Teach Less, Learn More
If u need someone to sign your petition to MOE, count me in ya?!
Dat's why this issue is important to kick up a fuss about, I guess. Most parents CANNOT manage the skills demands of creative writing or math problem sums. Have to outsource or watch their kids do poorly at PSLE. I am quite sure that if schools taught skills properly, I need not coach my son so much. But schools don't give skills practice even as the exams require the skills. :x
IM certainly in favour for a change.
QuiteKSMum:
:oops: Tis looks like the path IM heading. My Science sucks, I forgotton all my grammar rules, have not done model drawing b4 and have not touched chinese books for a loooooong time. I will prob have to outsource everythg but IM not expecting Stellar results.When my son took his PSLE last year, it's like there're 2 persons sitting for the exams - him & I. Not proud to say that in that critical year, I had to outsource tuitions for 3 subjects (EL, CL & Science, Maths was taught by DH).
Even then, esp for Science, despite in small grp tuition, his marks fluctuated quite widely. No choice, after the June holidays, I had to study in depth the various guide books/exam papers that we had and tutor him during the weekends. Tried to spot questions, make him \"memorize\" the answer/phrasing as Science answers have to be v.exact. Despite doing all this, it was v.much a touch and go situation, I didn't want him to tell me abt stuff re: his Science PSLE paper, that's how unconfident I was!
I don' know about him learning more, definitely I LEARNT MORE about Science last year!! ( but almost all returned back already - short term
memory only!)
:oops: :oops: :oops: :oops: :oops: :oops: :oops: :oops: :oops:
:? 
Do u mean one of Roald Dahl's story books??? Which level is yur DD at?
Ya that's true. DD was asked to buy Roald Dahl's book for English this year. Hopefully it will be put to use during Semester 2. -
cantbearit2:
Dd's in Pri 3 this year. Yes, Roald Dahl's BFF.
Do u mean one of Roald Dahl's story books??? Which level is yur DD at?Happy Mama:
Ya that's true. DD was asked to buy Roald Dahl's book for English this year. Hopefully it will be put to use during Semester 2.
haha....true...true...
i think i was more hardworking when my gal was in upper primary than when i was a student... :lol: -
I think even with petition, they the garmen will not accept it. They think their policy/method or whatever you call it, is RIGHT, as usual. Itβs the right way to go. They will overthrow the petition for sure.
Eventually, many kids will suffer because of this kind of rat race. No childhood, no nothing. Sigh⦠-
Dd's in Pri 3 this year. Yes, Roald Dahl's BFF. :D[/quote]My DD had juz started reading one of Roald Dahl's book but not BFF leh. Hope her sch will oso use Roald Dahl's book when she reaches P3. At least I noe e book will b read instead of collecting dust. :lol:
Do u mean one of Roald Dahl's story books??? Which level is yur DD at?cantbearit2:
[quote=\"Happy Mama\"]
Ya that's true. DD was asked to buy Roald Dahl's book for English this year. Hopefully it will be put to use during Semester 2. -
smurf:
Tink we shld not gif up hope as yet. If we r willing to provide constructive feedback, who noes, thgs might change.I think even with petition, they the garmen will not accept it. They think their policy/method or whatever you call it, is RIGHT, as usual. It's the right way to go. They will overthrow the petition for sure.
Eventually, many kids will suffer because of this kind of rat race. No childhood, no nothing. Sigh... -
You are very optimistic hor. Even if they are willing to listen, it will takes another couple of years before they change it. They must realize that itβs is a wrong concept before they even want to listen.
Not just 6 hrs of sch .. if u add in those hrs spent on supplementary classes, which are really NOT to supplement their learning, but more often than not, are used to catch up on the topics when the teachers are behind schedule! So kids end up returning home 5-6pm at least twice a week, plus time spend to complete the hw, where to find time to do the 'tutorial' role with them for skill practices?Actually, to teach such mental SKILLS. Small group coaching is essential. Given the syllabus, you need a lecture tutorial system where big groups are exposed to a short theory talk through and then tutors take over for skills practice.
That is what is happening now when parents coach kids after school or engage tutors to do so. School does the lecture. Parents and tutors do the skills practice after school. If that is so, they should shorten school hours so we have more time for practice. To go to school to listen to 6 hours of lecture makes no sense.
It is really tough. I think the relationship btw me and my son is also getting strained .. when mommy keeps pushing him to do more, do faster, do better etc ... and he is also tired of studying everyday .. sign .. no wonder more parents want to migrate now ..
Getting fed up of having to scroll through the same posts each visit? When you register for an account, you'll always come back to exactly where you were before, and choose to be notified of new replies (either via email, or push notification). You'll also be able to save bookmarks and upvote posts to show your appreciation to other community members.