All About KiasuParents.com Founders

105 Posts 27 Posters 30.4k Views 1 Watching
    • tankeeT Offline
      tankee

Sun_2010:

Do and you can maybe auction the picture -

afterall u need to get back the KPs u spend yesterday šŸ˜„

Or ask anyone interested to transfer 100 ksp to you. Imagine the potential

21,000 X 100 ksp = 2.1MM

Got 21,000 mummies interested to see Chief :!: :!:

• MMMM Offline
        MMM

[quote=\"Sun_2010\"]Do and you can maybe auction the picture -

afterall u need to get back the KPs u spend yesterday šŸ˜„

Or ask anyone interested to transfer 100 ksp to you. Imagine the potential

21,000 X 100 ksp = 2.1MM

Got 21,000 mummies interested to see Chief :!: :!:[/quote]Oops... that will be 21000 mummies and daddies.... I am not sure if CKS is excited about that.....

ksi,

See eyes only.... I see so many eyes until I have cross eye now..... I gave up after a while.

• tankeeT Offline
          tankee

Oops... that will be 21000 mummies and daddies.... I am not sure if CKS is excited about that.....

ksi,

See eyes only.... I see so many eyes until I have cross eye now..... I gave up after a while.

i think the daddies will only be interested in Mrs Chief šŸ˜‰ :siam:

joking šŸ˜‰

• dimsumD Offline
            dimsum

If I am not wrong in the Facebook his name is under Kiasuparent page :?

Search for that
            Thank you LKVM for the great hint!! Saw the pic!

• dimsumD Offline
              dimsum

Waah, we got our own insider researcher wor. šŸ˜“
              Thanks for sharing with us dimsum! I like the last part
              of the article...

Toh is not taking any chances -- he is already sending his daughter to enrichment classes in preparation for primary school.
              You are welcome! Yah, the last sentence brought a smile to my face. :lol:

CKStoHimself: Oi Boss... a lot of people want to see u you know.

HimselftoCKS: Sure anot? I so good looking meh? Can go be like Jacky Chan sell strong hair shampoo anot?
                CKStoHimself: Err.. think better not... got balding patch lah... scare away people oni.
                HimselftoCKS: Sigh... yuh lor... comes from yakking too much on KiasuParents.com. Better take down picture on facebook already, or maybe change it to Jacky Chan's one šŸ™‚

i think the daddies will only be interested in Mrs Chief šŸ˜‰ :siam:

joking šŸ˜‰
                  No joke... Mrs CKS is a man-killer... one look and we all die. šŸ˜‰

Chief a little bit :siao: these few days, keep talking to himself! :lol:

Best way to solve all the speculation about how the swaying penguin looks like in real life is to post an updated picutre to satisfy our curiosity! :celebrate:

OK... to satisfy the curious, here's a bit on the history of KiasuParents.com.

KiasuParents.com was started in early September 2007, partly as a joke, but mostly for fun. I was having kopi with a colleague in Junction 8 one day, wondering about life and sex in the city in general :scratchhead: , when I found out that this unassuming young daddy was really quite the kiasu parent. I mean, what do you call a guy who looks malnourished (aka. phantom), and yet doesn't bat an eyelid when it comes to splurging hundreds of dollars a month to send his less than a year old kid to Shichida, one of Singapore's best known brain-training (or brain-warping, depending on which shoe you put on first today).

\"Walao... why u so kiasu? How u know it's even effective?\" I enquired politely. Come on, I haven't even heard of Shichida at that time. He rolled up his eyes :roll: , shook his head sadly at the kiasu-uninitiated me, and started to patiently explain to me deep pedagogical aspects and importance of right-brain training for kids as young as 3 months old. I didn't catch most of what he said because I was busily doing mental math calculating how much he must have spent on this right-brain training thing in the last year, but it had something to do with how newborn babies have sponge-like brain power and can absorb and remember visual information without actual comprehension.

I didn't have the heart to tell him that I was kind of like the newborn baby he was describing as I listened to him, so I changed the subject and asked him how he found out about Shicida. After another round of eye-rolling :roll: , he admitted he heard about it from his wife who heard it from some other kiasu parent friends' of hers. Apparently, kiasu-parentness in Singapore is a live, pulsating, far-reaching, deeply-rooted underground mesh of grapevines that is open only to those who dare to look for it. :shock:

Wow... I thought to myself... I better start getting into this kiasu business with my own kids, lest they lose out to other kids 😐 . So like everyone else, I searched the all knowing Internet for secrets to the dark arts of kiasu parenting... and came up with exactly... nothing. OK, not exactly nothing, I mean, I did find lots of parenting sites, but mostly frequented by members of the gentler sex, and loaded with lots of details of breast-feeding, recommended diapers brands, complaints about childcare services, etc. It seemed like parenting is supposed to end after baby turns 7 years old.

So, to cut a long story short, me and that kiasu daddy friend of mine decided that it was time that Singapore comes clean about kiasu parenting. Parenting is NOT just mummy's domain - we daddies have an equal say in how we want to bring up our kids too. And parenting actually gets more and more difficult as baby grows up. The complexities of the Primary School Registration Exercise - the first gate that our kids have to \"pass\" - is enough to confound the brightest of the scholars amongst us, and make the bravest of our warriors wobble like jelly as they wait in the balloting room, their fate depending entirely on the Brownian movement of ping pong balls within the ballot boxes.

Being the techno-geeks we are, we invited another friend of ours (a mummy this time, aka mintcc) to join us and make up for our lack of aesthetics in web design. And also to get strategic representation from the mummies camp, in case we get sued for discrimination šŸ™‚ . We quickly launched Kiasu Parents on 3 Sep 2007 (jedamum to note šŸ™‚ ), and painstakingly populated some directory listings of Primary schools, enrichment and childcare services. Our hope is that parents will come and provide their feedback on the different kinds of enrichment services out there by rating and providing reviews, so that we can weed out the bad ones and check out the good ones.

It was a \"roaring\" success. After 3 months of hardwork building up the content from absolute zero, we had a total of... um... 10 members - and we all know each other :faint: . And after 6 months of talking to each other, that number went up to 50 members. But hey, at least we can boast of a growth of \"500%\" in 3 months. šŸ˜‰

But that was when we started to really grow, because we were blessed with an initial core of members that were some of the most articulate, passionate, funny, and most of all, completely unselfish people when it comes to sharing some of their most painful parenting experiences. When people come to KiasuParents.com, they don't get advise from experts with doctorates. They get it from people who have been through the same experiences themselves. How do you beat that? Those that benefited didn't just leave after getting their advice, they stayed on to provide other newcomers more advice and help.

So KiasuParents.com grew primarily through the word of mouth - parents will recommend us to their friends and relatives, teachers and principals will recommend us to parents, and even students would recommend their friends to come and post maths or science problems they have problems with. We reached our 10,000th member milestone on 15 Aug 2009, almost 2 years after we started completely from nothing, and we passed 20,000 members 8 months later on 13 Apr 2010. Thanks to the recent Primary School Registration Exercise, we have now over 26K members.

It has been a really satisfying journey so far. We feel good when we see people getting their answers and comfort from other parents in the Forums, and we have made so many friends online and learnt so much from each other. KiasuParents.com has a balancing effect - those that started out not kiasu becomes a little bit more concerned, and those that started out very kiasu becomes less as they find out from others how to manage their families and children through their early childhood education without being too extreme.

We are grateful and we want to continue to provide and receive such tremendous support from parents in Singapore!

schweppes

:thankyou: Chief, Phantom and Mintcc for starting this wonderful site for parents to share and bond. And whilst I may not be an active contributor, have definitely been an active silent reader (lurker?) ever since I joined the community.

Thanks to the generous spirit of everyone here, I have gained much and learned a lot from everyone' sharing. :love:

Kudos to the pioneering team!! :salute:

:udawoman: :udaman:

:lovesite:

Getting fed up of having to scroll through the same posts each visit? When you register for an account, you'll always come back to exactly where you were before, and choose to be notified of new replies (either via email, or push notification). You'll also be able to save bookmarks and upvote posts to show your appreciation to other community members.

• 5 / 11