Property Views

Scheduled Pinned Locked Moved Money Matters
    2.6k Posts 153 Posters 517.5k Views 1 Watching
    • lee_ylL Offline
      lee_yl

https://www.channelnewsasia.com/singapore/ang-mo-kio-sers-actual-compensation-higher-expected-hdb-3057576

This morning I read about the earlier Ang Mo Kio Ave 3 enbloc saga. Still don’t understand why HDB wants to pay 7.5% higher in compensation. Is it because the residents made noise to HDB earlier?

HDB will be paying more because some flats were assessed to be well renovated. Errrr…. isn’t HDB buying over to tear down? When my private ppty got enbloc in year 2010, nobody cared how well my unit was renovated.

Second reason given for increase in payout is that when SERS was announced in Feb 2022 till now, resale market value has gone up till now, so HDB still needs to adjust the earlier compensation based on Nov resale pricing? When ours got enbloc, it was based on an agreed price, no sweetener later on.

All the extra money comes from our taxes leh. Walao. Very poor handling, no wonder needs to raise GST? Cannot say too much later kena sued.

• Liew Nga WingL Offline
        Liew Nga Wing

lee_yl\" post_id=\"2088362\" time=\"1668039356\" user_id=\"17023:

https://www.channelnewsasia.com/singapore/ang-mo-kio-sers-actual-compensation-higher-expected-hdb-3057576

This morning I read about the earlier Ang Mo Kio Ave 3 enbloc saga. Still don’t understand why HDB wants to pay 7.5% higher in compensation. Is it because the residents made noise to HDB earlier?

HDB will be paying more because some flats were assessed to be well renovated. Errrr…. isn’t HDB buying over to tear down? When my private ppty got enbloc in year 2010, nobody cared how well my unit was renovated.

Second reason given for increase in payout is that when SERS was announced in Feb 2022 till now, resale market value has gone up till now, so HDB still needs to adjust the earlier compensation based on Nov resale pricing? When ours got enbloc, it was based on an agreed price, no sweetener later on.

All the extra money comes from our taxes leh. Walao. Very poor handling, no wonder needs to raise GST? Cannot say too much later kena sued.
        If I were you, I will be very happy because even though I did not get a good compensation for my enbloc private ppty in 2010, at least now those residents of Ang Mo Kio Ave 3 (usually people stay in HDB are suppose to be relatively poor) are able to get a 7.5% higher in compensation. 朋友, 看开点. 😂

• MrsKiasuM Offline
          MrsKiasu

It seems make noise also good … sometimes.

• lee_ylL Offline
            lee_yl

Liew Nga Wing\" post_id=\"2088369\" time=\"1668043240\" user_id=\"195250:[quote=\"Liew Nga Wing\" post_id=2088369 time=1668043240 user_id=195250]
            If I were you, I will be very happy because even though I did not get a good compensation for my enbloc private ppty in 2010, at least now those residents of Ang Mo Kio Ave 3 (usually people stay in HDB are suppose to be relatively poor) are able to get a 7.5% higher in compensation. 朋友, 看开点. 😂[/quote]
            Aiyo, you missed the point entirely. It’s about the principle and being financially prudent.

I was adequately compensated by my enbloc sale, couldn’t be happier.

If compensation for enbloc needs to consider whether owner renovated their units, then should those staying on high floor get compensated more than those staying on low floor? Those with better views get more payout than those with no views? Enbloc doesn’t work this way. When one buys an old flat with enbloc potential, one has to bear in mind that in the event of enbloc, money spent renovation will not be compensated.

Ultimately, HDB is the landlord and “flat owners” are tenants only.

DH says based on media reports, the AMK residents do not seem satisfied with the 7.5% increase in payout. :slapshead: It’s like HDB 出钱砸自己的脚. Might as well let the lease run for a few more years then take back the flats for free upon expiry of the lease instead of conducting enbloc. Go develop brand new estates like Tengah, the EC there sells like hotcakes anyway. 😂

• lee_ylL Offline
              lee_yl

MrsKiasu\" post_id=\"2088374\" time=\"1668044511\" user_id=\"43981:

It seems make noise also good .. sometimes.
              A crying baby gets more milk. Even baby also knows that. 😄

kaisuism

lee_yl\" post_id=\"2088362\" time=\"1668039356\" user_id=\"17023:

Valuer does not assessed renovation of a unit when it comes to valuation, whether is private or HDB. Then why does HDB did that? :?

• lee_ylL Offline
                  lee_yl

kaisuism\" post_id=\"2088536\" time=\"1668156149\" user_id=\"199574:

Valuer does not assessed renovation of a unit when it comes to valuation, whether is private or HDB. Then why does HDB did that? :?
                  For private en-bloc it’s not the practice, after all the unit is bought to be torn down.

Not sure why HDB wants to consider the quality of renovation, may be to have an excuse to increase the compensation quantum in view of the complaints by the affected residents?

Sounds weird to use tax payers’ money to pay for extensive renovations enjoyed by individual unit owners

kaisuism

lee_yl\" post_id=\"2088585\" time=\"1668217577\" user_id=\"17023:

For private en-bloc it’s not the practice, after all the unit is bought to be torn down.

Not sure why HDB wants to consider the quality of renovation, may be to have an excuse to increase the compensation quantum in view of the complaints by the affected residents?

Sounds weird to use tax payers’ money to pay for extensive renovations enjoyed by individual unit owners
                    Another question is, I went to look at the master plan and the land use is still under residential. The land area seems \"under utilised\" for just a few blocks. And easy to get rid of since only 4 blocks of residents. With its proximity to Tavistock MRT, your guess is as good as mine what the government intends to do with it.

• doodbugD Offline
                      doodbug

What is everyone’s views on the interest rates? Will it ease further? And if it eases, will it cause the property market to further trend upwards?

• starlight1968sgS Offline
                        starlight1968sg

doodbug\" post_id=\"2096121\" time=\"1674888344\" user_id=\"13281:

What is everyone's views on the interest rates? Will it ease further? And if it eases, will it cause the property market to further trend upwards?
                        Pple said all goes in cycles ie with ups and downs.
                        Interest rates go up then down. But I see ppty prices are forever climbing.

Getting fed up of having to scroll through the same posts each visit? When you register for an account, you'll always come back to exactly where you were before, and choose to be notified of new replies (either via email, or push notification). You'll also be able to save bookmarks and upvote posts to show your appreciation to other community members.

• 246 / 260