DSA 2012
alwaysworried:
emoh:
[quote=\"alwaysworried\"]Hi, I'm new to ksp...need some advice from the expert parents. Between NUSH and SJI,which is a better choice to send my DS. Anyone can share the pros & cons for these 2 schools. Thanks.
NUSH has no major exams which is internationally recognised. Also some worry on the over emphasis on Maths and Science there, thus leading some to think that they are neglecting the Humanities and Languages.
SJI on the other hand would have a reknown broad base holistic education leading to the internationally recognised IB exams. They have an established track record with very strong alumni too.
Thanks emoh![/quote]NUS President, Professor Tan Chorh Chuan is also an old boy of SJI.
http://www.sji.edu.sg/subpage.php?id=340 -
BeContented:
:yikes: You going, really? Not over age meh? Some more one of the schools cannot wear skirt leh. :evil:Rejected - HCI
WL - NUSH
CO - ACSI & RV
HCI was expected tho we did hope
But DS already surprised us cos we thot at most one WL. Thru this exercise, we also kinda gathered where his standard roughly is, so will not allow him to give up his CO & try via PSLE. One of the CO, here I come Kekeke. And DS also has his iPhone wish granted liao, as long as he can get any CO. 
Flowermonaster:
the DS does not wear skirt, right ? so ACSI or RV is fine, can wear shorts or pants
:yikes: You going, really? Not over age meh? Some more one of the schools cannot wear skirt leh. :evil:BeContented:
Rejected - HCI
WL - NUSH
CO - ACSI & RV
But DS already surprised us cos we thot at most one WL. Thru this exercise, we also kinda gathered where his standard roughly is, so will not allow him to give up his CO & try via PSLE. One of the CO, here I come Kekeke. And DS also has his iPhone wish granted liao, as long as he can get any CO. 
the DS does not wear skirt, right ? so ACSI or RV is fine, can wear shorts or pants[/quote]I am referring to BeContended not her DS leh.
:yikes: You going, really? Not over age meh? Some more one of the schools cannot wear skirt leh. :evil:Flowermonaster:
[quote=\"BeContented\"]Rejected - HCI
WL - NUSH
CO - ACSI & RV
emoh:
Hi Alwaysworried,alwaysworried:
Hi, I'm new to ksp...need some advice from the expert parents. Between NUSH and SJI,which is a better choice to send my DS. Anyone can share the pros & cons for these 2 schools. Thanks.
NUSH has no major exams which is internationally recognised. Also some worry on the over emphasis on Maths and Science there, thus leading some to think that they are neglecting the Humanities and Languages.
SJI on the other hand would have a reknown broad base holistic education leading to the internationally recognised IB exams. They have an established track record with very strong alumni too.
I think it's good if you can take a look on the below from NUSHS website regarding their NUSHS Diploma.
This is taken from their school website.
http://www.highsch.nus.edu.sg/content.p ... b525ffdc56
1. What is the graduation qualification when a student graduates from NUS High School and is it recognized by universities worldwide?
The NUS High School Diploma will be the school's graduation qualification. Currently, the Diploma is recognised as an admissible qualification by National University of Singapore, Nanyang Technological University, Singapore Management University, University of Cambridge, University of Oxford, University of Warwick, Kingβs College London, University College London, Yale University, Stanford University, Massachusett Institute of Technology, Cornell University , Dordt College, Lewis-Clark State College, Sweet Briar College, Virginia Military Institute, Washington University St Louis, Wilson College, Edith Cowan University, La Trobe University, Murdoch University, University at Buffalo (State University of New York), University of Georgia, Oklahoma Wesleyan University, University of Maryland. The list will continue as we seek recognition from the top-tier universities in the Australia. -
:yikes: You going, really? Not over age meh? Some more one of the schools cannot wear skirt leh. :evil:[/quote]
the DS does not wear skirt, right ? so ACSI or RV is fine, can wear shorts or pants[/quote]
I am referring to BeContended not her DS leh.
:rotflmao: They have missed the sense of humour of FLOWERMONASTER. -
GLORYmum:
Man lah.
:rotflmao: They have missed the sense of humour of FLOWERMONASTER.
They sometimes dun understand our jokes.
Like we also may not get theirs. :rotflmao: -
BeContented:
Man lah.GLORYmum:
:rotflmao: They have missed the sense of humour of FLOWERMONASTER.
They sometimes dun understand our jokes.
Like we also may not get theirs. :rotflmao:
yaya. :boogie:
You could indicate NUSH as your first choice even if WL and your second choice either ACSI or RV since already COs.
Too many cooks spoil the soup.
:rahrah: :rahrah: :rahrah: -
dagong99:
Hi Alwaysworried,emoh:
[quote=\"alwaysworried\"]Hi, I'm new to ksp...need some advice from the expert parents. Between NUSH and SJI,which is a better choice to send my DS. Anyone can share the pros & cons for these 2 schools. Thanks.
I think it's good if you can take a look on the below from NUSHS website regarding their NUSHS Diploma.
1. What is the graduation qualification when a student graduates from NUS High School and is it recognized by universities worldwide?
The NUS High School Diploma will be the school's graduation qualification. Currently, the Diploma is recognised as an admissible qualification by National University of Singapore, Nanyang Technological University, Singapore Management University, University of Cambridge, University of Oxford, University of Warwick, Kingβs College London, University College London, Yale University, Stanford University, Massachusett Institute of Technology, Cornell University , Dordt College, Lewis-Clark State College, Sweet Briar College, Virginia Military Institute, Washington University St Louis, Wilson College, Edith Cowan University, La Trobe University, Murdoch University, University at Buffalo (State University of New York), University of Georgia, Oklahoma Wesleyan University, University of Maryland. The list will continue as we seek recognition from the top-tier universities in the Australia.[/quote]Hi dagong99,
Thanks for info. Heard that SJI have a holistic educ curriculum which is better than NUSH, not sure if that is true and that social skills plus confidence is critical for our DKs in the future. Seems that most people have impression that NUSH produce kids thot are just academically inclined but lacking in the people skills.
What do you think? Thanks. -
dagong99:
Hi Alwaysworried,emoh:
The NUS High School Diploma will be the school's graduation qualification. Currently, the Diploma is recognised as an admissible qualification by National University of Singapore, Nanyang Technological University, Singapore Management University, University of Cambridge, University of Oxford, University of Warwick, Kingβs College London, University College London, Yale University, Stanford University, Massachusett Institute of Technology, Cornell University , Dordt College, Lewis-Clark State College, Sweet Briar College, Virginia Military Institute, Washington University St Louis, Wilson College, Edith Cowan University, La Trobe University, Murdoch University, University at Buffalo (State University of New York), University of Georgia, Oklahoma Wesleyan University, University of Maryland. The list will continue as we seek recognition from the top-tier universities in the Australia.[/quote]Hi dagong99,
Thanks for info. Heard that SJI have a holistic educ curriculum which is better than NUSH, not sure if that is true and that social skills plus confidence is critical for our DKs in the future. Seems that most people have impression that NUSH produce kids thot are just academically inclined but lacking in the people skills.
What do you think? Thanks.
Getting fed up of having to scroll through the same posts each visit? When you register for an account, you'll always come back to exactly where you were before, and choose to be notified of new replies (either via email, or push notification). You'll also be able to save bookmarks and upvote posts to show your appreciation to other community members.