Teach Less, Learn More

Scheduled Pinned Locked Moved Primary Schools - Academic Support
    721 Posts 46 Posters 191.5k Views 1 Watching
      Brenda10

HI Brenda,

Same here...don't have expertise to teach compo. So registered son for EL creative writing. CL tutor coaches son more in OE compre, compo and oral.
      Hi Janet

Yes, this arrangement is much easier. They go for the class and get the work done and no homework to bring back lah.

When teacher return the work, we then read through one time and learn from there what to be improved .

Champion

Scoring above 90 is like WOW. Why still need tuition ?
        Exactly this was my Question when my DD1 told me that the classmate sitting besides her has 6 tuitions - EL, CL, Maths, Science, EL Compo & CL Compo! :!: For the CA1 - the girl has full mark for Maths and the rest 3 subjects range from 95-98!! I was like,\"Errr.....more tuitions mean Good? And we are in a neighboring school leh not elite school lor\" Then DD1 seems to know what I was thinking, said\" Oh dear Mummy, I don't need that many tuitions; I don't have the time to rest or play if I have to go for so many tuitions and also my piano lesson!\" .... :rotflmao: :rotflmao:

ppnqq

Exactly this was my Question when my DD1 told me that the classmate sitting besides her has 6 tuitions - EL, CL, Maths, Science, EL Compo & CL Compo! :!: For the CA1 - the girl has full mark for Maths and the rest 3 subjects range from 95-98!! I was like,\"Errr.....more tuitions mean Good? And we are in a neighboring school leh not elite school lor\" Then DD1 seems to know what I was thinking, said\" Oh dear Mummy, I don't need that many tuitions; I don't have the time to rest or play if I have to go for so many tuitions and also my piano lesson!\" .... :rotflmao: :rotflmao:

Kpo mode on. Which level is that? If it's the upper level, wow! Wow for both bolded. First one, wow the poor girl, pity her. Second one, wow for the good grades, not easy for the upper pri level, especially P6! :salute:

Champion

ppnqq:

Kpo mode on. Which level is that? If it's the upper level, wow! Wow for both bolded. First one, wow the poor girl, pity her. Second one, wow for the good grades, not easy for the upper pri level, especially P6! :salute:
            My DD1 is only P3!

I have not have the chance to chit chat with the girl yet but DD1 did mention she at times looked tired in class and ever being reprimanded by Maths T for not completing a page of Maths homework 😒....

Brenda10:

HI Brenda,

Same here...don't have expertise to teach compo. So registered son for EL creative writing. CL tutor coaches son more in OE compre, compo and oral.

Hi Janet

Yes, this arrangement is much easier. They go for the class and get the work done and no homework to bring back lah.
              When teacher return the work, we then read through one time and learn from there what to be improved .

Asked the admin and teacher regarding this creative writing class taught before signing up. Important thing is the compo must be explained and written IN class.

Do the parents of this girl scoring above 90 want to ensure she stays in that category or hoping to hit 100 ? I really really pity that poor girl...her life after school revolves around MORE work...if she is a TIGER cub, then it's thrilling to maintain those grades but have to be careful she doesn't shut down one day.

Brenda10

Asked the admin and teacher regarding this creative writing class taught before signing up. Important thing is the compo must be explained and written IN class.

Hi Janet

Yes, agreed.

It's important to start earlier as the writing skill need time to build up. I yet to see whether her school will increase the rate of wrtiing compo. after the SA1.

BeContented

Brenda10:

Hi Janet

Yes, agreed.

It's important to start earlier as the writing skill need time to build up. I yet to see whether her school will increase the rate of wrtiing compo. after the SA1.

Agree......personally I kinda regret not starting my kids earlier on their Writing. Placed too much faith on reading.....but alas, how many kids can read and pick up the writing skills....even I can't :oops:

Teach Less is true....Learn More is false for the majority so the effect of this scheme is currently Teach Less Learn Less but More is still expected in exam questions. πŸ˜‰

Teach Less Learn less but More is required in exams.

Funx3

http://www.easyfreesmileys.com/skype-emoticons.html Errr... hello? Issit safe for buds to come out and play now?

Whatever it is, i surrender first hor.. http://www.easyfreesmileys.com/skype-emoticons.html

I was spoilt for choice on where to mark my 9000th post but since now
                        the coast here a bit clear, i ehekhemm.. decided that after weighing the
                        pros and cons... http://www.easyfreesmileys.com/facebook-smileys.html, i will mark it in this post with an extensive sharing, so pleeeze bear with me. :oops:

Honestly, i thought discussing General Election issues were already heated
                        enough, but phew... it was kinda hot in here when it started so i kinda errr..
                        chickened out for awhile... well, knowing the low profile me... πŸ˜‰... and
                        will now get my chicken in. :lol: I'm on the fence with this never-ending issue
                        with our ministry proposed style of teaching... http://www.easyfreesmileys.com/skype-emoticons.html but am going to offer some of my personal sharings
                        based on how our education system fared for my children & I since its implementation... with my not so powderful England. πŸ˜‰

TEACH LESS, LEARN MORE

\"TLLM would mean less dependence on rote learning, repetitive tests
                        and a β€˜one size fits all’ type of instruction, and more on experiential
                        discovery, engaged learning, differentiated teaching, the learning of life-
                        long skills, and the building of character through innovative and effective
                        teaching approaches and strategies.\"

The above is taken from the official website marking the http://www.moe.gov.sg/about/yearbooks/2005/teach.html.

For as long as i could remember, parents here have been complaining of
                        the many assessments and tests and more tests on top the rote styled
                        learning of yesteryears.. Hence upon the many feedbacks and research
                        done by MOE, it finally chop to endorse the Teach Less, Learn More method
                        in schools. When it was first piloted however, not all schools started this
                        method at the same time... good in a way cause the method can be refined
                        further as it went along. As with any new programmes, new teachers, new
                        baby (etc)... it takes time for the new idea to sink in with the children, their
                        parents (us) and definitely even with the teaching personnel. It's akin to an
                        instance where the Teach Less part was married off with the Learn More.
                        As with any marriage, again, it takes time to reach the stage where things
                        hit off & slowly move into auto pilot mode. The method was cynically viewed
                        as we all know how teaching in schools have always been rote learning =
                        sit-down-face-whiteboard-listen-to-teacher kinda learning... so how in the
                        world would a teacher even begin to fathom the idea of teaching less of the
                        required curriculum within the same time frame?

Teaching Less

As per what the website indicated... Teach Less, Learn More is about teaching
                        better, to engage our learners and prepare them for life, rather than teaching more,
                        for tests and examinations.

Now, how do teachers go around teaching less to begin with and yet complete
                        the curriculum proper? How to ensure there's quality teaching as opposed to the
                        then quantity teaching which equates to long draggy periods of lecture mode?
                        The answer is, the teachers themselves gotta learn more... for
                        that is the only way to approach the method imposed on them as
                        constructive as possible.

In view of this change, teachers supposedly go for training to facilitate this
                        new idea of teaching the syllabus. I like to add that i see this idea pumped
                        more into the lower primary in the beginning.. Teaching less to engage our
                        new learners at P1/P2 levels does offer a holistic dimension that aimed to
                        benefit children of all the different types of learning abilities, pre-taught
                        knowledge, family backgrounds (etc). The modes of assessment go beyond
                        pen and paper based exams, which in reality bodes well for majority of the
                        average learners within our communities who can afford only basic
                        kindergarten education, which at this juncture is still not compulsory but...
                        definitely highly encouraged.

What's different for learners at this stage? My DD2 came into this method
                        the moment she entered her little feet to formal primary education and i
                        for one tried to look at this new idea positively & was drawn into this new
                        idea with teachers who must've ploughed thru' sleepless nites preparing
                        their lessons... for teaching less only means they have waaaayy more to
                        prepare to ensure that the young learners are indeed engaged.

The teachers in the school (neighbourhood sch by the way)... :love: lovingly
                        prepared a whole semester of events and activities for the children and
                        guess what...? Also for the parents! Yes, you didn't hear me or rather
                        read me wrongly... parents are given more opportunities to learn together
                        with our children on the different areas of learning and assessments and
                        were advised on the rubrics at the beginning of the first term. Parents were
                        given more opportunities to work hand in hand with the children, the school
                        and the teachers with alternative teaching modes. Children got to work in
                        groups, in pairs and also individually which in a nutshell allowed children
                        to work on leadership skills, interaction skills, public speaking skills and
                        also skills that enable them to think out of the box... which many parents
                        have emphasized our local children lack due to the then labeled as the
                        stifling-textbook-manner of teaching children. Cookie cutter mode some
                        said. This opening up to parents was definitely a new thing for us and a
                        big hit with most parents as schools are usually seen as a closed-door
                        instituition. With Teach Less parents also get to learn more about what's
                        being carried out in our children's classes & how they are being assessed.

Show & Tell... Project Work... Charity Work... Exhibitions... IT Learning...
                        Field Trips/Learning Journeys... Class Presentations... Stage Performances..
                        The above were a few of the new ideas my child and i have enjoyed with
                        this Teach Less method in place. Did it meet our expectations? In our
                        opinion, YES! My child loved school... looked forward going to school and
                        absorbed all the fun ideas without so much as having to study for testing..
                        but study to really learn... and not just classroom textbook based lessons
                        but also out of classroom experiences that they truly enjoyed. Children got
                        to work in the garden for early science exposure, went to the Science Ctr
                        for follow-up and submitted a group project for class presentation and
                        finally showcased their ideas with a mini exhibition. Yes... my little girl
                        actually did all that. And learnt so much from the experiences... This
                        would not have been possible if the education system kept to its old
                        school whiteboard-based learning where the teachers are always rushing
                        to finish the curriculum and pile children with endless homeworks that they
                        in turn have to mark, which adds to their list of to-dos as well.

For Language, children got to visit the library more often as classes take
                        turns to sit down and watch drama skits... participate in drama classes...
                        listen to story-tellers... exposed to more books and yes get opportunities
                        to tell about the books they read (the teachers introduce books appropriate
                        for their level) and also get to rate how interesting the books are based on
                        their genre of interest. Funny books and retold stories got the most thumbs
                        up, so i've heard. πŸ˜‰ Parents enjoyed Reading Night where all of us
                        came with our books and picnic mats and snacks... crowded the school
                        hall to listen to engaging story-tellers from the National Library... be
                        awestruck by children performances and choral reading based on the
                        Stellar books covered for the term... a lotta work i tell you, but... our
                        children learn. Grammar contents were covered by the given Stellar
                        worksheets and more from teacher-prepared materials that encompassed
                        the specific grammar rules that was to be covered in the curriculum plan
                        handed out to parents during the first term.

Children were assessed based on classroom participation, how they behave,
                        how they helped peers and teachers alike, how they understood what was
                        delivered in and outside of the classroom, topical papers based on monthly
                        theme/book (etc... etc...) too many to name but in short everyone gets to
                        shine and excel in the attributes-variant where it isn't just paper based..
                        But yes... Teachers are still expected to cover the curriculum proper ie.
                        textbooks & activity/workbooks on top of all those fun activities.

Gotta end this sharing here for now for i gotta fetch my DD1 from supp
                        class which is another fun extra the sch is providing... will share more
                        if my sharings can provide the different perspective to what TLLM has
                        to offer.

To end this sharing, my girls and i evaluated the method... and the end
                        result? Did they really learn more?

Happy to note, i got a resounding YESSSS!

PS : As with any human-reliant industry... it is with profound knowledge
                        that we all know \"the teacher\" plays a huuuuge part in ensuring this
                        TLLM method to be a successful one. While there are still way too
                        many teachers who do indeed go bo-chap on us and the children
                        (yes, i have experience and can really shame the teacher if i
                        really want to.. :x) it's only fair that we give due credit to the
                        ones who truly truly truly and relentlessly make it work... and
                        in my case... it worked big time! :celebrate:
                        :congrats: on reaching 9k GrandMaster Promotion!
                        For A Moment, While I Scroll Down the Page, I Thought U Gonna Post a 9000 Word Write-up to Celebrate ....
                        Hee-Hee ....
                        πŸ˜‰ πŸ˜‰

Getting fed up of having to scroll through the same posts each visit? When you register for an account, you'll always come back to exactly where you were before, and choose to be notified of new replies (either via email, or push notification). You'll also be able to save bookmarks and upvote posts to show your appreciation to other community members.

• 51 / 73