In-law problems?

Scheduled Pinned Locked Moved Relationships
    5.3k Posts 331 Posters 1.4m Views 1 Watching
      northernstar

znzyzyzx:
      Eh, sorry ah, just want to say that I hated it that my mil likes to buy so many clothes for my kids. When i see so many clothes piling in their wardrobe and no chance to be worn, and make the whole place so messy and end up kids wear those few that are always on top of the pile, I get boiling mad , and ended up quarreling with my husband.

So you see, different people , different preference, so , very difficult for mil leh. 😂
      did u try ask your DH to go ask her not to buy too many? cos e clothes mess up the whole place. if not, u need to slowly fold or hang them in your wardrobe to tidy the place yourself...

northernstar

cherrygal:
        Hi northernstar

I know what you mean. No matter what they do now is not appreciated already coz the damage has been done. She never sayang my gal when she was born and only sayang that other baby. After she knew we were not happy, she suddenly kept saying how cute my gal was in front of us. Not the same any more. In fact, that grated on my ears.

:goodpost: i like this : No matter what they do now is not appreciated already coz the damage has been done :rahrah:

She also tried to interfere with how I cook and clean... what car I drive, what house I buy...

last time mine also will interfere with the clothes i let my DD wear and where my DH and i go. she even wanted to bother when we ordered buffet for DD's baby shower.

I managed to get DH to see my concerns (not just those I mentioned, there were more serious ones). I had to read between the lines for him coz men are very duh... my points were very sound and totally reasonable so DH sided with me.

LOLMum

northernstar:

😄 northern star,you are :imcool: . I was expecting a :nunchuk: from you 😉 .

Keep up your :imcool: when dealing with your in laws. Most times if one party (best is both parties) is :imcool: , things like arguments, difference won't get out of hands. 😄

no lah i won't :nunchuk: u... i just wonder why you dun support me 😆

it's hard to keep a calm mind if they keep crossing the boundary which i already set haiz...

Haha, I sure do sound unsupportive. Your info also come in separate Posts leh.

Yes, I am not your mil and didn't do things that irritate you, but you didn't go into the attack mode after reading my post. You still kept your :imcool: which is great. :rubhands: or was my tone to mild? 😆

Anyway, just take it easy when dealing with them. Don't dampen your day. :please:

northernstar

aurorin:
            cherrygal:

I managed to get DH to see my concerns (not just those I mentioned, there were more serious ones). I had to read between the lines for him coz men are very duh... my points were very sound and totally reasonable so DH sided with me.

I think this is very very important. No matter what, get the support of your DH first or else it will always constantly be a struggle. When i talk to DH about his mom, i also try to be as objective and reasonable as possible.. but i also admit to him that sometimes my emotions do get in the way and i may not always be right. Still, it is important for me to have him on my side because in the dynamics of him and his family, when i cant have his support, i feel very isolated and alone. So i seek his understanding about that first....

yes, at least you can see my point and understand how i feel. maybe, cos u are also a woman. i'm an emotional person so i cannot be objective and reasonable. i last time had told him the same thing as you did. then, i also got own family problems, already feel very vexed. but now whenever i complaint, he seemed to forget haiz...

And i explain to him, since he married me and we created our family together, naturally i will feel that his 'allegience' should be with THIS family even if his instinct is to be \"Fair\". But he should also believe me that i do not go out of my way to make things difficult for his mom (family) and go on the defensive for the sake of his parents before hearing what i have to say. So far, that has worked well... he fulfil my emotional needs when i need to vent (so he does the pat pat, sayang, its okie type of thing) and then we get down to serious discussion what the issue is and what WE can do about it. And if it involves going to talk to his parents, that's what he will do. I try not to make it seem like it is HIS problem to talk to his parents by constantly reinforcing the fact that it's OUR family that is being affected.

as i had complaint too many times, he thinks talking to his parents himself is not effective anymore. he suggested thrashin things out but i dun wan as it will cause awkwardness... that's why i'm very fedup and sad that he ended up defending his mom without making me his priority.

Vice versa for my family. Bottom line, me and DH always stand on the same line even if behind closed doors, we need to hammer things out first.

i do not understand why i can stop my own parents when they interfere too much and he cannot do it. is it cos he is too filial? :stupid:

northernstar

Yes, I am not your mil and didn't do things that irritate you, but you didn't go into the attack mode after reading my post. You still kept your :imcool: which is great. :rubhands: or was my tone to mild? 😆

Anyway, just take it easy when dealing with them. Don't dampen your day. :please:
              i dun want to make enemies here :rotflmao: somemore, u seem so encouraging which is great too! it's hard not to deal with them since i have to see them every weekend 🤷

• Z Offline
                znzyzyzx

northernstar:
                znzyzyzx:

Eh, sorry ah, just want to say that I hated it that my mil likes to buy so many clothes for my kids. When i see so many clothes piling in their wardrobe and no chance to be worn, and make the whole place so messy and end up kids wear those few that are always on top of the pile, I get boiling mad , and ended up quarreling with my husband.

So you see, different people , different preference, so , very difficult for mil leh. 😂

did u try ask your DH to go ask her not to buy too many? cos e clothes mess up the whole place. if not, u need to slowly fold or hang them in your wardrobe to tidy the place yourself...

Always ask my husband to tell her not to buy. But my husband worried 伤害his mother 玻璃心.

• Z Offline
                  znzyzyzx

My husband is also super filial, always tell me to 忍,said the old folks 没有多少年left , let them have their way.

northernstar:
                  aurorin:

[quote=\"cherrygal\"]I managed to get DH to see my concerns (not just those I mentioned, there were more serious ones). I had to read between the lines for him coz men are very duh... my points were very sound and totally reasonable so DH sided with me.

I think this is very very important. No matter what, get the support of your DH first or else it will always constantly be a struggle. When i talk to DH about his mom, i also try to be as objective and reasonable as possible.. but i also admit to him that sometimes my emotions do get in the way and i may not always be right. Still, it is important for me to have him on my side because in the dynamics of him and his family, when i cant have his support, i feel very isolated and alone. So i seek his understanding about that first....

yes, at least you can see my point and understand how i feel. maybe, cos u are also a woman. i'm an emotional person so i cannot be objective and reasonable. i last time had told him the same thing as you did. then, i also got own family problems, already feel very vexed. but now whenever i complaint, he seemed to forget haiz...

And i explain to him, since he married me and we created our family together, naturally i will feel that his 'allegience' should be with THIS family even if his instinct is to be \"Fair\". But he should also believe me that i do not go out of my way to make things difficult for his mom (family) and go on the defensive for the sake of his parents before hearing what i have to say. So far, that has worked well... he fulfil my emotional needs when i need to vent (so he does the pat pat, sayang, its okie type of thing) and then we get down to serious discussion what the issue is and what WE can do about it. And if it involves going to talk to his parents, that's what he will do. I try not to make it seem like it is HIS problem to talk to his parents by constantly reinforcing the fact that it's OUR family that is being affected.

as i had complaint too many times, he thinks talking to his parents himself is not effective anymore. he suggested thrashin things out but i dun wan as it will cause awkwardness... that's why i'm very fedup and sad that he ended up defending his mom without making me his priority.

Vice versa for my family. Bottom line, me and DH always stand on the same line even if behind closed doors, we need to hammer things out first.

i do not understand why i can stop my own parents when they interfere too much and he cannot do it. is it cos he is too filial? :stupid:[/quote]

LOLMum

northernstar:

i dun want to make enemies here :rotflmao: somemore, u seem so encouraging which is great too! it's hard not to deal with them since i have to see them every weekend 🤷

me too....but sometimes also :nunchuk: by others but never mind lah.

from your 1st post, i tot it might be they want to ease the separation anxiety and i didnt know your kid is only a few months old until you said so in the next post..... 😄 . just a few months younger than my favourite baby in my condo......so fun to play with.

i can tell you if your kid is one of those who will cry till vomit when you leave, it is :yikes: . can be heartbreaking when you hear her cries and you know you cant go to her. :sad:

i also love to buy things...not just because i love my nieces, nephwews, my kids. my friends' kids....but also because the things are too cute to not buy them kekekek :stompfeet: from my dh....so stop this itch already. 😉

northernstar

znzyzyzx:
                      My husband is also super filial, always tell me to 忍,said the old folks 没有多少年left , let them have their way.
                      my DH keeps asking me to 将心比心... so i guess we are in the same boat... dun u feel upset?

• Z Offline
                        znzyzyzx

northernstar:
                        znzyzyzx:

my DH keeps asking me to 将心比心... so i guess we are in the same boat... dun u feel upset?

I do. But then my husband is a super good husband, and my in laws are nice folks too. But then no matter how nice, also cannot stay together , otherwise i will be very unhappy. So luckily they are in Malaysia, and my fil dont like to leave his house.

Getting fed up of having to scroll through the same posts each visit? When you register for an account, you'll always come back to exactly where you were before, and choose to be notified of new replies (either via email, or push notification). You'll also be able to save bookmarks and upvote posts to show your appreciation to other community members.

• 417 / 529

JHkwJ
                        JHkw