In-law problems?
So true, My MIL favours her other grandkids over my DD since they were little. She even \"lost\" my DD once when she took her grandkids out as she was only interested in the other grand daughter. I was furious! She does not even bother to praise my DD for her achievements etc. The problem is that she was the \"controller\" in the family so her husband and kids dare not defy her. Ha ha too bad for her - coz a New Boss is in town! He he he! She loves to tell stories about her friends who have wonderful DILs etc. She behaves like a Matriarch and expects to be waited on hand and foot! She has this uncanny ability to cry/tear on demand! Amazing! Recently, her power has been curbed coz we can't stand her anymore. Only my DH still accommodates her! :xMine here can get Golden Horse and Oscar awards for her ability to wail, cry like turning on a tap...always thinking she knows everything and wanting everyone to listen to her. Never do her part as a grandmother and yet expect grandchildren to know and remember who she is to them.
My son hates it...I don't encourage it but I teach him how to reply her w/out being rude. -
Quintessential Mum:
She loves to tell stories about her friends who have wonderful DILs etc.
Usually, these ppl who HL about how good their DILs are... end up in the worst situations involving their DILs....
My aunt used to HL about her DIL... and now? Her DIL refused to let her see her own grandchildren! So, she has not even met the younger of that DIL's kids. -
24hr-mum:
i feel that sometimes grandmothers are using grandchildren to re-live their motherhood....and deprive the real mothers of a chance to be mothers.
Oooooh... :rubhands:
I love how you put this.
Another angle is actually there are some who want that 2nd chance to
do it right because of all the mistakes they've made in the past with their
own children... they'd be the ones who will tell you, don't do this or better
not... cos last time when XXX was little.... :roll: and the ones who lurrrrve
to say..... haiyah DILs these days dowan to listen wan. :roll:
We have eaten waaaaayyyy more salt than them. Dun listen some more
lah... suit yourself lah... then see wat will happen. :roll: They will ALWAYS
want things done THEIR way. Cheh. :roll: -
Mine here can get Golden Horse and Oscar awards for her ability to wail, cry like turning on a tap...always thinking she knows everything and wanting everyone to listen to her. Never do her part as a grandmother and yet expect grandchildren to know and remember who she is to them. My son hates it...I don't encourage it but I teach him how to reply her w/out being rude.
I know one with the sheer talent to start wayang the minute the son returns.Quintessential Mum:
For me, i dun give a hoot if she praises my children. To hell with that.She does not even bother to praise my DD for her achievements etc.
I personally detest it that she uses my children's anything... you name
it lar... and use it against other DIL or brag to people. The best part is..
she'd make it seem like her achievement.
Worst is when she or FIL uses my children to pit against DIL/BIL's children.
Make comparison..... Belittle..... Judge..... (etc) You know... :roll: To purposely
create rifts between siblings? :siao: Evil.... pure evil.
She protests with how i raise my children and even to the extent of how i
take care of my husband, but she will want to take credit when she sees
i've done things right; that \"she\" never even came close to achieve.
Quintessential Mum:
Mine is the mastermind of schemes. Too much K-dramas. :roll:[The problem is that she was the \"controller\" in the family so her husband and kids dare not defy her.
Quintessential Mum:
Ooooh... i have a different take.[She loves to tell stories about her friends who have wonderful DILs etc.
Mine loves to tell stories about herself....
Yah! You know? About how \"she\" was quite the examplary DIL sent from
heaven to serve her MIL without a hoot or a toot. Just follow and respect.
No questions asked. She claims she was the ultimate DIL. Fooo-yoh! :faint:Quintessential Mum:
Oh well.. :roll:[Only my DH still accommodates her! :x
Doesn't everyone else here hope our children will still accommodate us
when \"our\" time comes? :evil: Circle of life la dis wan i suppose... cannot
be helped... or can it?
my mil is the scary type. when my #1 was a baby, she was the one to go to her when she cries (i got no chance)
she wants to take care of my kids all the time. she wants to pick them from sch bus, or walk them to sch, bath them, hold their hands , when my girl prefers me, she will blackface.
when my kids around she wont go out at all. she thnks the kids are her primary responsibility. if i need to go out wf my kids alone i must lie that i m gg out wif friends or my mum or else she will tag along. n of cos she will blackface me when i m back after the outing. so i always tried to secretly return to my rm. cos really dunno want see her face.
she doesnt know what is gv me 空间. personal space.
when she cook fish, she gives all the fish to my #1
sigh those were the days… -
Quintessential Mum:
Yes, only my dear hubby can tolerate bcos he has not seen her 'ability' to tear/cry on demand. I cannot stand her nonsense and the speed at which her horns appear and disappear when it is between she and me in the kitchen and when hubby walks in :x :x
So true, She has this uncanny ability to cry/tear on demand! Amazing! Recently, her power has been curbed coz we can't stand her anymore. Only my DH still accommodates her! :xjanet_lee88:
Mine here can get Golden Horse and Oscar awards for her ability to wail, cry like turning on a tap...always thinking she knows everything and wanting everyone to listen to her. Never do her part as a grandmother and yet expect grandchildren to know and remember who she is to them.
My son hates it...I don't encourage it but I teach him how to reply her w/out being rude.
Like what Buds mentioned, no need to praise my kids lah...after all, so fake. What I simply detest the most is she thinks she knows EVERYTHING and expect everyone to listen to her endless 'know-alls'. -
My son is going to P5 next year and daughter will be in P1. I’ll be busier then…couldn’t be bothered with their crazy and idiotic antics.
Just a few days ago, hubby’s SIL called hubby to scold him indirectly :x damn shit. Crazy woman called my hubby on his mobile phone, then scolded her hubby loudly, saying that my hubby didn’t attend their wedding 2 years ago…and as such didn’t give her face :x What the bloody fu!@.
Can you believe how damn free and a bloody troublemaker she is ??? My hubby was in Vietnam on a working trip on their wedding day and cannot get out of it. I am also sore because that day is my son’s birthday too…but work is important. Besides, the wedding was 2 years ago…omg to think she is still finding fault now. Told my hubby if she had been a mother now, she would not be so damn free. -
http://www.freesmileys.org/smileys.php Cool down... cool down now... http://www.freesmileys.org/smileys.php
Not a good idea to make your blood boil over such people.
They sure are very free huh? :roll: Dun understand why
they cannot find better things to do. :siao:
How did your hubby take it?
Aniwaes, it's best you do not show any response to it and
risk stooping to her petty level. You're better than that! :hugs:
Mebbe can go out and have ice-cream with the kiddies and chill out.
Try to get it out of your head and most important don't keep that to heart.
She seems to just wanna start something pointless in my opinion. To heck
with that.
I asked hubby if he reminded his brother that he was in Vietnam during that period...he said he did. Asked him could it be because his sister-in-law is too free since they are childless. He told me, 'maybe'. Then added, 'If she is the troublemaker sort of person, even with 2 or 3 kids tugging at her skirt, she will still find chance to create trouble'.
hi janet_lee88,
ur story just reminded me: a few years back, my mil ever told me (many years after i already married) that her own mil, that is my hubby’s grandmother was unhappy that my mum didnt follow certain step of the customary wedding procedure. i was like 'huh, tel me for what? not my fault and somemore so many donkey years still remember.? is she hinting anything??"
pissed me off. trying to say my family is rude is it.
Getting fed up of having to scroll through the same posts each visit? When you register for an account, you'll always come back to exactly where you were before, and choose to be notified of new replies (either via email, or push notification). You'll also be able to save bookmarks and upvote posts to show your appreciation to other community members.