In-law problems?

Scheduled Pinned Locked Moved Relationships
    5.3k Posts 331 Posters 1.4m Views 1 Watching
      Blessedwife

Hi Janet,

Hmm what can I say… I really pity u for having such in laws. May I ask when u complaint to yr hubby about them what did he say? Did he also agree with you ?

Can you just ignore their requests or die die need to accede to them?

Ok for me my in laws are ok. Over the years I have come to know their pattern and I also act along with them. I do not show them faces non being rude to them because I am very thankful to my in-laws for bringing up a good son (my hubby) for me.

Without them, I won’t have such a good husband. With this in mind, I can tolerate them. Well, they are not difficult to please either.

My mil and sil always commented I have good taste with my dressing and they like almost everything I buy for them. Yes, I do buy many bags (LV and coach) and Crabtree lotions and perfume etc for my mil and she is most happy when she received them. As for my sil, I only buy dresses and bags and shoes for her cutie little daughter. All are very happy.

I know by doing all these I will make my hubby very happy.

Actually I just don’t like his family side to take advantage of him very often like whenever his family side got any lunch or dinner gatherings my hubby is the one to pay. Also, every year they will hold a big birthday celebrations for his grandma in big restaurant and he as a grandson also needs to pay for the whole banquet. I wonder why his dad and uncles aunties don’t pay? Imagine his household is so big and his grandma got so many sons and daughters but non pays for it.

Ok they may think that my hubby earns the most among the family but shouldnt all chip in to pay?

This is my only complaint against his family else all of them are quite good to me. Whenever my in laws come to pay us a visit, they will buy my fave coffee (3 in 1) and many tibbits for my son and also toilet paper and washing detergent for us coz my mil said its on sale so she buy for us.

Pinky Piglet

Hi blessedwife

Not everyone can afford to buy coach or LV bag for in laws ( no offence)
        Maybe you are one of the lucky ones who do not has any issue with in laws

Blessedwife

Hi pinky piglet,

Yes I know I am not offended 🙂

Without my hubby, I won't be able to buy those branded too.
          I can understand.

I am just a blessed wife 🙂

Hope all mummies here have a great weekends !!

When I complained to him about his mother earlier, he got unhappy. Blood thicker than water mah. Good lah, now his father keeps calling him for money until he got fed-up. His wife, yours truly here, doesn’t call him during office hours unless it is urgent.

I couldn’t be bothered with them. They eat economy rice everyday and wash the styrofoam boxes to reuse. Like those construction workers…eat rice with minimal side dishes so as to save the money for cigarettes and beer.

Hubby also gave up on them. He advised his mother to cut down on smoking and she told him, ‘I rather die than cut down smoking’. Ok lor, if that is what she wants.

Blessedwife

When I complained to him about his mother earlier, he got unhappy. Blood thicker than water mah. Good lah, now his father keeps calling him for money until he got fed-up. His wife, yours truly here, doesn't call him during office hours unless it is urgent.

I couldn't be bothered with them. They eat economy rice everyday and wash the styrofoam boxes to reuse. Like those construction workers...eat rice with minimal side dishes so as to save tDhe money for cigarettes and beer.

Hubby also gave up on them. He advised his mother to cut down on smoking and she told him, 'I rather die than cut down smoking'. Ok lor, if that is what she wants.
              Yes blood is thicker than water. I know if I were to talk bad about his family hubby won't be happy too so I just keep quiet or just cOmplaint to my own family.

Pinky Piglet

Ya normally hubby do not like to hear us complaining abt their mum normally I vent my frustration here or shared with my mum or close friends…

• FunzF Offline
                  Funz

Pinky Piglet:
                  Hi all

Everytime when my mil want to go for holiday she will always asked my mum to help look after my kids... Everytime she come back with goodies she will know to give some to neighbour , bil , sil but not my mum. It made me pissed it's not that I greedy over her goodies shouldn't she show gratitude towards my mum for helping otherwise how can my hubby and I go to work
                  Maybe buying some goodies for your mum as a form of courtesy, yes. But not as gratitude towards your mum for helping look after your kids right?

No offense hor. Just find it strange that you think your MIL should be grateful for your mum helping to look after your kids.

Pinky Piglet

Hi

Not offended not to worry! It’s just that Everytime she will remember to distribute goodies to my 左邻右舍 and not my mum… My mum is just doing me and mil a favor in order to let her go travelling and me to go work in peace…Everytime she will ask my mum to help if u cannot take leave to fulfilled her travelling wishes but not to forget my mum don’t owe her anything

Pinky Piglet

And my mum health is not in tip top condition… My mil act like one governess at home everyone must follow the way she does her house chores like everything age is right and we are wrong … And she like to trumpet to others issue pertaining to what happen at home imagine my neighbour in next Blk also will get to know I changed my job etc

• FunzF Offline
                        Funz

I know getting along with ILs is not easy.

Firstly, you are lucky that your MIL is willing to help you look after your child. Yes, her wanting to travel will upset your schedule somewhat and secondly you are lucky you have a mother who is also willing to help. No one owes anyone anything, I guess, everyone is helping where help is needed. This is your child, their grandchild, they are doing this for a loved one, not some stranger, so no need to say who owe who.

Just hoping you can see the more positive side and not be so unhappy about the situation. 😄

Getting fed up of having to scroll through the same posts each visit? When you register for an account, you'll always come back to exactly where you were before, and choose to be notified of new replies (either via email, or push notification). You'll also be able to save bookmarks and upvote posts to show your appreciation to other community members.

• 433 / 529