Post GE 2011 Discussion
jessicawongcs:
:offtopic: where is brown colour??? :rotflmao: :siam:[/quote]thought i saw them....may be now off duty, post-GE blue, GE withdrawal symptom, now undergoing cold turkey .....
CKS = redverykiasu2010:
[quote=\"wormy\"]:offtopic:
where to find info on different membership status (blue belt, yellow belt etc) of KSP parents?
class monitor = brown
super talkative aka grand old master = blue
private / recruit = what is the colour ? :rotflmao: :rotflmao: -
mr LTK talks about what is his plan and the problem he is going to face
http://www.razor.tv/site/servlet/segment/main/specials/General_Election/64062.html#/site/servlet/ajax/page;jsessionid=951580621B78BE926F3FE90EACB4AB0A.01?channel=contentbean%3A59830&view=asLargeVideoListBoxPage&page=1&autoLoad=true&video=contentbean%3A64062@59830_largeListPage@1305009116090 -
At the risk of being :heresmyfish: by chief, can.. er... :scared: er...petition to reinstall the other thread for 1 week as suggested by verykiasu2010 very late last night? The way that this thread is moving is still very much like the other thread... I don't see any difference between this thread and that thread leh.jessicawongcs:
opps, i miss out this... why dont have the \"voting\" in the morning? at least for 12hrs. at night all sleeping as need to work today, a bit unfair lei

last nite, or this morning, at 00:45, the poll was 13 vs 2, 11 majority for it, BUT this was even way past the 35 seconds lateness recently recorded on nomination day :rotflmao: :rotflmao:
My er... vvery ...hhhumble opinion... is that it would be better to stop this thread after 1 week so that we kiasu parents can eventually go back to what we do best... er... being kiasu... :siam: -
Why should age matter in such a way? Chiam is 72, and suffered 2 strokes, but he still will put in to fight in the next GE.
This is a sad day for Singapore. We have just lost a person who dares to change status quo, and who wants greater openness and engagement with the citizens.tankee:
George Yeo broke his promise
Foreign Minister George Yeo said on Tuesday he will not be contesting Aljunied GRC at the next general election.
http://www.channelnewsasia.com/stories/singaporelocalnews/view/1127882/1/.html
anyway he is 57yr old, by next GE, he would be 62!
George's leaving politics because he lost now, compared to Chiam's fighting to stay on, reveals a lot about Spirit, Passion and Pride in serving Singaporeans. -
jessicawongcs:
where is the uncle ah? i want to order my kopi :boogie:[/quote]How about verykiasu2010, our own kopi uncle?
This has become the ONLINE KOPI TIAM to talk about local issues for ks parents... :lol: :lol: :lol:ksi:
[quote=\"jessicawongcs\"]
:welcome:
Tin Pei Ling – How She Managed to Generate so much Hate
[quote]Tin Pei Ling, PAP’s youngest candidate for the 2011 General Elections, has attracted much attention since she was introduced on 28 March 2011.
Aside from all the criticisms regarding her facebook photographs, it is time to ask ourselves, why is she probably the most hated candidate from the PAP slate for GE2011?
Although everyone is ready to make a dig at poor Ms Tin for the fun of it, Singaporeans are not a dumb lot. We don’t jump to conclusions quickly. In fact, at every instant, people are trying to give Ms Tin a chance to prove herself. Since Ms Tin has already earned herself an easy entry into parliament by riding on the coattails of Senior Minister Goh Chok Tong, people are looking for some hint that she can in fact do her job well.
But she hasn’t given herself a chance. Time and again, she proves to us that she is incapable of understanding the needs of Singaporeans.
First, she hasn’t shown empathy. Empathy is not shown by saying that you’ve worked in a coffeeshop or by stating that you took 6 months off your studies to help out at your father’s coffeeshop when he was ill. Empathy is about understanding the lives of people whom you serve.
Ms Tin failed to understand the ground on many accounts. She seemed unaware of the problems associated with maintaining prices of hawker food. She even displayed ignorance towards the increasing rental prices of hawker stalls when she threw the problem to her fellow PAP candidate in the neighbouring constituency claiming the market was not part of her constituency. It is disappointing that she couldn’t even be bothered to consider the issue.
Furthermore, she made an insensitive and ignorant comment that education in Singapore is affordable. As a former NUS student, doesn’t she know of the financial problems Singaporean students face when pursuing a university education? Doesn’t she know that Singaporeans have to take up bank loans just to pay for their university education and end up in debt when they step out into society upon graduation? Doesn’t she know that there are young Singaporeans who have to shoulder the burden of working and studying to finance their university education? She also appeared unaware that there are parents who can’t pay the $12 school fees each month to put their children through their formative years of education.
In a press interview, she also mentioned that there was no governmental policy, in particular, that she wished to change. Upon some probing by the media, she said that she hoped schools could teach children values. There was no hint of the issues she would tackle in parliament. She didn’t even take up any crucial issues for the elections.
Her best attempt at displaying empathy was in her first rally speech, when she spoke about an old lady who was not well taken care of by her family. She said she had made arrangements to take care of the old lady.
Second, she doesn’t seem to understand her role in government. In her maiden rally speech, she spoke about how she had covered 30 blocks for house visits and each market in her constituency at least twice. In a special report in the New Paper, it was even said that she managed to visit 100 households in an hour. Is that what voters are concerned about? An election is not a competition about the speed at which you can shake hands of residents nor is it about the number of hands you shake! House visits are opportunities to understand the needs of voters. How can one understand the frustrations and needs of voters when one spends an average of 36 seconds with each household?
Her comments that the widening income gap in society is not the government’s responsibility further displayed her misunderstanding of the government’s role in society. The government does not have a mere role of ensuring upgrading goes as planned in constituencies.
Additionally, her attempts to maintain the prices of hawker food without understanding the implications and purpose of her actions shows that she is merely a person who takes orders. She does not understand her role as an active participant in matters of society and policy-making.
To this date, Tin Pei Ling has only proven one thing – she is completely clueless. She cannot understand the needs of the people and will not be able to represent the people in parliament. Today, Senior Minister Goh Chok Tong asked Singaporeans to give Ms Tin more time. We have given her more than a month, but all she can do is to claim that she takes criticisms seriously and add a pinch of her sad coffeeshop story to top it off. That’s not MP material. I hope she sees her shortcomings and works on them, for she will probably be representing us in parliament for the next five years.
This article is written by guest writer G.T.[/quote]http://thethinkingfishtank.wordpress.com/2011/05/04/tin-pei-ling-how-she-managed-to-generate-so-much-hate/ -
Busymom:
... The way that this thread is moving is still very much like the other thread... I don't see any difference between this thread and that thread leh...
There is a difference between the 2. The first one we talk and it makes a difference. This one now we talk and it makes no difference :). -
ANobleNerd:
Why should age matter in such a way? Chiam is 72, and suffered 2 strokes, but he still will put in to fight in the next GE.
This is a sad day for Singapore. We have just lost a person who dares to change status quo, and who wants greater openness and engagement with the citizens.ChiefKiasu:
[quote=\"tankee\"]George Yeo broke his promise
Foreign Minister George Yeo said on Tuesday he will not be contesting Aljunied GRC at the next general election.
http://www.channelnewsasia.com/stories/singaporelocalnews/view/1127882/1/.html
anyway he is 57yr old, by next GE, he would be 62!
George's leaving politics because he lost now, compared to Chiam's fighting to stay on, reveals a lot about Spirit, Passion and Pride in serving Singaporeans.[/quote]The difference is, George did not leave Aljunied to contest in aother GRC/SMC and lost. He lost despite having it under his charge for the last ? years. Psychologically, I would argue that his loss is different from that of CST. The voters in Aljunied did vote him out plain and square. As for CST, had he stayed on in PP to contest, he would never have lost PP. -
:rotflmao: :rotflmao: :rotflmao:Busymom:
... The way that this thread is moving is still very much like the other thread... I don't see any difference between this thread and that thread leh...
There is a difference between the 2. The first one we talk and it makes a difference. This one now we talk and it makes no difference :).
The weather is so hot...I want to use my manual pretty fan and order iced kacang before reading this kopi tiam's talk. Uncle...please... -
Of course it will make a difference... even if it is to be 5 years later. That is the power of social media, no?Busymom:
There is a difference between the 2. The first one we talk and it makes a difference. This one now we talk and it makes no difference :).
Getting fed up of having to scroll through the same posts each visit? When you register for an account, you'll always come back to exactly where you were before, and choose to be notified of new replies (either via email, or push notification). You'll also be able to save bookmarks and upvote posts to show your appreciation to other community members.