Integrated Programme (IP)
Cut and paste from MOE website :
EDUN N25-02-004
30 Dec 2002
MOE Approves the Introduction of Integrated Programmes in Four Schools
1 RAdm (NS) Teo Chee Hean, Minister for Education, announced at the fifth Principals' Appointment Ceremony on 30 Dec 2002 that the Ministry of Education has approved the introduction of the Integrated Programme in four schools, viz. the Raffles and Hwa Chong families of schools, National Junior College and Anglo-Chinese School (Independent).
2 The introduction of Integrated Programmes will increase diversity and add choice to Singapore's education system. The Integrated Programme, which allows secondary students to proceed to Junior College without taking the 'O' levels, caters to those who can benefit from a less structured Upper Secondary / Junior College programme. The hallmark of the Integrated Programmes should be innovation and the provision of a holistic education.
3 In assessing the merits of the proposals submitted by these schools, the Ministry considered favourably features of the Integrated Programme that will allow the schools to continue reflecting the key strengths of Singapore's education system and that go beyond preparing their students to meet the requirements for the 'A' level examination and graduation from JC. In particular, the schools must provide students with a broad-based education that develops their capacities for creative and critical thinking and optimises the use of the students' time to provide them with opportunities to develop their leadership, teamwork and communication skills.
4 The Integrated Programme schools can set their own criteria for admission of students as long as the criteria are merit-based and transparent. The implementation of Integrated Programmes should not reduce access to our top institutions for deserving students. There will continue to be opportunities for students, including those from non-affiliated schools, to join these Integrated Programme schools at the different entry points.
5 The Integrated Programme schools are expected to start enrolling students for Integrated Programmes from 2004.
Background
6 The Integrated Programme is one of the key recommendations of the Junior College/Upper Secondary Education Review Committee. The Committee has assessed that students who are clearly university-bound may not need to take the 'O' levels. They can better spend the last four years of their upper secondary / junior college education, from Secondary 3 to JC 2, engaging in broader learning experiences. Therefore, the Committee has recommended that some schools which are ready should offer an Integrated Programme that provides a seamless upper secondary and JC education where secondary students can proceed to JC without the need to take the 'O' level examinations. -
Apek lau liao, so eyes a bit blur-blur liao lah
Isn't this line what you are looking for?VitoRelax:
But I cannot find in this link that actually says when the first 6 yr IP program was started leh ?
The IP will be offered at the following schools/JCs from 2004 leading to their respective pre-university qualifications.
Thanks for pointing out ... -
No problem, maid understands that Apek is Apek, just found another similar article :
SPEECH BY RADM TEO CHEE HEAN, MINISTER FOR EDUCATION AND SECOND MINISTER FOR DEFENCE AT THE APPOINTMENT CEREMONY FOR PRINCIPALS ON MONDAY, 30 DEC 2002 AT 3PM, ISLAND BALLROOM, SHANGRI-LA HOTEL
Distinguished guests, principals, ladies and gentlemen,
INTRODUCTION
1. I am delighted to join you this afternoon at the 5th Appointment Ceremony for Principals. My warmest congratulations to the 61 principals who are appointed today. For the newly appointed principals, this occasion marks a new milestone in your career as educators, as we formally entrust you with the stewardship of a school. For the incumbent principals, this ceremony is just as significant. It is a re-affirmation of our confidence and trust in your ability to lead a school, and a reminder of the responsibilities of your mandate. Whether you are an experienced or a newly appointed principal, you have every reason to be proud of your appointment, for all of you have gone through a rigorous selection process and proven your mettle in many ways.
GREATER DIVERSITY AND CHOICE
2. In a few days' time, the new school year will begin. The children who enter Primary 1 will remain in our education system for at least the next 10 to 12 years. What world will these children be facing when they leave their secondary and post-secondary institutes? If we go back in time and look at the world 12 years ago - when the Soviet Union existed and the World Wide Web did not - we will realise how much the world can change when one cohort of students passes through our hands.
3. How should we prepare our pupils for life and work in this complex and rapidly changing environment? We know that we will not be able to prepare pupils for specific jobs, for we can no longer predict with confidence what jobs will be there in the future. We also know that if we focus only on a narrow domain of pupils' development, we will limit their chances of success in capitalising on the opportunities available. In a future driven by innovation and characterised by continuous change, there is no single formula for preparing our young for success. The best preparation we can give our children is to provide them with a balanced and well-rounded education, one that offers adequate diversity and choice to cater to their different interests and talents, and that will equip them with essential skills and sound values.
Integrated Programmes
4. This is the philosophy that has guided the JC and Upper Secondary Education Review Committee. The decision to broaden the curriculum will provide all JC students with a more balanced and well-rounded education. The introduction of Integrated Programmes adds diversity and choice to our system. Students can opt for schools that offer an Integrated Programme, or for schools that offer a more structured programme, depending on whether they can benefit from a less structured Upper Secondary / JC programme or are likely to do better in a programme that is more structured.
5. The Raffles and Hwa Chong families of schools, NJC and ACS(I) have submitted proposals to offer Integrated Programmes. MOE has studied their proposals and I am pleased to announce that the Ministry has approved the introduction of Integrated Programmes in these schools. To ensure that the Integrated Programmes retain the key strengths of our education system and maximise the opportunities offered by an integrated upper secondary and JC education, Integrated Programmes are required to meet certain guidelines.
6. First, the schools must leverage on the programme to provide students with a broad-based education that develops their capacities for creative and critical thinking, and hones their skills in teamwork and communication. The hallmark of the Integrated Programmes should be innovation and a holistic education. Schools that offer Integrated Programmes must therefore use the time that is freed up to provide students with an educational experience that goes beyond preparing their students to meet the requirements for the 'A' level examination and graduation from JC.
7. In addition, the implementation of Integrated Programmes should not reduce access to our top institutions for deserving students. There will continue to be opportunities for students including those from non-affiliated schools to join these Integrated Programme schools at the different entry points. Schools that offer Integrated Programmes can set their own criteria for admission of students as long as the criteria are merit-based and transparent.
8. MOE will work with the schools on the implementation issues. We expect these schools to start enrolling students for Integrated Programmes from 2004. -
Paiseh, but this refers to the 4 yr IP, right ? From 2004, they start 4 yr IP, so when they start 6 yr IP ?
Isn't this line what you are looking for?VitoRelax:
But I cannot find in this link that actually says when the first 6 yr IP program was started leh ?
The IP will be offered at the following schools/JCs from 2004 leading to their respective pre-university qualifications.
But 6yr IP when start ?
Cut & Paste from MOE website:
Integrated Programme
While the โOโ Levels serve as a valuable intermediate benchmark for the majority of our students, those who are clearly university-bound can benefit from spending the last 4 years of their upper secondary / junior college education from Sec3 to JC 2 engaging in broader learning experiences. The Integrated Programmes (IP)will provide an integrated upper secondary and JC education where secondary school students can proceed to JC without taking the โOโ Level Examinations.Schools offering IP will optimise the time freed up from preparing for the โOโ Levels to stretch students and provide greater breadth in the academic and non-academic curriculum. However, these schools will continue to have school-based assessments to measure studentsโ progress. The IP will be offered at the following schools/JCs from 2004 leading to their respective pre-university qualifications: -
If based on my cousin's experience, then should be 2004, right? He started Sec 1 in 2004 and finished his As last year.
Now this Apek is making the maid very confused! :?
This is what I think, RI and HCI started their IP in 2004, but in 2004 and it applied to those who are already in the school then, meaning the Sec 2s and Sec 3s in 2004 were also affected by the IP. They definitely could not offer the 4-year IP to those who were in Sec 4 in 2004, so I figured that they started the 4-year IP for those in Sec 3 in 2004 and the 6-year IP for those in Sec 1 in 2004. Hope I am making sense here. -
If based on my cousin's experience, then should be 2004, right? He started Sec 1 in 2004 and finished his As last year.
Yes, should be right. So, the first batch 6 yr IP is waiting for A Level result lah ? So, we will soon know whether the 6 yr IP is a success or failure ?
[quote]Now this Apek is making the maid very confused! :? [/quote]Boh pian lah because this apek is already very very confused ...

[quote]This is what I think, RI and HCI started their IP in 2004, but in 2004 and it applied to those who are already in the school then, meaning the Sec 2s and Sec 3s in 2004 were also affected by the IP. They definitely could not offer the 4-year IP to those who were in Sec 4 in 2004, so I figured that they started the 4-year IP for those in Sec 3 in 2004 and the 6-year IP for those in Sec 1 in 2004. Hope I am making sense here.[/quote]yes, maid makes sense. It is the MOE website that make me confuse mah, it keep on saying 4 years from Sec 3 to JC2 mah.
Sorry for the confusion. :oops: :oops: :oops:
From your experience then should be correct lah. -
Ok another of apek's confusion for maid to answer:
For the batch of student doing 6 yr IP, if in 2009, they were in Year4. So now in 2010 should be in Year5, right ?
So now this batch in 2010:
a) they start Year 5 later waiting for their counterparts from O Levels joining them OR
b) they start first, then those coming from O Levels gotta catch up OR
c) both sets of students are taught differently ?
Thanks -
Apek, sorry lah, cannot answer this question, but this is what I think, not sure if I am correct :Ok another of apek's confusion for maid to answer:
For the batch of student doing 6 yr IP, if in 2009, they were in Year4. So now in 2010 should be in Year5, right ?
a) they start Year 5 later waiting for their counterparts from O Levels joining them OR
Thanks
For JCs like RI and HCI who take in O level students apart from their own IP students, I believe lessons have not started for the Year 5 or JC1 as commonly known. This is my belief, but I could be wrong.
For schools like DHS and RV who DO NOT take in O level students, lessons have already started for their Year 5 students or JC1 as commonly known. I remember reading in the O level result thread that DHS and RV are not participating in the O level JC posting exercise, because they DO NOT take in students outside their own IP. -
Must raise the pay of this maid liao, very clever maid, job well done ....
Apek, sorry lah, cannot answer this question, but this is what I think, not sure if I am correct :VitoRelax:
Ok another of apek's confusion for maid to answer:
Thanks
For JCs like RI and HCI who take in O level students apart from their own IP students, I believe lessons have not started for the Year 5 or JC1 as commonly known. This is my belief, but I could be wrong.
For schools like DHS and RV who DO NOT take in O level students, lessons have already started for their Year 5 students or JC1 as commonly known. I remember reading in the O level result thread that DHS and RV are not participating in the O level JC posting exercise, because they DO NOT take in students outside their own IP.
So, those schools that take in O Levels students like RI & HCI, their present JC1 (IP based students) students got extra holiday lah ?
So, those in DHS & RV got extra edge for starting earlier lah ?
Thank you ... -
Ooi, Apek, don't anyhow say that this maid is very clever, okay, I am just guessing that RI and HCI have not started lessons for their Year 5, and I did say I COULD BE WRONG :oops: :oops: !Must raise the pay of this maid liao, very clever maid, job well done ....
So, those schools that take in O Levels students like RI & HCI, their present JC1 (IP based students) students got extra holiday lah ?VitoRelax:
Again, I could be wrong here, okay! :oops: :oops:So, those in DHS & RV got extra edge for starting earlier lah ?
Thank you ...
Getting fed up of having to scroll through the same posts each visit? When you register for an account, you'll always come back to exactly where you were before, and choose to be notified of new replies (either via email, or push notification). You'll also be able to save bookmarks and upvote posts to show your appreciation to other community members.