Teach Less, Learn More
oh....u mean The Big Friendly Giant ??[/quote]Haha, yes. Augmum.
James and the Giant Peach are for Pri 4s. DD is using BFF.Happy Mama:
[quote=\"Augmum\"]
Roald Dahl's bk isit the one titled \" James and the Giant Peach\" ??
she bot too, part of the reading programme,
for exposure to more vocab and reading materials.
they also used it for acting out in drama lesson.
Hi Funx3,
Personally, I Think the Amount of Tuition, etc is Linked Very much to the Expectation we have for our Kids.
Of Course No One Wants their Kids to FAIL, and the Best is They Can Stretch ThemSelves to Achieve Even Better Results Every Term.
honestly, my expectation is juz for DD to fall within the average but found that even hard to achieve as she is not exactly \"scholar\" material to begin with? She din start talking till ard 3 y.o. & her verbal development has all along been rather slow. She is super active so nv allowed 2b flashed using flashcards. Both DH & I felt that as long as she tries her best, it's gd enough for us. But somehow, as we go along, we realise that it's not gg 2b easy for her if we juz follow the sch syllabus & use the sch's material alone.Funx3:
Saw fr the sports thread, i really muz hand it to u. :udawoman:My Gal is Also One of the Rare Few with Almost No Tuition. She Only Attends 1 CL writing Class in the HDB estates once a week. Frequently told this Mummy So Many of Her Classmates and Friends R Super-Envious of Her Coz She Can spent So Much Time Doing Multi-CCA, Join Competitions Here and There (So Good, Can Skip Class! :roll: :roll: ).
And Mummy Never Scold.
Yur DD has so much CCA & u can manage it really well wif 3 in tow. Hee...
Such a brave girl!:D Can c whr she's heading when she's all grown up: independent and resilient.She, too, Often Complains to Me About this Sketchy Outline instructions that is Being Dished Out in Class, Resulting in Sometimes Wrongly Interpreted HW being Submitted and Has to Be Re-Done. But Both My Gal and I take it in its Stride, Coz that's Part and Parcel of Learning Process. Like My Gal Say, \"If DO Wrong, Correct It -lor!\" And the Most Impt thing is Learn from the Mistake, Don't Repeat It.
aiyo, sad to say, IM joining the route liao cos I simply can't teach and my DD definitely needs help juz 2 b average. Ya, it sounds crazy but tis seems like the case wif our current education system. I guess IM juz the coward parent who is afraid my DD will b left behind.Else May Have to Follow the Trend and Outsource - Join the Tuition Route -liao!

If a survey is done, IM sure most parents will say YES, tis is juz not the right level to implement it. Cos tis is juz ridiculous. We keep telling ourselves we wan quality time wif our child not more study time doing research. Kids being kids, they need to release energy doing other stuff too.smurf:
I think this teach less, learn more program was adopting from overseas? When I was in overseas uni last time, they really teach less, but students have to do self studies/ research after lectures. And in turn, they really learn more rather than lecturers keep feeding and feeding informations. BUT, I think this can only apply to tertiary students whereby the students have thinking skills already and sound basic knowledge. But for small kids, I dun think they can do that. Because they still need guidance and people to teach them! Can you imagine small kids going to library by themselves doing research?? Of coz the parents have to do it for them or at least bring them there!
I am starting to sound like a yes-woman but... YES! EXACTLY! -
This is shocking!!! :!: Guess when my DD starts doing Science, I oso have to outsouce liao cos my Science sucks lor. :moneyflies: :moneyflies: :moneyflies:
My son is good at Science. Even in P5 where I worry about his other 3 subjects, I am not fearful for Science. HE DOES NOT READ THE TEXTBOOK AT ALL. He relies on extensive internet research. And since he loves it, he can spend 5 hours on Sundays (his play day) doing that. The textbook is NO USE.Champion:
I read from page 1 till here and really have to agree to most of what you have to say - seems like \"Enrichment class\" is a must..
My DD1 is P3 this year and I almost feeling the pressure pressing v hard since Term 1
...I am not a v Kiasu parent but I must say I keep v close tap to what my DD1 is learning from school....One area of concern, as I think most parents here agree - SCIENCE - a tough subject but has the least attention because it has only 4 periods (Total 2 hours) per week!
...Yes, the textbook is so pathetic that I do not know why MOE agrees to have so big beautiful pictures and the notes are so........little and insufficient! So, no wonder almost all student is expected to read up more from the guide book(s), assessment book(s) and through the internet! :!:
I am really
:? what is this \"Teach Less, Learn More?\" concept about! :shock:
\"Pathetic\" is definitely an apt description of the textbooks. -
If u need someone to sign your petition to MOE, count me in ya?!
Dat's why this issue is important to kick up a fuss about, I guess. Most parents CANNOT manage the skills demands of creative writing or math problem sums. Have to outsource or watch their kids do poorly at PSLE. I am quite sure that if schools taught skills properly, I need not coach my son so much. But schools don't give skills practice even as the exams require the skills. :x
IM certainly in favour for a change.
QuiteKSMum:
:oops: Tis looks like the path IM heading. My Science sucks, I forgotton all my grammar rules, have not done model drawing b4 and have not touched chinese books for a loooooong time. I will prob have to outsource everythg but IM not expecting Stellar results.When my son took his PSLE last year, it's like there're 2 persons sitting for the exams - him & I. Not proud to say that in that critical year, I had to outsource tuitions for 3 subjects (EL, CL & Science, Maths was taught by DH).
Even then, esp for Science, despite in small grp tuition, his marks fluctuated quite widely. No choice, after the June holidays, I had to study in depth the various guide books/exam papers that we had and tutor him during the weekends. Tried to spot questions, make him \"memorize\" the answer/phrasing as Science answers have to be v.exact. Despite doing all this, it was v.much a touch and go situation, I didn't want him to tell me abt stuff re: his Science PSLE paper, that's how unconfident I was!
I don' know about him learning more, definitely I LEARNT MORE about Science last year!! ( but almost all returned back already - short term
memory only!)
:oops: :oops: :oops: :oops: :oops: :oops: :oops: :oops: :oops:
:? 
Do u mean one of Roald Dahl's story books??? Which level is yur DD at?
Ya that's true. DD was asked to buy Roald Dahl's book for English this year. Hopefully it will be put to use during Semester 2. -
cantbearit2:
Dd's in Pri 3 this year. Yes, Roald Dahl's BFF.
Do u mean one of Roald Dahl's story books??? Which level is yur DD at?Happy Mama:
Ya that's true. DD was asked to buy Roald Dahl's book for English this year. Hopefully it will be put to use during Semester 2.
haha....true...true...
i think i was more hardworking when my gal was in upper primary than when i was a student... :lol: -
I think even with petition, they the garmen will not accept it. They think their policy/method or whatever you call it, is RIGHT, as usual. Itβs the right way to go. They will overthrow the petition for sure.
Eventually, many kids will suffer because of this kind of rat race. No childhood, no nothing. Sighβ¦
Getting fed up of having to scroll through the same posts each visit? When you register for an account, you'll always come back to exactly where you were before, and choose to be notified of new replies (either via email, or push notification). You'll also be able to save bookmarks and upvote posts to show your appreciation to other community members.