Teach Less, Learn More

Scheduled Pinned Locked Moved Primary Schools - Academic Support
    721 Posts 46 Posters 191.5k Views 1 Watching
      Peony

cantbearit2:

Reason quoted by him being, his DS sch presumes everyone had some form of enrichm (learn more) so T dun have to teach as much (teach less). :frustrated:

Happened to my friend too... an airline pilot.
      Peony:
      I realised this a decade ago, hence why I chose a neighbourhood school over a branded one - one which had a policy of helping every child.

They only stream based on result at P5 & P6.

The shortfall is... as DD is in the best class at P5... the teacher is not teaching nor helping as much as the other classes for the same reason (as what happens in branded schools). Most kids in her class have enrichment (or super stay at home mums) and are way ahead of syllabus!
      Thanks for raising this... timely too. πŸ˜„

This rat race that almost everyone is faulting the system for is also if you
      see it a race that has cycled and recycled from the people who set them..

Somehow, Teach Less Learn More not only allows for other not-so-financially
      resourceful parents' children to catch up with new things to learn in P1 but for prepared
      children, they can take a breather to enjoy the other life skills that Teach Less Learn More has to offer.
      Peony:
      I was expecting the teacher to help more in compo as I cannot help her much BUT as the rest are way ahead, she's left playing catch up. She's shared some of the super compos, full of techniques... and when I asked DD if these were taught in school she said \"no\".
      Did you raise this concern with the teacher?

I usually tell parents that they can always come up to me if they require
      extra resource to help their children, in fact some say i give a lot of
      extra freebies... too overwhelming bah. πŸ˜› But in my case when DD1
      was encountering some difficulties i met up with the teacher to help me
      trouble shoot her weak areas.. The teacher not only raised it with my DD1
      but DD1 came back saying teacher took the time to go thru the problem
      area with the rest of the class and even paired her up with a patient mentor
      buddy. DD1 was the kind who will pretend to know and hell come won't ask
      for help.. bad mentality i know but had bad experience raising hand asking
      for help, but kenna :rant: from this one-kind-of-pattern teacher.

I agree with you that while super compos are good model compos, how to
      bring the techniques properly into the writing is important for children who
      may not already know how to add them in. Fortunately for me, the current
      school that my DD1 is in now... the teacher has specific assignments to
      trouble shoot these common problems children usually have trouble with &
      inspire them to write better. She also provides additional resource to let us
      parents be in the loop of what has been covered with the children hence if
      there is a need for any parent who wants to do follow up at home, we can
      complement that with the added resource given by her... and if not, the
      children can still manage fine on their own for she has explained the how-
      to's in class with all the children during curriculum time. From the teacher's
      initiatives, DD1 has recently told me she doesn't require help from me
      anymore. She can attempt the work herself... and if she does make any
      mistakes, her teacher WILL go through with the whole class so everyone
      can learn from one another's mistakes. I went like ... wow.

The teacher is teaching 3 subjects - Maths, Science and English... very stretched for her at P5 level. Her solution was for DD to write compos on her own and submit to her to mark.

DD has written two (one a week since I last spoke to the teacher). She's only been able to revert once.

Your DD1 is very fortunate. The teachers in the other classes in DD's school are more \"on\" as the kids are playing \"catch up\". For the top 2 classes more emphasis is given to maths to stretch them.

To help DD for compo, I find myself creating lessons plans for her - a lot of trolling websites to find tips and buying useful resources. In my case, the teacher is just marking while I'm teaching.

Hi ksi,

Yes, that's the WORD - Partnership.
        It's called the \"keyword\".... kekeke... :rotflmao:

Hi ksi,

Yes, that's the WORD - Partnership.

It's called the \"keyword\".... kekeke... :rotflmao:

Keyword ? That's a good one...I've been saying 'keyword' to my son almost everyday. To the school, their favourite word is partnership...to me, that's pure crap.

Funx3

:congrats: on reaching 9k GrandMaster Promotion!

:thankyou:

But alamak! :slapshead:

This congratulatory note cannot move into my intro thread.. 😒

Errrrrrrr ....
            Pardon this Newbie Here,
            Why Need to Move congratulatory note into intro thread?
            Is There Something I Don't Know of ....
            Like Extra Extra .... U Know what .... From U Know Who ....?
            Hee Hee .... πŸ˜‰ πŸ˜‰

I'm Such A Nomad ....
            Jump to this thread, jump to that thread,
            Never visit my Intro Thread myself ....
            πŸ˜› πŸ˜›

Funx3

For A Moment, While I Scroll Down the Page, I Thought U Gonna Post a 9000 Word Write-up to Celebrate ....
              Hee-Hee .... πŸ˜‰ πŸ˜‰

For a moment there, you're making me conscious.. :politebleah: .. and
              actually made me pause to think if i should indeed count word by word. :heresmyfish:

πŸ˜‰

Hee Hee ....
              No Need to Count -liao!
              Just Glancing thru the pages,
              U Should Be Well Ahead of the Word Count -le!
              :udawoman:

Aaaaah yes Funx3, i am indeed a woman...

A wholesome one too. :rotflmao:
                If ya get what i mean.. :evil: :evil:
                Two wholesome in fact... err... :idea: ...
                what i meant was \"too\" wholesome. :lol:

[quote=\"Happy Mama\"] This is a very nice way to describe them.... more compassionate and less condescending...

Well done, Buds! :celebrate: You have gained my respect! :salute:

Happy Mama, my children and i have personally volunteered with a group of under-privileged children and if i can be honest, we have first hand experience working with them. Being under-privileged aside... these children have serious family issues having come from dysfunctional
                  families. These children didn't ask to be there. They were born into
                  these families. They cannot choose not to be there. But if more of
                  us care enough to give our time, they can be rescued... but from
                  my experience... they do need to want the help.

Thanks for sharing Buds. It's very insightful... :love: :celebrate:

Wow, you are really kind and compassionate to volunteer to help the under-privileged children. DH and I have always wanted to help out these under-privileged kids, but I guess not anybody can do so, am I right? You need to join some social bodies to be able to volunteer?[/quote]I garnered my own friends and pitch to pilot one of our own... with the
                  help of a few friends from a non-profit organisation... and since the
                  sponsors took time to confirm their contributions, my small team
                  of only 3 or 4 of us plus our children went ahead with the idea
                  anyhow... with our own funding. The non-profit org acted as the bridge
                  to connect us with the ones that needed help and we had abt 15 children
                  we could work with. As for those who pm-ed abt the volunteer service, it
                  has since ceased unfortunately due to time constraints on my end and
                  also my team. I can empathise with this group cos i've had some form
                  of contact with a very small sample size of them... there are so many
                  more. I do find that some people tend to say they want to understand
                  or in the hope of helping the so termed \"under privileged\" group before
                  actually even understanding what being privileged truly means.. One
                  should truly understand the nature of life at the other side of the valley
                  to even begin to quote such terms.. And before anyone of you beat me
                  in saying it.... here's saying.. yaa i know i know... :roll: ... i have two of
                  such valleys lar k? πŸ˜›

Chenonceau

[quote=\"buds\"] Happy Mama, my children and i have personally volunteered with a group of under-privileged children and if i can be honest, we have first hand experience working with them. Being under-privileged aside... these children have serious family issues having come from dysfunctional

families. These children didn't ask to be there. They were born into
                    these families. They cannot choose not to be there. But if more of
                    us care enough to give our time, they can be rescued... but from
                    my experience... they do need to want the help.

Thanks for sharing Buds. It's very insightful... :love: :celebrate:

Wow, you are really kind and compassionate to volunteer to help the under-privileged children. DH and I have always wanted to help out these under-privileged kids, but I guess not anybody can do so, am I right? You need to join some social bodies to be able to volunteer?

I garnered my own friends and pitch to pilot one of our own... with the
                    help of a few friends from a non-profit organisation... and since the
                    sponsors took time to confirm their contributions, my small team
                    of only 3 or 4 of us plus our children went ahead with the idea
                    anyhow... with our own funding. The non-profit org acted as the bridge
                    to connect us with the ones that needed help and we had abt 15 children
                    we could work with. As for those who pm-ed abt the volunteer service, it
                    has since ceased unfortunately due to time constraints on my end and
                    also my team. I can empathise with this group cos i've had some form
                    of contact with a very small sample size of them... there are so many
                    more. I do find that some people tend to say they want to understand
                    or in the hope of helping the so termed \"under privileged\" group before
                    actually even understanding what being privileged truly means.. One
                    should truly understand the nature of life at the other side of the valley
                    to even begin to quote such terms.. And before anyone of you beat me
                    in saying it.... here's saying.. yaa i know i know... :roll: ... i have two of
                    such valleys lar k? :P[/quote]TWO valleys? That's FOUR or THREE hills/mountains... At the back oso got hah? :scratchhead: :evil: :evil: :politebleah:

• FunzF Offline
                      Funz

TWO valleys? That's FOUR or THREE hills/mountains... At the back oso got hah? :scratchhead:

I was just thinking that. 2 mountains make 1 valley. And Buds said TWO valleys? Hmmm......

Front or back, budhubs sure has his hands full. :rotflmao:

:stupid: Doh! :slapshead:

My bad. :clubmyself: Now why the heck i go open up ammo abt the other cheeks.. 😒

Now seriously got to chain the Haagen Daz Belgian addiction liao. :idea:

Getting fed up of having to scroll through the same posts each visit? When you register for an account, you'll always come back to exactly where you were before, and choose to be notified of new replies (either via email, or push notification). You'll also be able to save bookmarks and upvote posts to show your appreciation to other community members.

• 56 / 73