In-law problems?

Scheduled Pinned Locked Moved Relationships
    5.3k Posts 331 Posters 1.4m Views 1 Watching
      popireis

MIL enough headache...still have grand MIL as well :faint:

If I have to visit his 姑妈, I will suffer grand mother-in-law nonsense too. That old one thinks she is the grand matriarch. Marina Barrage big enough to fly kite.
      Not forgetting the \"aunties\" and \"uncles\" in-laws! :slapshead:
      Sometimes the aunties will joint forces with the MIL & GMIL.
      I can only try to turn a deaf ear unless it gets overboard.
      That's why I oso HATE CNY visiting to their places...

popireis

Ran1977:
        I pity you popireis!

Hi Ran1977, as an adult, I know how to ignore them and deal with it. I only feel heartache for my DSs. I have taught them to ignore the remarks as well and hopefully it doesn't impact them too much psychologically.

Esp the selfish younger BIL who loves to insult DSs.
        He will call them stupid and ask them if they failed their exams, or give remarks such as \"aiya sure fail wan la\" :mad:

When DS2 received the Good Progress Award, not only did they not give any encouragement, MIL simply said, \"well your cousin (the girl) oso got it last year wat.\" (but not sure if its true)

BIL worse, he commented, \"aiya last year fail this year pass is good progress already lor!\" :stupid:

For info, DSs NVR failed any subjects lor.

I remember at BIL’s wedding…THOSE old uncles and the aunties sitting together commenting on my son’s name. Son is only grandson. Thank goodness hubby is not eldest. My eldest BIL is the type who does not give a damn about following new generation of middle names. So hubby and I didn’t have to follow…whew!!!

popireis

For me, even DH dislike his aunts immensely. Why, always "fire fanning" in front of his mum. Examples, asking how much allowance we give, ask and reprimand us why we seldom bring MIL out for meals (hmm we stayed tgt then and had dinner tgt every night, only gg out for meals occasionally on weekends).

Once one aunt even said infront of me & DH to IL that DH will only be filial if I am a good DIL. WT??

Desserts

Popireis, I think if gmil still around I 'll be a goner too! Dh says his grandma is very domineering.

Yes, I hate cny too. Those aunties and uncles sit together gossip and ask those money questions, who s the good son, dil etc. I know I’m kena condemned one.
              Haiz, get it off our Chests feel better

Desserts:
                Popireis, I think if gmil still around I 'll be a goner too! Dh says his grandma is very domineering.

Yes, I hate cny too. Those aunties and uncles sit together gossip and ask those money questions, who s the good son, dil etc. I know I'm kena condemned one.
                新年要快乐 right? Forget about visiting those troublemakers.
                Depressing and frustrating to see them. Hubby's paternal uncles and aunties and even my own father's side...i don't give a damn. One whole life either comparing or else fan the flames. They are so fake and the so-called concern makes hair stand.

popireis

Desserts:

Yes, I hate cny too. Those aunties and uncles sit together gossip and ask those money questions, who s the good son, dil etc. I know I'm kena condemned one.

Depressing and frustrating to see them. Hubby's paternal uncles and aunties and even my own father's side...i don't give a damn. One whole life either comparing or else fan the flames. They are so fake and the so-called concern makes hair stand.

@Desserts, haha talking abt \"boomerang effect\", the old onesss dislike DILs who cannot cook, do housework etc, so I was the lone target in the past. Who knows, the 2 younger DILs she got years later are much worse than me, they dun even bother to visit, only once during CNY. And never talked to the oldies.

Hwr, once I stopped being the \"easy\" target, they shifted the \"attention\" to my DSs :censored:

So what we do now during CNY visits is to each bring along a game (Ipad, Smart phones, DS, PSP whatever), so that we minimize the interactions with the \"san gu liu po\" 😛

AdonciaTang

popireis:

[quote=\"Desserts\"]Popireis, I think if gmil still around I 'll be a goner too! Dh says his grandma is very domineering.

@Desserts, haha talking abt \"boomerang effect\", the old onesss dislike DILs who cannot cook, do housework etc, so I was the lone target in the past. Who knows, the 2 younger DILs she got years later are much worse than me, they dun even bother to visit, only once during CNY. And never talked to the oldies.

Hwr, once I stopped being the \"easy\" target, they shifted the \"attention\" to my DSs :censored:

So what we do now during CNY visits is to each bring along a game (Ipad, Smart phones, DS, PSP whatever), so that we minimize the interactions with the \"san gu liu po\" :P[/quote]Smart! At least we can get our kids and ourselves engrossed with the game rather then listening to what they have to say. I will always ask my kids to play their games and don listen too much. Last year I was playing one of the game too with my two DS, and one of the aunt commented that i am so rude and did not respect that there are people around me and i shouldn't be playing my game, she even said in front of everyone that I am an adult, should know how to behave but dono whay still like a kid. ... I feel like slamming the psp in my hand into her mouth. (p.s. sorry if i sounded a bit rough but i seriously felt like that. so pissed!)

mummy OnABudget

popireis:

[quote=\"Desserts\"]Popireis, I think if gmil still around I 'll be a goner too! Dh says his grandma is very domineering.

So what we do now during CNY visits is to each bring along a game (Ipad, Smart phones, DS, PSP whatever), so that we minimize the interactions with the \"san gu liu po\" :P[/quote]Yea for me is chu yi we will settle all relatives inculding my side, each of us will be busy with our own hps while dh entertain the kaypos.

Since my kids are not dh own kids the question will always come when will be ur OWN child coming? standard reply from dh what u mean by OWN child?? This 2 are my OWN child they call me daddy i love them as my own we do not plan to have another, and this will shut everyone up including my FAMILY.
                      :boogie: :boogie: :boogie:

I nt only got inlaw problems even my own relatives are also a big problem when it comes to family issues especially since my family is big and i only got 2 kids they expect us to have MORE and since this is my 2nd marriage they think is a MUST to at least have 1 more so as to let dh feel good.

This yr with ds undergoing PSLE i am going to face more crappy rubbish from them like make sure he gets at least 250 above ar dont throw the family face. :mad: :mad: :mad:

Once we settle the necessary visit to his side, I am free. I don’t care about 开年饭 since eldest BIL doesn’t believe in this. Old one always says 凡是跟大哥…so if he is not going back, we need not do so…anyway, the old one isn’t cooking.

Getting fed up of having to scroll through the same posts each visit? When you register for an account, you'll always come back to exactly where you were before, and choose to be notified of new replies (either via email, or push notification). You'll also be able to save bookmarks and upvote posts to show your appreciation to other community members.

• 470 / 529

sharonkhooS
                        sharonkhoo