In-law problems?

Scheduled Pinned Locked Moved Relationships
    5.3k Posts 331 Posters 1.4m Views 1 Watching
      AuntieKiasi

Hi Mrs Ang,

It's ok if ur MIL spks English to ur dd. Coz ur dd may not even understand her yet.

Mine MIL would speak to me in her dialect, which unfortunately, I don't understand at all!!. :stupid: Coz I am Hokkien & she is Hainanese!!! It is like chicken & duck talking to each other. I get so frustrated :stupid: I just tell her to speak Mandarin at home please.

• O Offline
        orchids

My MIL is uneducated yet can dispense a lot of "道理". She also specializes in 重男轻女 and good at being superstitious. What can the DIL do? Close one eye lor!

Andaiz

just curious...

all these not so nice mils, well, are they

a) the highly educated type with a good job

b) the highly educated type but sahm

c) the \"o\" level, \"a\" level, etc with a good job

d) the \"o\", \"a\" level etc but sahm

f) from rich family so that's why so nasty to others

i notice that some of my friends' mils who are considered highly educated (well in their era esp those who speak english) tend to be a bit more snobbish.
          LOLmum, my MIL is (b) and (f) by marriage to FIL (i.e., rich) so she thinks I'm a gold digger. Che :roll:

orchids:
            My MIL is uneducated yet can dispense a lot of \"道理\".
            Hey, mine also the same leh...always telling people to listen to her. :x :x

• DesertWindD Offline
              DesertWind

My MIL is (d) educated but sahm, never worked a day before in her life. But I will award her a PHD for housekeeping and home-making! She can cook a buffet spread for a party of 20, iron clothes (esp. man's shirt) like what you see at the dept. store, keep a schedule for the washing machine! But no joke being the DIL because I am none of the above so could not meet up to any of her expectations. Glad that she is leaving me alone since I got the maid to help out. Her only grouse is I should cook more for hubby and kid. This I agree but yah, it is among one of the list of many things that I should be doing...

😉

AuntieKiasi

DesertWind:
                My MIL is (d) educated but sahm, never worked a day before in her life. But I will award her a PHD for housekeeping and home-making! She can cook a buffet spread for a party of 20, iron clothes (esp. man's shirt) like what you see at the dept. store, keep a schedule for the washing machine! But no joke being the DIL because I am none of the above so could not meet up to any of her expectations. Glad that she is leaving me alone since I got the maid to help out. Her only grouse is I should cook more for hubby and kid. This I agree but yah, it is among one of the list of many things that I should be doing...

😉
                My MIL same too. Only difference, she talks a lot in front of others. And she cannot carry things that weigh 2kg & above. She would expect ppl to carry it for her. When she starts staying with me, @1st I am the one who does all the stuff. Then she complains that I don't allow her to help out with household chores. So, I said OK lor you want to do you do lor. Then now she complains that she is doing housework. :x :x I do hsework she complains she got nothing to do, I leave some hsework to her, she complain that she has to do the work. :x :x Don't know what to do with her.. :x :x :x :x

The hardest part about that short visit is to put up with her 你听我说…almost all her sentences are peppered with that. The floor in her house can be sticky when it’s just 2 of them…and toilet has an unwashed smell. I think my flat is way much cleaner.

• angelaA Offline
                    angela

orchids:
                    My MIL is uneducated yet can dispense a lot of \"道理\". She also specializes in 重男轻女 and good at being superstitious. What can the DIL do? Close one eye lor!

Hi orchids,

My MIL is just like your MIL. Sometimes, over superstitious. Recently, she so free until always read about 'feng shui' and she can keep telling me that our house is not good according to feng shui. At first, I just listened to her but the more she says, the more you will feel worried. Then I told my hb. My HB is free-thinker, he does not believe one so he just tells me to avoid my MIL.

How to avoid? She is staying with us. If I dun talk to her, she will complain that I give her black face. I dun respect her. Then how?

HI Angela,

It's tough bcos she is staying with you...the best part is your hubby being a free-thinker. So why not ask him to tell his mother not to bring up the feng shui issue. It's always easier for the son to open his mouth.

Just waiting for the old ones to go to US to look after their precious daughter and newborn grandson next yr...it would be great if their stay there is extended and extended...since they are not keen to look after sons' children, then they can look after daughter's children...like cook for them...bearing in mind that son-in-law is angmoh. 😉

AuntieKiasi

orchids:
                        My MIL is uneducated yet can dispense a lot of \"道理\". She also specializes in 重男轻女 and good at being superstitious. What can the DIL do? Close one eye lor!

Wow...u must b very patient lor.

Getting fed up of having to scroll through the same posts each visit? When you register for an account, you'll always come back to exactly where you were before, and choose to be notified of new replies (either via email, or push notification). You'll also be able to save bookmarks and upvote posts to show your appreciation to other community members.

• 222 / 529