What is wrong with our system?

83 Posts 29 Posters 24.0k Views 1 Watching
      cascada

There are just TOO MANY layers of segregation throughout the entire primary & secondary school life, made compulsory by our education system/experts/schools. It all started many years back with that P3 assessment to make some to study 8 yrs of primary school.

Now, our poor children are subjected to such segregation right to the finest point at such young age. They are then labelled for life according to the layers they were assigned to based on the segregation. How often will they be given a chance to be labelled otherwise? And by that I don’t mean just those labelled as ‘losers’, as I also sometimes wonder if those labelled as ‘winners’ enjoyed what they are going through with the type of training they are receiving to ensure they take the path planned for them by the experts.

Donkey Kong

Well said. I don’t like to ask my kids to study study… then they end up like me, driving smaller car than the BTC. (bo tak che - no study) Then they will blame me…

Scholar friends, who were budding scientists, opted to study politics and economics. Where are their passions? Is scholarship good? How many Singaporeans are famous in the world? Famous means half the Americans or Chinese know him/her.

The 4 great little dragons of Asia: Taiwan has Acer, MSI, TSMC,Gigabyte, Logitech, HTC, Asus, etc. plus all the fruits and veg for NTUC Fairprice. S.Korea has Hyundai, Samsung, LG, Kia, Ssangyong,etc. What we have? Only SIA, Hyflux, Creative? We just lost our CSM. Oh ya, 2 IRs. Their huge companies provide many jobs for the locals.

Actually, we must be very very worried for our kids. What is their future?
        Few of my friends have completed their process of immigration. Some to Australia, some to Canada. How about you?

tamarind

Donkey Kong:
          Thank you for your comments. 😄

But, I am a little lost in Singapore and I don't know what can I help my kid. I noticed many average pple, including BTC (Never study) earning more than me. Friend (O Level) owns a few pubs, driving bigger car, owns few properties. Just look at SME bosses, how many from branded schs and unis?

A good example is SMRT COO, company annual report said he earns 875k p.a. He is NUS Arts grad, with MBA from Phoenix U. Many of my scholar friends, Oxbridge Harvard/Yale grads, don't earn this much. SMRT CEO is about 1.3mil p.a. She is NUS Science grad. Why?

So, branded schools not equal to high salaries. Shall we tell our kids to study or not to study? I guess (may be wrong) we don't be so stressful over kids grades. If they are good, they will make S$1 mil even they are BTC. (never study)

What is your view.
          To the majority of Singaporeans who earn below $5000 a month (our median salary is about $5000), parents will make their kids to study hard to get a degree. Without a degree there is usually a limit to how much the kids can earn. The parents know it very well because they are suffering this fate. The parents do not have millions of dollars in their bank account, and can never afford to send their kids to overseas university. So the only way is to pressurize the kids to study hard to get into local university.

I think those parents who have diploma levels or below, are the ones who push their kids the hardest.

Parents with university degrees, or earn over $10000 a month, are the ones who can afford to say that kids should study because of a thirst for knowledge blah blah blah If the kids cannot make it in Singapore, they can always send the kids overseas.

The above statements are my personal views only, not meant as \"sweeping\" statements. There are always exceptions.

In my case, I know that my son is not academically inclined, I have no hope of him becoming a great scientist. In fact, I am dreaming of him becoming a very popular singer (like Stephanie Sun, Lin Jun Jie, etc) 😉 Or if that fails, he can learn to become a hair stylist like David Gan 😉 Or just join the Singapore army lah (he says he wants to be a soldier). So long as he does not ask me to support him financially, I am happy enough.

tamarind

cascada:
            There are just TOO MANY layers of segregation throughout the entire primary & secondary school life, made compulsory by our education system/experts/schools. It all started many years back with that P3 assessment to make some to study 8 yrs of primary school.

Now, our poor children are subjected to such segregation right to the finest point at such young age. They are then labelled for life according to the layers they were assigned to based on the segregation. How often will they be given a chance to be labelled otherwise? And by that I don't mean just those labelled as 'losers', as I also sometimes wonder if those labelled as 'winners' enjoyed what they are going through with the type of training they are receiving to ensure they take the path planned for them by the experts.

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Albert_Einstein
            Einstein applied directly to the Eidgenössische Polytechnische Schule (ETH) in Zürich, Switzerland. Lacking the requisite Matura certificate, he took an entrance examination, which he failed, although he got exceptional marks in mathematics and physics.

Even Einstein failed exams before. If Einstein were born in Singapore, he would probably be so demoralized, he would end up as a taxi driver.

skunk

There is nothing seriously wrong with our system. All systems have imperfections and flaws, but if u wanna consider \"serious flaws\", there are none.

By virtue that all academic studies require an examination, there will exist people who prefer to ace it by mugging or rote-learning, rather than through actual knowledge-acquisation. Society will weed out these losers later in life 🙂

By virtue that all systems have rules, regulations and boundaries, means there will be some level of restriction of creativity, expression and flexibility. Some people will fall through the cracks. It's just too bad. Get your own personal teacher then.

Yes, we have to fix the minor flaws and problems, like all systems. But fixing them may/may not get us a Bill Gates or Einstein. By the fact that they are geniuses, people who lie outside of normal statistical curves, means that conventional systems and thinking do not apply to them. Even for those people who routinely over-perform in society, those who rise above their circumstances, are people with extraordinary strength and willpower, not necessarily the academically smart, nor even the most creative. Creativity alone is useless. Single traits alone will not get anyone anywhere, we need to cultivate whole people.

By the fact that our population is so small, resources so limited, means even if we improve our system by leaps and bounds, statistically, we're disadvantaged already, if we want to produce an earth-shaking genius.

Don't blame everything on the system. WE make up the system. Want to blame, blame ourselves.

Donkey Kong

Take NUS/NTU local Us for example. The undergraduate course also greatly divided. There are so many patterns.

Universities Scholars Programme (Top 1%)
                NUS-XYZ Unis Direct Masters Programme (Top x%)
                Original NUS Bachelor Programme
                Double Majors Programme
                Double Minors Programme
                Double Degree programme
                Other programmes

A simple undergraduate programme becomes so complicated. So the elites are not just filtered out by the classes of degree (i.e. 1st, 2ndU/2ndL, 3rd, Merit, Pass). So many classification until very confusing. :?

I think I will send my kids overseas for just plain degree. So complex for wat? Still NUS degrees. :lol:

KSP

In today’s market, what the employers look at when hiring professional? PAPER first then experience. Just think if your child does not have the paper, he/she won’t even have a chance to be interviewed. Unless you don’t mind them still taking pocket money from you when they are in their 20s-30s and also you still have that kind of money during your age at that time. Even if you have but what happen if we are gone one day? The child still need to be independent one day.

Getting a piece decent paper is definitely not something creative nowadays but is something sensible so that they can be independent and earn a decent living when we as parents can no longer support them one day.

Just ask around how parents wish their kids to be dropout from schools and hope (or bet it so big) their kids can be Bill Gate or Steve Job one day?

Even we as parents are not risk takers what more about our kids?

sleepy

tamarind:
                    Even Einstein failed exams before. If Einstein were born in Singapore, he would probably be so demoralized, he would end up as a taxi driver.

Donkey Kong

tamarind:
                      Donkey Kong:

Thank you for your comments. 😄

What is your view.

To the majority of Singaporeans who earn below $5000 a month (our median salary is about $5000),
                      I think those parents who have diploma levels or below, are the ones who push their kids the hardest.

I think majority of Singaporeans earn more than $5k. Looking at those around me, the lowest paid guy is a diploma holder, earning 8-9k. He is driving a big Honda. The rest are above 10k. I am the lowest paid. 😢

Went to VW showroom at Lengkee, so many young pple signing contracts. The cheapest VW Polo is about 70k. Those youngsters are signing up for Golf. about 100k. :? Look around, many non-graduates driving bigger cars than graduates.

Those business owners can make more $ than graduates. :celebrate: Private sector also pay a lot for non-graduates if they can work. :celebrate:

KSP

I don’t think we should judge how rich or poor Singaporeans are by the people we know.

If we walk around the pasar malam night market. There are so many stall owners standing the whole night just to make the few hundred dollars and that is before deducting the overheads. Are Singaporeans rich or poor?

If we walk around chinatown at night we can see so many homeless sleeping on the benches? Are Singaporeans rich or poor?

If there are so many Singaporeans willing to throw $100 away just to get into the casino and that is excluding the money they might lose later on. Are Singaporeans rich or poor?

Getting fed up of having to scroll through the same posts each visit? When you register for an account, you'll always come back to exactly where you were before, and choose to be notified of new replies (either via email, or push notification). You'll also be able to save bookmarks and upvote posts to show your appreciation to other community members.

• 3 / 9