Post GE 2011 Discussion
Er... which kind? The GLCs or the SMBs?
the same for singaporean companies to relocate out
If GLCs relocate out, sure kena eaten by overseas counterparts/garmen...
If SMBs... haven't relocate out, already kena eaten by local counterparts/garmen...
Can't think of any example of SG companies relocating out of SG... expanding at most. -
enne:
It will be worse when it's raining heavily. One thing I can't understand......why cannot use the site previously used by PAP? PAP still using?WPās Yaw Shin Leong Meet-the-People-Session (MPS) held at Block 310, Hougang Avenue 5 picture at yahoo http://sg.news.yahoo.com/blogs/singaporescene/am-own-man-wp-yaw-shin-leong-205732087.html
quite sad to see how they need to use void deck for the mps session -
what! you brought them here?...
this is not speculative
they have been persuaded to move fund management to singapore
i was at their geneva office
somebody asked you to jack up our GDP, issit? GRRR..... :mad: -
WeiHan:
we moved up the knowledge chain very quickly in the 70s and 80s because the companies like Sony,Philips, TI, seagate etc etc are here. no doubt these are no longer viable in singapore
OK. Now, I understand it is their fund management. Do they have initial intention to move to Singapore or it is just the Singapore government that want to persuade them to come? If they are just going to relocate a few experience managers here but will bring along 20 new jobs. That is a good deal for Singapore. But if we allow a factory to set which brings in only a few managerial jobs but have to let in a few hundreds foreign workers, then it wouldn't be a good deal. I guess there is a balance. the government should come out with a quantitative outline of which kind is allowed while others are not beneficial for singapore.verykiasu2010:
this is not speculative
they have been persuaded to move fund management to singapore
i was at their geneva office
but the knowledge chain we are in now are high end wafer fab, solar, wind, high end pharma, etc .... they do create jobs for singaporeans and help singaporean leap frog the knowledge chain - cutting edge product knowledge, high end automation.....not suitable for those location that don't respect IP rights. and these investments do create lots of spin offs for the local economy, far beyond the direct job creation implicate. (i have explained this in one other post a while ago)
if you look back, you would realise how far we have come and that is why our people shun the lower level / lower tech jobs. -
JB houses are cheap...dun be surprised. we do have Singaporeans living in JB & working in Spore
JB houses also not that cheap.sleepy:
[quote=\"Oppsgal\"]
Move to JB.
Best is buy low in Singapore, amortise over the remaining lease period & that is your rental cost
Problem is need to wait for next trough... if it ever returns
[/quote]But school how, cannot depend on within 1km liao
Exactly. It is meaningless for our companies to pay high wages if it means that we become uncompetitive in the long run and either shut down or relocate. We have to remember that it is a global marketplace, we are not competing with Singapore companies, but those that have production bases in Vietnam, Phillipines, Bangladesh. For that matter, a large number of white collar services can be off-shored these days, like IT, accounting etc.
Yes, we can prevent cheap foreign labour from coming to Singapore, but we can't prevent MNCs from relocating to another country if they find they can't get the right labour in Singapore. Its our choice, but at least in the former you still create jobs and knock-ons for locals, in the latter, there is nothing left except an empty grass patch. -
Hmm...so I presume it is the same reasons for having Casinos, F1, YOG, ...
the spin off effect on the financial services sector: some jobs are directly created, more jobs are created indirectly, eg more biz for services of lawyers, accountants; other spin offs : more turnover for F&B, courier, travel, housing, transport, telecom, etc etcconcern2:
How does Singapore benefit from this move, and what impact will it have for Singaporeans? Keen to learn something new here... :salute:
it also has the multiplier effect, and the reverse is true too! like what i quoted the Maersk - PSA saga, indirect job lost is a few times the direct job lost....so many ship-supplies biz close down etc etc
The multiplier effect would be pretty hard to estimate wouldn't it? Is there any resulting 'profits' that had been estimated/budgeted, and any form of 'performance appraisal' after that? Or more of \"Do it, then see\".. ? :? -
those emc are not growing local operation, but growing more and more overseas, what is remaining in singapore is really for doing national service, to reduce the howling of job loss to singaporeans
Er... which kind? The GLCs or the SMBs?verykiasu2010:
If GLCs relocate out, sure kena eaten by overseas counterparts/garmen...
If SMBs... haven't relocate out, already kena eaten by local counterparts/garmen...
Can't think of any example of SG companies relocating out of SG... expanding at most.
sometime the singapore operation is run at a loss but the overseas operation help to absorb the loss. given a chance they rather hive all operations to overseas. i cannot name names here. i used to handle their finance and i know what numbers i am talking about -
I draw a difference between FT and FW. I think you are referring to FW. FT is to solve the lack of talent issue and FW is to solve the lack of cheap labour issue. We need to be clear which is which. From my earlier questioning, Busymom replied she saw FW as the issue Singaporeans are griping about, now I read from insider's post, she thinks FT is what Singaporeans are griping about. So maybe both are issues.pixiedust:
[quote=\"ksi\"] ... Only those employers who are getting the benefit for hiring fw should not be griping and making so much noise. Those who are ranting about fw creating competition must be mainly employees who are struggling to make ends meet with high cost living and yet face competition from the cheaper labour..
Agree. However, the noise is drowning the other side of the story.
Hence it is good to hear of real incidents as shared by Funz. I think in cyberworld, this is the 1st time I actually read about anyone speaking up for the FT issue. The noteable fact is also in Funz's quote, the Singapore restaurant manager's job was also lost. This is the side impact explained by our government and many do not believe or hear.
There are many voters not directly impacted by either camp so we need a balanced view to make a decision.
Funz' remarks are pointing mainly to FW. issues. With regards to FW issues, the reality is employers will favour the influx of FW due to better profit margin whereas the employees will not as it poses stiff competition. For me, I think Singaporeans other than ranting and griping about the competition, perhaps should also look to increase their value to the employer in order to gain the $500 premium starting pay against the FW. If just using the pink IC to fight the case of extra $500, both the government and the employers will not bite. We have been brought up in a meritocracy environment, citizens will not get perks directly in work competition but perhaps in other ways like in education, healthcare etc... Yes it is tough but this is the landscape in Singapore as an economic hub where everyone is pursuing results and profits. Having said this, there might be isolated cases where some people have experienced unfair treatment in education and healthcare...hence the pain of competition kicks in higher. On the whole, I find the problem definition is not very clear or supported by enough well-studied facts. All I know is when there is alot of noise coming from a group of people about FW, it pays to listen first, that is what the leadership has to do.
As for the FT issue, it's ironic to me that we have a widely-touted world-class education but we never produce enough talent and we are not talking about very specialised talent like building earthquake-proof architects or travel-to-the-moon astronauts etc.. we are talking about management staff, supposedly generalists. Most FTs mgt I know just so-called speak better and influence better but the locals mgt just work better.....thanks to our education? :laugh:
Finally if you ask me how a mini Singapore can compete in the global scene successfully...we need both types of giants in our people, both mental and physical. Size does matter, brain and body. Hopefully we can build a nation of people of average height 1.8m tall(for men) and 1.7m (for women) and a brain which can communicate and execute equally well.
And meanwhile to achieve that? It is burning a hole in the parents' pockets!!!!!
[/quote]labour cost at every level is only one of the cost factors. the relentless increase in rental is a major factor too. the biz owners are squeezed from all sides
Hmm...so I presume it is the same reasons for having Casinos, F1, YOG, ...
the spin off effect on the financial services sector: some jobs are directly created, more jobs are created indirectly, eg more biz for services of lawyers, accountants; other spin offs : more turnover for F&B, courier, travel, housing, transport, telecom, etc etcverykiasu2010:
[quote=\"concern2\"]
How does Singapore benefit from this move, and what impact will it have for Singaporeans? Keen to learn something new here... :salute:
it also has the multiplier effect, and the reverse is true too! like what i quoted the Maersk - PSA saga, indirect job lost is a few times the direct job lost....so many ship-supplies biz close down etc etc
The multiplier effect would be pretty hard to estimate wouldn't it? Is there any resulting 'profits' that had been estimated/budgeted, and any form of 'performance appraisal' after that? Or more of \"Do it, then see\".. ? :?[/quote]you can estimate the revenue generating effect when they up the room rates and must book a minimum package etc, they use the telecom and transport, F&B, airline travels.......just try to recall the days of SARS when the shopping mall, food court, airlines, hotels, all empty .....and some of the banks' share price duly dropped to $3 or $4......we need the spin off more than the headline numbers
Getting fed up of having to scroll through the same posts each visit? When you register for an account, you'll always come back to exactly where you were before, and choose to be notified of new replies (either via email, or push notification). You'll also be able to save bookmarks and upvote posts to show your appreciation to other community members.