Bad Teachers

Scheduled Pinned Locked Moved Academic Learning & Enrichment
    131 Posts 51 Posters 59.1k Views 1 Watching
      senseimichael

osim:
      One thing I cannot reconcile is how come teachers are allowed to moonlight as private tutors? When they don't get enough rest, how can they do their job well? I also hear them complaining being overworked by MOE, so how do they have time to give tuition.

Trust me, osim, those overworked teachers have no time to moonlight as private tutors! Many who do so are either ready to throw in the towel (and so preparing themselves to be full-time tutors) or else are seriously wanting to do \"real teaching\" of students who are really interested to learn, for once.
      [quote]Sometimes, I would spend time to read up info to learn and enhance my work proficiency and all these extra time spent was for my actual work , not some moonlighting work.[/quote]Uh...the tuition actually enhances work proficiency, as they are further exposure to different students. Many of these students are more ready to learn than those some of the teachers faced.
      [quote]I think MOE must explicitly disallow teachers from padding their pockets at the expense of giving the children the best in their teaching job.[/quote]The day MOE is prepared to be lynched by kiasu parents who want teachers to tutor their children, sure, they will do that.

• O Offline
        osim

Sorry I beg to differ that teacher giving tuition will help them to teach better. I learned that in NZ, the teachers spent much of their time finding what is the best way to teach the studuents in school, they do research and share their findings with their colleagues. Here in Singapore, the teacher are more into delivering the curriculum dictated by MOE.

How would doing more of the same thing by giving tuition help to better a teacher's skills? You become better only by learning new methods, spend time to reflect on what has been done right or not so right in the class. At the end of the day, the teacher has to better their skill in teaching a CLASS, so how does being proficient in teaching ONE can help? I think that is not a good excuse.

I see the big cars the teachers are driving to school these days, I think they are not doing badly 😄 .

Mdm Koh

Well, like sensei michael has pointed out, if there's no demand there'll be no supply! 😉

senseimichael

osim:

I see the big cars the teachers are driving to school these days, I think they are not doing badly 😄 .
            How many of these cars belong to their husbands, or are paid by them? I certainly did not get the chance to drive big cars when I was in MOE!

SAHM_TAN

senseimichael:
              osim:

How many of these cars belong to their husbands, or are paid by them? I certainly did not get the chance to drive big cars when I was in MOE!

This got me curious, I need to take my mind away fr SA1, heehee.

This morning after my dd1 went into the school gate, I paid more attention to the school car park and the cars inside. heehee.

Before I write down my observations, there are a few things I need to highlight

1. I do not know if trs car are allowed to park in HDB car park or not.
              2. Schools have PVs in the morning so I do not know if some of the cars might belong to them or if PVs can park their cars within school's compound.
              3. There's a section of the car park that I cannot see but that area can maybe park 5 cars or so.
              4. I do not know if any of the cars belong to trs who are mid-career change type. I have heard of pple who resigned fr high paying salary jobs to be trs.
              5. I do not know if the cars belong to junior or senior trs, HODs, P or VP.

The total number of cars I can see is abt 10. Only 1 car was drool worthy the others very normal. The biggest one was WISH, but for me that's a normal car that a 2 income family is able afford with the previous 10 years loan policy.

I don't know much about cars but fr the ones that I can see, nothing that a tr's salary, without additional income, cannot sustain on a 10 years loan basis by a 2 income family.

A school have so many trs, the qty of cars that I saw, I feel very normal if they belong to senior trs, meaning long service and those who are in ST position, P and VP. If they belong to junior trs, well trs' background are very different now, some comes fr well-to-do family and some have rich husbands. LOL.

SAHM_TAN

osim:
                Sorry I beg to differ that teacher giving tuition will help them to teach better. I learned that in NZ, the teachers spent much of their time finding what is the best way to teach the studuents in school, they do research and share their findings with their colleagues. Here in Singapore, the teacher are more into delivering the curriculum dictated by MOE.

How would doing more of the same thing by giving tuition help to better a teacher's skills? You become better only by learning new methods, spend time to reflect on what has been done right or not so right in the class. At the end of the day, the teacher has to better their skill in teaching a CLASS, so how does being proficient in teaching ONE can help? I think that is not a good excuse.

There are studies into how to teach better lah. Recent years have seen changes lah, got STELLAR, PAL, changes in the MT and Eng syllabus, maths model methods, changes to maths syllabus.

Plus there's the MOE fest thingy showcasing initiatives done by the various schools on how to help their students. Some might feel it's wayang wayang show but I think not all wayang lah.

More can still be done and the changes that I want to see are not here yet but progress have been made.

English syllabus has changed greatly…but this thing about Stellar program doesn’t quite sit well. I still prefer the way we were taught English.

Math…learn models. But this model thing is not used in secondary school. In fact, son hardly used models during PSLE.

If teachers are given less non-core stuff, chances are some will have more time to give tuition.

SAHM_TAN

English syllabus has changed greatly...but this thing about Stellar program doesn't quite sit well. I still prefer the way we were taught English.

Math...learn models. But this model thing is not used in secondary school. In fact, son hardly used models during PSLE.

If teachers are given less non-core stuff, chances are some will have more time to give tuition.
                    Must first know the push factor for trs to give tuition before can say for sure if there's more free time trs will give tuition or do something else.

Like with everything else how well STELLAR is executed depends largely on the teachers. I can see the benefits of STELLAR but I need to enforce grammar at home becos we speak Mandarin at home.

Maths model - It's like graphical algebra, so if trs help students to make the connection, it can help to understand algebra. For kids who can understand the problem sums by reading, models can be a bummer but for kids who need help to visualise the problem, models can help kids to \"see\" and work out the solution logically.

Hi SAHM Tan,

If I didn’t read your post wrongly, algebra is NO NO for mid primary. Bcos there are M1 M2 marks allocated for models even if answer is wrong.

Teachers are graded A B C D. Some are contended to be ‘happy D’…ie get monthly salary but soar as a tutor. They don’t care about promotion.

SAHM_TAN

Hi SAHM Tan,

If I didn't read your post wrongly, algebra is NO NO for mid primary. Bcos there are M1 M2 marks allocated for models even if answer is wrong.

Teachers are graded A B C D. Some are contended to be 'happy D'...ie get monthly salary but soar as a tutor. They don't care about promotion.
                        Ya, algebra cannot be used for lower primary but when the time to learn algebra, models can be used to make the transition. But not all kids need that transition. But it's a tool that can be used.

Ya, probably there are trs like that, ok to be below radar. But I'm still interested to know why heehee

Getting fed up of having to scroll through the same posts each visit? When you register for an account, you'll always come back to exactly where you were before, and choose to be notified of new replies (either via email, or push notification). You'll also be able to save bookmarks and upvote posts to show your appreciation to other community members.

• 12 / 14