Teach Less, Learn More
I have no issue if this child needs a stretch for her ability and parents can and willing to afford. I only have issue if a child spends her/his time in centre A, B, C........ for the same subject. That derpives the child of time for unstructured stuff which may not be ideal in the long run.[/quote]We go for CL compo. and EL compo. class as these two are not so easy to do at home. At home dd will take more than the require time frame and also a lot of distraction.
:!: Scoring 90 over for all subjects still need to have tuition? I do not call this kiasu.. there is no word that fits this perfectly, not even super kiasu. The poor child. :heartbroken:ppnqq:
[quote=\"tamarind\"]
In addition to what you have mentioned, a very important point is parents who are willing to send their kids to tuition centers, even though the kids are already scoring 90+ marks for every subject. I always see the photo of the girl from my kids' primary school, who scored above 275, hanging prominently outside a tuition center in Jurong Point. She obviously had additional help outside of school. -
HI Brenda,
Same here…don’t have expertise to teach compo. So registered son for EL creative writing. CL tutor coaches son more in OE compre, compo and oral. -
Hi JanetHI Brenda,
Same here...don't have expertise to teach compo. So registered son for EL creative writing. CL tutor coaches son more in OE compre, compo and oral.
Yes, this arrangement is much easier. They go for the class and get the work done and no homework to bring back lah.
When teacher return the work, we then read through one time and learn from there what to be improved . -
Exactly this was my Question when my DD1 told me that the classmate sitting besides her has 6 tuitions - EL, CL, Maths, Science, EL Compo & CL Compo! :!: For the CA1 - the girl has full mark for Maths and the rest 3 subjects range from 95-98!! I was like,\"Errr.....more tuitions mean Good? And we are in a neighboring school leh not elite school lor\" Then DD1 seems to know what I was thinking, said\" Oh dear Mummy, I don't need that many tuitions; I don't have the time to rest or play if I have to go for so many tuitions and also my piano lesson!\" .... :rotflmao: :rotflmao:
Scoring above 90 is like WOW. Why still need tuition ? -
Kpo mode on. Which level is that? If it's the upper level, wow! Wow for both bolded. First one, wow the poor girl, pity her. Second one, wow for the good grades, not easy for the upper pri level, especially P6! :salute:
Exactly this was my Question when my DD1 told me that the classmate sitting besides her has 6 tuitions - EL, CL, Maths, Science, EL Compo & CL Compo! :!: For the CA1 - the girl has full mark for Maths and the rest 3 subjects range from 95-98!! I was like,\"Errr.....more tuitions mean Good? And we are in a neighboring school leh not elite school lor\" Then DD1 seems to know what I was thinking, said\" Oh dear Mummy, I don't need that many tuitions; I don't have the time to rest or play if I have to go for so many tuitions and also my piano lesson!\" .... :rotflmao: :rotflmao:janet_lee88:
ppnqq:
My DD1 is only P3!
Kpo mode on. Which level is that? If it's the upper level, wow! Wow for both bolded. First one, wow the poor girl, pity her. Second one, wow for the good grades, not easy for the upper pri level, especially P6! :salute:
I have not have the chance to chit chat with the girl yet but DD1 did mention she at times looked tired in class and ever being reprimanded by Maths T for not completing a page of Maths homework
Brenda10:
Asked the admin and teacher regarding this creative writing class taught before signing up. Important thing is the compo must be explained and written IN class.
Hi Janetjanet_lee88:
HI Brenda,
Same here...don't have expertise to teach compo. So registered son for EL creative writing. CL tutor coaches son more in OE compre, compo and oral.
Yes, this arrangement is much easier. They go for the class and get the work done and no homework to bring back lah.
When teacher return the work, we then read through one time and learn from there what to be improved . -
Do the parents of this girl scoring above 90 want to ensure she stays in that category or hoping to hit 100 ? I really really pity that poor girl...her life after school revolves around MORE work...if she is a TIGER cub, then it's thrilling to maintain those grades but have to be careful she doesn't shut down one day.
Exactly this was my Question when my DD1 told me that the classmate sitting besides her has 6 tuitions - EL, CL, Maths, Science, EL Compo & CL Compo! :!: For the CA1 - the girl has full mark for Maths and the rest 3 subjects range from 95-98!! I was like,\"Errr.....more tuitions mean Good? And we are in a neighboring school leh not elite school lor\" Then DD1 seems to know what I was thinking, said\" Oh dear Mummy, I don't need that many tuitions; I don't have the time to rest or play if I have to go for so many tuitions and also my piano lesson!\" .... :rotflmao: :rotflmao:janet_lee88:
Asked the admin and teacher regarding this creative writing class taught before signing up. Important thing is the compo must be explained and written IN class.
Hi Janet
Yes, agreed.
It's important to start earlier as the writing skill need time to build up. I yet to see whether her school will increase the rate of wrtiing compo. after the SA1. -
Brenda10:
Agree......personally I kinda regret not starting my kids earlier on their Writing. Placed too much faith on reading.....but alas, how many kids can read and pick up the writing skills....even I can't :oops:janet_lee88:
Hi Janet
Yes, agreed.
It's important to start earlier as the writing skill need time to build up. I yet to see whether her school will increase the rate of wrtiing compo. after the SA1.
Getting fed up of having to scroll through the same posts each visit? When you register for an account, you'll always come back to exactly where you were before, and choose to be notified of new replies (either via email, or push notification). You'll also be able to save bookmarks and upvote posts to show your appreciation to other community members.