2011 PSLE Discussions and Strategy
Leanne:
Yah lor - still waiting for her to post. ;DHi Phankao,
I just schroll back all the post,I think you are referring to chenonceau 's compo book. -
Solly solly... Coming. Be warned though... It is horribly difficult and super tedious. And the book itself won't help unless the kid is really committed to plough through it. It helps to keep the feedback loop short. Hear the child recite after every 4 sentences and praise heaps... Then, give the child a crowning victory by getting him to read the compo at the end and when the reading is fluent, as it will be... go over the top in appreciation. This gives the kid enough encouragement to persist. No need to ask kid to recite WHOLE compo. Pass by his table every now and then and hug ... Pick up random phrases as you pass and ask for explanation... Then look impressed that he actually knows.
Yah lor - still waiting for her to post. ;DLeanne:
Hi Phankao,
I just schroll back all the post,I think you are referring to chenonceau 's compo book.
I use other techniques too but these are the more obvious ones. -
hahaha,You finally appeared.
LeanneChenonceau:
Solly solly... Coming.[/quote]
Yah lor - still waiting for her to post. ;Dphankao:
[quote=\"Leanne\"]Hi Phankao,
I just schroll back all the post,I think you are referring to chenonceau 's compo book. -
Book title: 小学生获奖作文大全
Is your son in P5? If so, maybe can try memorizing compo using digital audio tracks+ glossary list+ printed text? My son's compo grades went from 8/20 to 16/20 from November 2010 till now. His teacher can't believe it. He has memorized 19 compos and writes an average of 1 compo in 2 weeks.
I also get grandma to read 3 newspaper articles with him everyday.
Publisher: 安徽文艺出版社 (http://www.awpub.com)
Chief Editor: 闻钟
ISBN: 978-7-5396-3254-4
Year of Publication: 2010年 1月 第1版 -
Wow, I just search from Internet for that book and saw the content... So CHEEM!! How did you ever make your child willingly to memorize those? That is really amazing!
Book title: 小学生获奖作文大全Chenonceau:
Is your son in P5? If so, maybe can try memorizing compo using digital audio tracks+ glossary list+ printed text? My son's compo grades went from 8/20 to 16/20 from November 2010 till now. His teacher can't believe it. He has memorized 19 compos and writes an average of 1 compo in 2 weeks.
Full marks is bonus...can get 14/20 good enough. Any lobang for English ?
wkong:
Wow, I just search from Internet for that book and saw the content... So CHEEM!! How did you ever make your child willingly to memorize those? That is really amazing![/quote]Yah lor... I told you that it was HORRIBLY difficult... and that it took an entire basket of motivation strategies to get off the ground and up in the air. I have an advantage in that I have a PhD in Human Motivation and so I am skilled in the application of motivation strategies. I know which to use... when and how to combine. I wish I could share to help but it's really too complicated. I have shared some of the simpler strategies above. I repeat them here ok?
[quote=\"Chenonceau\"]
Year of Publication: 2010年 1月 第1版Chenonceau:
It's easy to motivate a child when the activity is fun. But many school activities are NOT fun. Motivation strategies become more important when the activity is important and HORRIBLY tedious. In this compo memorizing thingy, even I found it hard to motivate.It helps to keep the feedback loop short. Hear the child recite after every 4 sentences and praise heaps... Then, give the child a crowning victory by getting him to read the compo at the end and when the reading is fluent, as it will be... go over the top in appreciation. This gives the kid enough encouragement to persist. No need to ask kid to recite WHOLE compo. Pass by his table every now and then and hug ... Pick up random phrases as you pass and ask for explanation... Then look impressed that he actually knows. .
Maybe parents can try easier compos... but I don't think the gains in marks will be so large because the gains in vocab will be less. -
I speak and write English... so no need to resort to this HORRIBLE method. He really is very poor thing leh...
Of course, he is happy that he can score so well for compo now. But I still feel \"sim tia\" to see him waste his childhood like this. At least ONE language must be fun so I just let him read a lot in English. He reads PG Wodehouse, TIME, National Geographic, Isaac Asimov... -
Lobang for Eng compo...very very desperate to improve his 1 picture composition.janet_lee88:
I speak and write English... so no need to resort to this HORRIBLE method. I just let him read a lot. He reads PG Wodehouse, TIME, National Geographic, Isaac Asimov... -
Hi Chenonceau, I can't find the book, 小学生获奖作文大全 in the http://www.awpub.com. Where can we get this book from? Does it come with CD too?

Getting fed up of having to scroll through the same posts each visit? When you register for an account, you'll always come back to exactly where you were before, and choose to be notified of new replies (either via email, or push notification). You'll also be able to save bookmarks and upvote posts to show your appreciation to other community members.