for the artwork before DSA application ends on 1 Jun 2022?

• AHsDadA Offline
                        AHsDad

supermummy2010\" post_id=\"2067611\" time=\"1652670998\" user_id=\"114322:

My girl is interested in DSA visual arts, but not many schools have visual arts DSA and I understand that there is a need to create a portfolio of 10 artworks in order to apply for DSA. Need to find out whether there are good recommendations on any compact Art lessons to create portfolio for the artwork before DSA application ends on 1 Jun 2022?
                        From experience, my girl tried DSA VA last year but did not get an interview. Her 10pieces just not good enough. She managed to get in the same school (RGS) and eventually into the art club too and still finds herself to be below their standard. Its not only a matter of interests but the experience and talent is the real determining factor by school.

In any case, I believe most art schools would be able to provide assistance on portfolio. My girls are in Sunshine Art Education, have branches in Pasir Ris and Tampines fyi. Do check them out if u in east area. All the best

Getting fed up of having to scroll through the same posts each visit? When you register for an account, you'll always come back to exactly where you were before, and choose to be notified of new replies (either via email, or push notification). You'll also be able to save bookmarks and upvote posts to show your appreciation to other community members.

• 3 / 291