All about Cakes & Cookies Baking
Will will ... baby steps first .... actually pineapple tarts is my MIL's domaindon't drool lah....start trying to bake, not that difficult,
but of course, no automatic , like the bread maker. :lol:
Dear cake/cookie mates : This is what i have baked during the weekends :dancing:
:drool: -
schweppes:
small steps... small steps...
Schweppes - small stepsbut wait wait ..... baby steps first ....

Autumn - baby steps
qms - foetal steps. :!:
OK I will definitely try it again. Thanks !tamarind:
I used a Philips mixer, and I didn't get the soft peaks, not sure whether it is because I did not beat long enough. I am also trying to decide whether to get a good mixer or not.
I'm using a Philips mixer as well. So far no problems.
Try it again. Chiffon cake is a fussy cake. Even my mum, a super experienced baker had flat cakes too. -
Dear cake/cookie mates : This is what i have baked during the weekends :dancing:
I also prefer the enclosed ones as the pineapple more moist. Do your pastry crack a little after baking? Mine tends to crack. Been experimenting with various proportions and different types of flour but still crack. The ones that don't crack don't have the melt in your mouth consistency.
http://postimage.org/image/1usm7v3qc/ -
keke....., ya, the new cutting board, which i use for rolling out the pastry.
So yum and I can see the new cutting board as well
that's y that day was so hurry to get it.
hi funzAugmum:
I also prefer the enclosed ones as the pineapple more moist. Do your pastry crack a little after baking? Mine tends to crack. Been experimenting with various proportions and different types of flour but still crack. The ones that don't crack don't have the melt in your mouth consistency.
http://postimage.org/image/1usm7v3qc/
:hi5:
the enclosed ones which i baked yesterday, all have finished :lol:
my enclosed ones din crack leh but still melt in the mouth.
just that they are very soft, so they breaks easily when being picked up.
isit becos yr baking time is slightly long ? which results in drying ?? -
Hmm now we understood your hurry
keke....., ya, the new cutting board, which i use for rolling out the pastry.Augmum:
[quote=\"LKVM\"]
So yum and I can see the new cutting board as well
that's y that day was so hurry to get it.
[/quote]actaully i did have a big rolling board but i threw it away when i moved house.silly me.......
last yr, i was using the table top to roll out the pastry, using cling wrap underneath it. -
Dunno leh I baked them for like 15-20mins at about 180 deg. Maybe over ambitious with the pineapple so the crust too thin and during baking the pineapple expanded resulting in cracked crust. Could also be the skill in wrapping the pineapple and rolling the dough thereafter. Noticed that those I wrapped did not crack as much as those that DD did.hi funz
isit becos yr baking time is slightly long ? which results in drying ??
Mine when it is still hot it crumbles easily. But once cooled it's easier to handle.
Just done with my batch of sugee biscuit over the weekend so now on to almond biscuits, next will be pineapple tarts or rather balls. We'll see how it turns out this time. -
i baked them at 170-175 , abt 15 mins, maybe u try lowering the temp.
Dunno leh I baked them for like 15-20mins at about 180 deg. Maybe over ambitious with the pineapple so the crust too thin and during baking the pineapple expanded resulting in cracked crust. Could also be the skill in wrapping the pineapple and rolling the dough thereafter. Noticed that those I wrapped did not crack as much as those that DD did.Augmum:
hi funz
isit becos yr baking time is slightly long ? which results in drying ??
Mine when it is still hot it crumbles easily. But once cooled it's easier to handle.
Just done with my batch of sugee biscuit over the weekend so now on to almond biscuits, next will be pineapple tarts or rather balls. We'll see how it turns out this time.
i think not so much on skill of wrapping, becos all the round ones were made by my gal, dun think she used much skill.....haha
it is much easier to made the round ones,
as for the open-faced ones, after mould cutting, it get stick to the board, very hard to pick them up.
ya, when it is hot, it crumbles easily when i tried to remove from the baking tray, so spoilt quite a few.
but if i were to let them cooled down first, they seem to stick to the baking tray, also hard to remove.
oh...sugee biscuilt, my fav...... :love:
but i din try b4, how is yrs?? taste good ??
Getting fed up of having to scroll through the same posts each visit? When you register for an account, you'll always come back to exactly where you were before, and choose to be notified of new replies (either via email, or push notification). You'll also be able to save bookmarks and upvote posts to show your appreciation to other community members.