DSA 2012

Scheduled Pinned Locked Moved Secondary Schools - Selection
    5.5k Posts 388 Posters 3.2m Views 1 Watching
      Snow Crystal

Lovemama:
      Will RI organise any tea party for CO/WL applicant?

:rahrah:
      πŸ˜† :rotflmao:

• G Offline
        GLORYmum

Snow Crystal:
        GLORYmum:

sometimes it is the famous \"kiasu\" attitude and \" in case\" you dont get your dream school A, you can still secure a confirmed ticket at school B. Sounds familiar aint? you see sometimes a household queuing in two separate lanes side by side when you are not sure which is the fastest lane?

I know what you mean πŸ˜†

But MOE has narrowed the gap- no transfer after PSLE if a kid accepts the school B CO.

So if Sch A is the kid's dream Sch but didn't offer the kid, all the more he shouldn't hog Sch C, D and E COs. He should just decide if he wants to accept School B or give up that offer and use PSLE result to enter Sch A. It's a decision between Sch A and B.

If he gets Sch A offer, his dream school, he should quickly let go of Sch B,C,D,E COs upon receipt of Sch A offer. Again this is a decision between A and B. Why hog C,D and E?

Thus my suggestion on limiting max number of COs/WLs a kid can have πŸ˜‚ πŸ˜„

at time of application, each DC should indicate their preference then the system auto generate lar. difficult for humans to θ‡ͺεŠ¨γ€‚

• 1 Offline
          12am

GLORYmum:
          cluelessmama:

[quote=\"GLORYmum\"]

How will NYGH announce the results? By Mr Postman, email, sms or phone?

飞鸽传书 (by pigeon mail) :rotflmao: :rotflmao:

Even trained pigeons take less than 8 hours to fly from west to east of singapore, including stops to poo and pee.
          :xedfingers: :rotflmao: :rotflmao: πŸ˜†[/quote]Too many CO, no enough pigeons....

leeven

Kiasucy:
            leeven:

Heard from a good friend that RI sending SMS today also so check ure phone i case u r waiting for good news.

Seemed like todays sms are the rej cases for ge. Know of 78.xx% got rej.

No my friends DS got waiting list < 80% and i think 78.++

leeven

Kiasucy:
              leeven:

Heard from a good friend that RI sending SMS today also so check ure phone i case u r waiting for good news.

Seemed like todays sms are the rej cases for ge. Know of 78.xx% got rej.

No my friends DS got waiting list < 80% and i think 78.++

KSmom8

Don't :heresmyfish: me... I like the current system of deciding after the PSLE. I believe that deciding on a secondary school is a joint decision between parents and children. A child's \" dream\" school could be influenced greatly by peer pressure and brand name, where as the parent choice could be based on other factors, including proximity. In the end, a discussion needs to be held and a joint decision be made. I would prefer that this is done after the PSLE, so that it won't disrupt PSLE preparation / revision....which might be MOE's intent.

• G Offline
                  GLORYmum

KSmom8:
                  Don't :heresmyfish: me... I like the current system of deciding after the PSLE. I believe that deciding on a secondary school is a joint decision between parents and children. A child's \" dream\" school could be influenced greatly by peer pressure and brand name, where as the parent choice could be based on other factors, including proximity. In the end, a discussion needs to be held and a joint decision be made. I would prefer that this is done after the PSLE, so that it won't disrupt PSLE preparation / revision....which might be MOE's intent.

Hm... then maybe DSA after PSLE will be more suitable? :yikes:

• phankaoP Offline
                    phankao

sweet mom:
                    Flowermonaster:

[quote=\"sweet mom\"]Anyone apply DSA to catholic high?

Think I saw somewhere in this thread that CHS DSa result out Liao leh. R you waiting, Sweet mom?

Yes, I called the school last week, not release.... can I know where you saw it?[/quote]
                    I also read one parent mentioning altho' I was doubtful bc since when is CHS so efficient. LOL.

In previous years, CHS only gives out COs. Not sure how they handle with current new applications for IP.

Snow Crystal

KSmom8:

No one will :heresmyfish: you, everyone is entitled to own comments here so long as not offensive...

VS IP is only asking the current CO holders to decide whether to accept... Ok lah, to say it more directly, basically some of these COs they are offering could be to certain group of kids who obviously will get multiple COs :evil: I won't get clearer than that. On one hand, they want these cream kids yet on the other hand these kids have high chance of multiple COs... So i think they use acceptance way to sieve out which of these kids are 'collector of COs' and which ones are seriously considering them. We are not sure how they will tie in this acceptance with option exercise after PSLE as this is first year this is practiced. We have yet to understand more details about its whole process but I support VS IP's direction to curb hogging of multiple COs for those who are obviously interested in Sch A and Sch B only but yet hang on to VS IP CO....by giving up the COs by 24 Aug, they are not only giving chance to current WL boys, but may even also to more of your DSs who would have otherwise fallen outside the WL listing. For those DS who view VS IP as their only dream school, this move is in right direction... Well at least makes sense to me.... πŸ˜„

• G Offline
                        GLORYmum

Snow Crystal:
                        KSmom8:

VS IP is only asking the current CO holders to decide whether to accept... Ok lah, to say it more directly, basically some of these COs they are offering could be to certain group of kids who obviously will get multiple COs :evil: I won't get clearer than that. On one hand, they want these cream kids yet on the other hand these kids have high chance of multiple COs... So i think they use acceptance way to sieve out which of these kids are 'collector of COs' and which ones are seriously considering them. We are not sure how they will tie in this acceptance with option exercise after PSLE as this is first year this is practiced. We have yet to understand more details about its whole process but I support VS IP's direction to curb hogging of multiple COs for those who are obviously interested in Sch A and Sch B only but yet hang on to VS IP CO....by giving up the COs by 24 Aug, they are not only giving chance to current WL boys, but may even also to more of your DSs who would have otherwise fallen outside the WL listing. For those DS who view VS IP as their only dream school, this move is in right direction... Well at least makes sense to me.... πŸ˜„

Provided results from their other dreams schools are released by 24 Aug too otherwise some may still be waiting for that other dream school and have a buffer CO from VS to fall back on \" in case \" the CO from that other dream school does not fall through.

I say the most effective way is a concerted effort by all DSA schools to announce results together and demand acceptance by the same date and this date has to be before the closing date for the DSA exercise.

Getting fed up of having to scroll through the same posts each visit? When you register for an account, you'll always come back to exactly where you were before, and choose to be notified of new replies (either via email, or push notification). You'll also be able to save bookmarks and upvote posts to show your appreciation to other community members.

• 324 / 555