In-law problems?
kids_r_innocent:
Agreed. If they don't meddle in our affairs, I am okay even they r staying next door. However, my MIL will comment everything whenever she came to my place.
It's good for PIL to stay near if they r those harmonious type but otherwise NO, NO!! As for mine, my MIL has to take a bus journey only abt 15 mins but at least luckily she doesnt drive. :evil:ectanz:
I wish I can. Previously, they r staying in west n in order not to stay too near to them, I purposely instigated my hb to apply new flat at north east. But hor, they sell their flat n moved to east, juz 15 mins drive. Sian men! -
My friends used to ask me a question n till now no answer from me yet. Maybe I don’t hv courage to face reality…
Question - wat will u do if yr PIL is getting old n need u to take care of them? -
wa, seems like we ve the same type of mil. mine every monday sure got comment on my kids especially my son. shes always asking me why he so skinny, never eat ar? or why got rashes? U NEVER TAKE CARE PROPERLY ? she's always Y like Y tat, making me so fedup early in the morning. so now, i juz drop my kids at her place den i go off, let her go & question my hubby. best part is she love to say\"i carry him i know he never eat cos he feels so light\"... :rant:
i really cant stand it wen she says i never take care properly. she wants to sound like im a bad/lously mum. for example, now on wkends i feed my son rice instead of porriage. mil insist he should eat porriage cos rice so hard & cannot digest. haiz...i really dun wan to argue with her. i tel my hubby, when its my turn to take care on wkends, pls tel yr mother dun interfer can or not?! -
mummyJune:
Ya, I used to tell the same thing to my hb but my hb will juz say tat this is becos her mum doted on our dd1 n asked me not to bother wat she said....I really feel likewa, seems like we ve the same type of mil. mine every monday sure got comment on my kids especially my son. shes always asking me why he so skinny, never eat ar? or why got rashes? U NEVER TAKE CARE PROPERLY ? she's always Y like Y tat, making me so fedup early in the morning. so now, i juz drop my kids at her place den i go off, let her go & question my hubby. best part is she love to say\"i carry him i know he never eat cos he feels so light\"... :rant:
i really cant stand it wen she says i never take care properly. she wants to sound like im a bad/lously mum. for example, now on wkends i feed my son rice instead of porriage. mil insist he should eat porriage cos rice so hard & cannot digest. haiz...i really dun wan to argue with her. i tel my hubby, when its my turn to take care on wkends, pls tel yr mother dun interfer can or not?!
n :mad:
My hb dare not to retort her mum. Her mum is typical \"dowager\" at hm. -
why don’t u all try putting yr boy or girl in childcare centre? Mayb this can reduce the conflicts. And I think childcare centre can instill better values than w mil. Perhaps this is a better solutions for both. Children can learn and have friends playing with. They are more independent. They are taught how and why, please and cannot, etc. After school, fetch them home directly. No need to face mil after a day’s hardwork. Do you think so?
ectanz:
My SIL believes that ignorance is bliss...and I agree.My friends used to ask me a question n till now no answer from me yet. Maybe I don't hv courage to face reality....
Question - wat will u do if yr PIL is getting old n need u to take care of them?
Don't think the 3 sons will discuss this issue bcos they won't know what to do anyway...they can't even plan a reunion lunch. -
I don’t have PIL but I heard alot from my friends. I also don’t quite understand why they want to meddle in the children’s affairs especially when they’re already grown up. This will make living with them difficult. I always tell my mom not to meddle in my brother’s life else everyone will suffer.
Do you think maybe because the old people are concerned? Perhaps out of concern they unknowingly becomes annoying the hell out of everyone? Seriously clueless, must interview a couple of them. -
peapot:
Maybe they think they know a lot, have a lot of experience in life, can do everything better than the younger generation, so they must have a say in everything. Some may feel insecure, so they still want to have control over the children's lives. If they can let go, then everybody will be happy.I don't have PIL but I heard alot from my friends. I also don't quite understand why they want to meddle in the children's affairs especially when they're already grown up. This will make living with them difficult. I always tell my mom not to meddle in my brother's life else everyone will suffer.
Do you think maybe because the old people are concerned? Perhaps out of concern they unknowingly becomes annoying the hell out of everyone? Seriously clueless, must interview a couple of them. -
sall:
Ya, agreed. My FIL is tat kind of taciturn person. Unless it is extremely serious matter otherwise he will not comment much; on the contrary, my MIL is the one who will make things look bad or she juz exaggerated it.
Maybe they think they know a lot, have a lot of experience in life, can do everything better than the younger generation, so they must have a say in everything. Some may feel insecure, so they still want to have control over the children's lives. If they can let go, then everybody will be happy.peapot:
I don't have PIL but I heard alot from my friends. I also don't quite understand why they want to meddle in the children's affairs especially when they're already grown up. This will make living with them difficult. I always tell my mom not to meddle in my brother's life else everyone will suffer.
Hi All!
I don’t have father-in-law and mother-in-law.
Getting fed up of having to scroll through the same posts each visit? When you register for an account, you'll always come back to exactly where you were before, and choose to be notified of new replies (either via email, or push notification). You'll also be able to save bookmarks and upvote posts to show your appreciation to other community members.