Post GE 2011 Discussion

1.3k Posts 85 Posters 254.4k Views 1 Watching
      concern2

DesertWind:

How to detox from post GE2011 liddat?
      :slapshead:

jtoh

raysusan:

[quote]ā€Ž\"If the annual salary of the Minister of Information, Communication and Arts is only $500,000, it may pose some problems when he discuss policies with media CEOs who earn millions of dollars because they need not listen to the minister's ideas and proposals, hence a reasonable payout will help to maintain abit of dignity.\"

- Dr Lim Wee Kiat, PAP MP for Nee Soon GRC, 24 May 2011 (Lianhe Wanbao)

what you guys think about this??

Got this kind of logic one meh? :? Is that why Singapore minsters need to have higher salary than the rest of the world so every other leader will have less of a problem listening to our minister's ideas? So Obama will think,\" Hey, this minister is earning more than you ok? You better sit up and listen...\" :laugh:[/quote]I earn more than you so my ideas must be right and you must listen to me. OMG!

hquek

DesertWind:
          raysusan:

i believe what he said today will bring into GE2016

Aiyoh....he should have kept his mouth shut...already so sensitive a topic but with the PM's move, I have already decided to move on...now what he said has made me pissed enough to write here again... :roll:
          How to detox from post GE2011 liddat?
          :slapshead:

hotel california...once you come in, cannot geddout...muahhahahahaha

• DesertWindD Offline
            DesertWind

Further imagine my pastor told the congregation (which happen to include a few top businessman in SG): peg my pay to the top income earners in the congregation. Otherwise, nobody will listen to me....!

Whilst I don't believe church workers/pastors should be paid peanuts (literally), never in my dream have I imagine the pay should be peg to the top income earner attending the church.

Sorry OFF TOPIC!(pssst....I really need to detox....)

wapobs

..... I earn more than you so my ideas must be right and you must listen to me. OMG!

I oredy try this one just now. my boss drive us to lunch and anyhow park roadside. sway sway auntie come, we quickly run to beg auntie \"pls la, pls la.. we just come only, we go now, we go now...\" but this auntie very jialat one, no use. so my boss bo bian, kena sarman... At that point, I taboleh tahan, so i ask auntie, \"eh, my boss car much bigger than your motorbike leh. why you never listen to him?\" she stare at me and say \"WHAT!\"
              I quickly run. :lol:

hquek

wapobs:

..... I earn more than you so my ideas must be right and you must listen to me. OMG!

I oredy try this one just now. my boss drive us to lunch and anyhow park roadside. sway sway auntie come, we quickly run to beg auntie \"pls la, pls la.. we just come only, we go now, we go now...\" but this auntie very jialat one, no use. so my boss bo bian, kena sarman... At that point, I taboleh tahan, so i ask auntie, \"eh, my boss car much bigger than your motorbike leh. why you never listen to him?\" she stare at me and say \"WHAT!\"

You really dunlike ur boss izit? want him to get a BIGGER sarman? :siam:

wapobs

wapobs:

[quote=\"jtoh\"]..... I earn more than you so my ideas must be right and you must listen to me. OMG!

You really dunlike ur boss izit? want him to get a BIGGER sarman? :siam:[/quote]no la, just checking auntie got follow Dr. Lim Wee Kiat style or not ma. :evil: :evil:

hquek

wapobs:

no la, just checking auntie got follow Dr. Lim Wee Kiat style or not ma. :evil: :evil:
                    and you had to try with your boss' car number...next time you guys in the vicinity, look out for auntie. šŸ˜“

SAHM_TAN

I think the family is responsible for the child's value system.

I used to think this way but boundaries are not that clearcut afterall. What if some kids do not have a family or good guardians? Education would be the next best channel. Also, not every parent is apt at delivering values, there are dysfunctional families but schools are not supposed to be dysfunctional and education is bigger than just learning ABCs and 123s.

I agree that there are circumstances which can be against a child. For better or for worse, the family is responsible for a child's value system. All schools have their set of values, there's moral education and some have di zi gui. But I find teaching values is something that cannot be taught, it must be lived and example must be set. I'm sure teachers are not robots and when their teach, their sense of values will be \"transmitted\". Sometimes, it's better not formalize, not all teachers have the heart to teach values. Not all teachers are like the one in the recent MOE commercial, though I believe there are some teachers who are like that.

We want schools to be many things, but let's just give the teachers time to focus on the basic biz, and to do that well. There will be teachers who will do more than teach and there will be teachers who do less than teach. Nothing is perfect. As a society, provide 2nd chances at various levels. There will always be good and bad guys.

Way2GO

Alamak, eureka!

By LWK's logic, now I understand why d garmen don't listen to d ppl.
                        Coz most folks don't earn at least $1.57 mil /annum.

By d same logic, all political appointees' pay shd now be peg at $1 below d median of $2,500 / month.

Getting fed up of having to scroll through the same posts each visit? When you register for an account, you'll always come back to exactly where you were before, and choose to be notified of new replies (either via email, or push notification). You'll also be able to save bookmarks and upvote posts to show your appreciation to other community members.

• 118 / 133