Post PSLE blues

Scheduled Pinned Locked Moved Secondary Schools - Selection
    98 Posts 46 Posters 47.2k Views 1 Watching
      MdmKS

stsl:

Last night went with DD to popular to get some sec 1 vocabulary workbooks to practice during holiday.. Got a geography guide book, Chinese idioms book, a literature book etc..
      Wow liao! you very on leh... son said PSLE just over and he needs a break from assessment book. I think he deserves it, and so do I .

:imcool: 休息是为了走更长远的路。。。 :imcool: 休息是为了走更长远的路。。。 :imcool:

:imanisland:

PSLEmom

My DS's Friend's Mother already \"ransacked\" Popular for Secondary 1 books :!: and have already started preparing her DS how to face the next round of challenges :shock:

😛

desichan352

I want to buy some sec 1 books, but dunno whether mum will allow. Now that PSLE is over, very free, so dunno wat to do also…

• O Offline
            octopusmum

the second half of the psle week was v stressful for us cause the whole family came down with conjunctivitis!!! ds has to take his science and hmt in isolation. keeping my fingers crossed that his results are not affected because of this…

now that it is over, i have allowed him to do nothing but play and play…though i did tell him to be mindful of the fact that his brother is taking SA2 in a couple of wks time…
            i have also told him to think about which sec school to apply. thinking of shortlisting some schools based on the different levels of t-scores…
            as for books, do i need to keep for ds2 who is in p3 this year or is it okay to dump all?

octopusmum

jtoh

octopusmum:
              the second half of the psle week was v stressful for us cause the whole family came down with conjunctivitis!!! ds has to take his science and hmt in isolation. keeping my fingers crossed that his results are not affected because of this....

now that it is over, i have allowed him to do nothing but play and play...though i did tell him to be mindful of the fact that his brother is taking SA2 in a couple of wks time...
              i have also told him to think about which sec school to apply. thinking of shortlisting some schools based on the different levels of t-scores....
              as for books, do i need to keep for ds2 who is in p3 this year or is it okay to dump all?

octopusmum
              Yes, you should shortlist some schools based on different t-scores. Do your research now. Attend Open Houses to get a feel of the ambience, culture and CCAs available there.

• O Offline
                octopusmum

R CCas impt in sec school? If yes, in what ways? Tks

prancingpony

My ds is in sec 1 this year. Last December holidays I bought some English, geography and history assessments. English exercises were to be done in the morning for an hour or so everyday and after that the whole day would be his. Result - i think he did 4 or 5 pages and the rest was left undone! the latter 2 i bought to help with his new subjects. didn't use it even! they get notes from school plus the projects and assisgnments were enough to take up their time (and beyond) and not leave any for \"home\" assessments. I now know how different sec school is from primary. Of course, at the end of the day it is also about time management. something my ds is still struggling to get a grasp of. I sure hope he will. :xedfingers: But i did go through history with him by using (apart from his txtbk) the \"Companion Guide to the living past\" by Andrew Major and Lee Si Wei. Publisher Marshall Cavendish. Found the book quite helpful.

Augmum

PSLEmom:
                    My DS's Friend's Mother already \"ransacked\" Popular for Secondary 1 books :!: and have already started preparing her DS how to face the next round of challenges :shock:

😛

:!: come on....let's them have a good break and rest....these few wks 😄
                    as they will be terribly busy when they go secondary 1

James Ang

octopusmum:
                      R CCas impt in sec school? If yes, in what ways? Tks

CCA is very important in Sec school because of the 2 bonus point cut off the L1R5 and L1R4. Without the 2 CCA bonus point cut, the disadvantage can be considerable.

Augmum

deleted…wrong thread

Getting fed up of having to scroll through the same posts each visit? When you register for an account, you'll always come back to exactly where you were before, and choose to be notified of new replies (either via email, or push notification). You'll also be able to save bookmarks and upvote posts to show your appreciation to other community members.

• 5 / 10