In-law problems?
sleepy:
My DH is the only son in his family. He has a married sister, with medical condition. My mil has cancer twice, now in remission. My fil has high blood pressue and also other conditions.Have you gals thought of the scenario when your .MIL become weak and need to be taken care of intensively? Can't just leave to maid without supervision at all. So what are you gonna do if such a situation arise?
Assuming you are not living together.
My dad has heart problems. Mum just had an operation last year due to medical condition. Brother still has slight depression.
Honestly if anything happen to anyone of them, seriously I will be the next one having depression. What do u suggest I do if things become worse? -
TheAnswer:
My DH is the only son in his family. He has a married sister, with medical condition. My mil has cancer twice, now in remission. My fil has high blood pressue and also other conditions.
My dad has heart problems. Mum just had an operation last year due to medical condition. Brother still has slight depression.
Honestly if anything happen to anyone of them, seriously I will be the next one having depression. What do u suggest I do if things become worse?
In that case, they are definitely your responsiblities, no other way -
sleepy:
Exactly, everything falls on me and DH. Now you all know why I work so hard, try to save. The thoughts of all these things scares me enough.TheAnswer:
My DH is the only son in his family. He has a married sister, with medical condition. My mil has cancer twice, now in remission. My fil has high blood pressue and also other conditions.
Honestly if anything happen to anyone of them, seriously I will be the next one having depression. What do u suggest I do if things become worse?
In that case, they are definitely your responsiblities, no other way -
TheAnswer:
don't think too much....is ur dh the one who running errands for ur PIL?I mean send them to see doctor,etc??
My DH is the only son in his family. He has a married sister, with medical condition. My mil has cancer twice, now in remission. My fil has high blood pressue and also other conditions.sleepy:
Have you gals thought of the scenario when your .MIL become weak and need to be taken care of intensively? Can't just leave to maid without supervision at all. So what are you gonna do if such a situation arise?
Honestly if anything happen to anyone of them, seriously I will be the next one having depression. What do u suggest I do if things become worse? -
Imami:
That's why cny, her bday and mothers day I always wish her 身体健康

Same same
When FIL was bedridden for several months, MIL & maid took care of him. However, if MIL became weak, then it's only right that her children should take care of her with the help of maid.
However, I strongly suspect BIL & his 精打细算 wife confirm will :siam: As it is, they already kick MIL out after she ran out of usefulness to them and MIL had no choice but to move back to her own house. So sad. Before that she was babysitting BIL's two kids ever since they were born. -
i always tink of that. Both my SILs fr. dh side n my side r super lazy type(they themselves n their children were taken care by maids,MIL n my mum).They surely won’t be the one who take care of them.
Once i told myself i’ve to take care of my mum,but she chose to stay wf my brother.She always tells me that she could depend on my brother while can forget abt me.She said she had given all her money to my brother coz he takes care of her.Inside my heart,i am thinking,it is my mum who takes care of my brother n his children le…I am the one who sends her to see doctor when she sick…She forgotten abt it…doesn’t matter… -
vinegar:
Is that why you're migrating :evil: move super far awayshe can criticize me alone,but i couldn't stand her criticize me when my kiddo,my mother n sis in law ard.
Few times,she made fun of my bloated figure when her relatives came over to see the baby,during my confinement.
her fav past time is making phone calls, stir up prob n see doctor/specialist. Being rich n kiasi,i think she had visited most specialists in sg.
at times,i don't understand why she cannot speak probably,muz always make sarcastic remarks.....don't bother liao...she oredi a history....
I don't suppose your dh bring his parents along?
Then who will be taking care of them? Your dh got other siblings? -
vinegar:
don't think too much....is ur dh the one who running errands for ur PIL?I mean send them to see doctor,etc??[/quote]Yes. He takes both my parents and his parents to the doctor. My DH also buys tonic for them. I try to go when I can. DH insist I exercise partly because he also scared we not fit enough to take care of so many ppl.
My DH is the only son in his family. He has a married sister, with medical condition. My mil has cancer twice, now in remission. My fil has high blood pressue and also other conditions.TheAnswer:
[quote=\"sleepy\"]Have you gals thought of the scenario when your .MIL become weak and need to be taken care of intensively? Can't just leave to maid without supervision at all. So what are you gonna do if such a situation arise?
sleepy:
Why alone? Your dh didnt defend you?
Those ten draining years...?
Defend?
Never. Cept during the last straw when I chose out. I couldn't... I just couldn't anymore then... I had given everything I could of myself, there was nothing left to give.
That word (defend) not in dictionary. Never was. Don't think ever will.
Read your link :yikes:
I had the impression you & your dh are super lovey dovey so I assume he will cushion the impact on your behalf. Really :salute: for your patience & tolerance. You really love your dh very much to 爱屋及乌
Not instigating you or anything hor. I just imagine myself in your shoes, I think I would have definitely escape from that unconducive environment long long ago :nailbite:
I think I mentioned somewhere in the thread before that dh & I quarrelled because of MIL during the initial year of our marriage. Not that she purposely pit us against each other but she was the trigger of ALL our quarrels.
During those period, I indeed harbour thoughts of divorcing dh. This is not the type of marriage I have in mind. He is not meeting my expectation of a lovey dovey marriage by acting short tempered with me everytime I voice my grievances. And I'm reduced to suffering in silence. Obviously cannot talk back to MIL and also no sympathy from dh. During those period, my affection for him diminished a lot.
After MIL moved back to her own house, we are perfectly fine with each other again. Then another bout of unpleasantness after I quit my job to stay home. MIL was super upset that I quit my job & purposely nickpick on me every time I see her. This time round, dh did speak up for me so although she continued nickpicking on me but at least it was more bearable. After a few years, we shifted near my parents so less contact with MIL = more peace. Now our relationship is cordial. Even brought MIL shopping recently.
However, in my heart, I'm still scared of her. Dh always tease me, why am I so fearful of a tiny woman? MIL is small in size. Anyway living together, I don't think so. Visting, still alright.
And if the need to take care of MIL arises in the future, I suggested to dh to move in with his mum rather than she moves in with us. -
Hub’s 2 younger siblings are eyeing parents’ flat. The one married to angmoh staying in US doesn’t contribute regularly. Her husband instigates the naive wife to remind her parents she is still their daughter.
身体健康…how to? Cigarettes and beer/stout more important than meals.
Maid is so ex now…how to maintain one? But if it means staying in their own flat, that is most feasible. Moving in with kids is out of the question.
Getting fed up of having to scroll through the same posts each visit? When you register for an account, you'll always come back to exactly where you were before, and choose to be notified of new replies (either via email, or push notification). You'll also be able to save bookmarks and upvote posts to show your appreciation to other community members.