In-law problems?

Scheduled Pinned Locked Moved Relationships
    5.3k Posts 331 Posters 1.4m Views 1 Watching
      vinegar

gancheongmum:
      hi straffan23, at least your mil says mummy say this cannot that cannot. but mine is openly criticizing me like (your mummy is lousy, i pity you have such mummy, your mummy is so irresponsible blah blah blah). she is outright putting me down in front of my DDs!

vinegar, how i wish i could vote her out right away!!
      ok ok,i'll be ur supporter cum grassroot leaders,u've my vote! :evil:

KSmom8

Don’t have these issues with my MIL cos she has never offered to babysit my kids nor does she make effort to be close to them. Phew! However, DH thinks MIL is sooo good…so when he wasn’t happy with my mum who helped look after DS, he’d say his mum wouldn’t do this if she looked after DS. Ha! That was until I snapped and informed DH that his mum never offered to babysit once and doesn’t want to look after her grandkids!

Recently, DH was commenting that my mum was fussy…which I agreed. Then he said I was also fussy…which I agreed …on certain things I really want to have my way. I commented that most if not, all women have their own style / way of running their household. Then I commented that my MIL was also fussy and particular. DH looked at me in disbelief and kept quiet, probably didn’t want an argument.

I think that my mistake was that I didn’t let DH see / hear MIL’s unkind acts or words which she used to say personally to me. How she used to scold me ( yes, only me ) when we didn’t follow her instruction on renovation, kids food, clothing, etc. Or how she still expected me to mop and clean when i was pregnant and on medical leave. So, in his eyes, whenever I told him about MIL, I was bad mouthing his mum. Would have done things differently … let DH see MIL’s true colors… if I could turn back time.

I think my DH also a mummy’s boy, but fortunately, he’s the lazy and unattentive type so he won’t be at MIL’s beck and call.

vinegar

KSmom8:
          Don't have these issues with my MIL cos she has never offered to babysit my kids nor does she make effort to be close to them. Phew! However, DH thinks MIL is sooo good....so when he wasn't happy with my mum who helped look after DS, he'd say his mum wouldn't do this if she looked after DS. Ha! That was until I snapped and informed DH that his mum never offered to babysit once and doesn't want to look after her grandkids!

Recently, DH was commenting that my mum was fussy...which I agreed. Then he said I was also fussy....which I agreed ...on certain things I really want to have my way. I commented that most if not, all women have their own style / way of running their household. Then I commented that my MIL was also fussy and particular. DH looked at me in disbelief and kept quiet, probably didn't want an argument.

I think that my mistake was that I didn't let DH see / hear MIL's unkind acts or words which she used to say personally to me. How she used to scold me ( yes, only me ) when we didn't follow her instruction on renovation, kids food, clothing, etc. Or how she still expected me to mop and clean when i was pregnant and on medical leave. So, in his eyes, whenever I told him about MIL, I was bad mouthing his mum. Would have done things differently ... let DH see MIL's true colors... if I could turn back time.

I think my DH also a mummy's boy, but fortunately, he's the lazy and unattentive type so he won't be at MIL's beck and call.
          i guess...even my DH sees my MIL's true colour,he wouldl choose to be \"colour blind\" :boogie:

TheAnswer

vinegar:
            TheAnswer:

If my mil calls DH for no reason, he only entertain her for a few seconds then he hangs up. Only serious business (medical appointment or discomfort or need something urgently) then can call DH.

my DH is otherwise.He is so used to being treated as \"daughter\" to my MIL.

Yes,my MIL only has two sons.

My DH has to entertain her,if not, she'll use her usual tactics to make him feel guilty.she'll say she doesn't hv many yrs to live liao.....don't know how long i can talk to u....

but she said otherwise to the DILs,she told me,\"i'll be 长命百岁\"

My mil has only one son and one daughter. That is why she calls daily to ask if he has eaten. Such calls are terminated within seconds. 😆

I'm not behind this. DH has been like this even before we started dating 😆

The old lady is a living landmine...step on her, and I can forget about having peace and the whole world will know.

Hey Answer,
              How's your new maid?
              Your hubby told his mother she must eat whatever you cook without complaining? :yikes: totally amazing :salute:

TheAnswer

The old lady is a living landmine...step on her, and I can forget about having peace and the whole world will know.

Hey Answer,
                How's your new maid?
                Your hubby told his mother she must eat whatever you cook without complaining? :yikes: totally amazing :salute:
                Today I just interviewed the maid over the phone. She seems ok to me. The best part is she has taken care of patients in the last 2 years of their life. I'm making arrangements to get her in asap.

I'm cooking all the healthy food for her. Brown rice porridge. Steamed fish and vegetables. Fruits stew and fresh fruits. If she not happy, can get her own daughter who cannot even peel an apple properly for her. She can get tasteless food from her own daughter if she wishes to. I can't stop her right?
                My DH is a chronic nagger at times. I'm always careful not to press the wrong button or else my ears have to suffer. If you set him in the wrong mode, all the best. DH will also scold his parents if they are stubborn. Haha.. Good luck to them if they misbehave.

TheAnswer

Sometimes mil annoys DH so much, he totally ignores her. Punishment.

vinegar

Hey Answer,
                    How's your new maid?
                    i find it amazing too....her DH very macho.

anyway,no chance to cook for mil,she won't eat either,scare i poison her.

vinegar

TheAnswer:
                      Sometimes mil annoys DH so much, he totally ignores her. Punishment.

unfortunately,my MIL SUPER thick-skinned....

• JenniferJ Offline
                        Jennifer

vinegar:
                        Yes,my MIL only has two sons.

My DH has to entertain her,if not, she'll use her usual tactics to make him feel guilty.she'll say she doesn't hv many yrs to live liao.....don't know how long i can talk to u....

but she said otherwise to the DILs,she told me,\"i'll be 长命百岁\"
                        I also hv 2 sons only.

I find my elder boy always looking at his mobile phone - whatsapp/viber msgs from CCA teammates/classmates, informing this n that. Difficult to get his attention when I need to talk to him.

So I use the soft tactics lor - aiyo, all grow up liao, no time for your dear mother liao hor.

This usu. makes him put down the phone n listen.

Hm, sounds like I am going to be a monster-in-law leh :rotflmao:

Getting fed up of having to scroll through the same posts each visit? When you register for an account, you'll always come back to exactly where you were before, and choose to be notified of new replies (either via email, or push notification). You'll also be able to save bookmarks and upvote posts to show your appreciation to other community members.

• 529 / 529