Post GE 2011 Discussion
Sorry if I missed some of the earlier discussion - when I saw unemployment rate, what comes to my mind is that it is one of the measurements standard of living - or not?
I think the question asked was about unemployment rate not standard of living. So yes, self employed, tuition teachers, taxi drivers, all considered employed.
And to be SAHM that is a personal choice right? So what you driving at? -
Actually, with the way the SG dollar is these days, that is not necessarily true anymore. If the philosophy of a worker is, 'pay me first, then I step up', then it is not the type of worker I prefer to employ, Singaporean or not. The big paying jobs are there, if you have the inclination and drive, step up, and you will be rewarded.
No leh...for FT, they cost many mega times more than local talent leh so local talent is cheaper in this case.... If they pay the same kind of mega bucks to our local talent, then more will take up the challenge? -
No offence intended, but I alredi have culture shock when I pass by Little India on weekends. We have to toot our way through the lanes in order to get to the main road. Often by 6pm, there will be police on guard in teams. :nailbite: It is a Singapore unlike any HDB area.
Ya Little India quite special. I can say without fear of being stoned because I live in the area. It's ok lah, those who drive must be careful because they really don't care about right of way or any traffic rules. Littering is a problem but it will be cleared up quite fast. There is no real danger, before the policing started, I still feel quite safe. Now with the policing, it's more orderly in the sense of human traffic and they will not group anywhere they like.
I look at it as they need someplace to catch up and little india is the best place to do so, with the food, marketing and stuff. We always joke that during wkends we are the tourists. -
:rotflmao: :rotflmao: the one who created the table tennis storm :rotflmao: :rotflmao:[/quote]Let me tell you this, I SWEAR to myself if they did not remove the jamban lady who was previously in AMK GRC, I would cast my vote the other way irregardless!
What is jamban?limlim:
[quote=\"verykiasu2010\"]
and the jamban lady moved out from LHL's grc, or originally not there ?
If they really want to groom TPL, they can always keep her by PM's side, instead of pushing to SM..
So BIG BRO must have heard my swearing and hence moved the jamban lady to Yishun GRC instead. This proofs that BIG BRO was listening to people's feedback and also he has since apologized for all the mishaps that happened which garnered him higher votes!
On the apology, actually in my humble opinion, why should he be apologising for the Orchard Road flood? :? Similarly, what has mas salamat disappearance got to do with WKS? Go find the prison warden lah!
Anyway, I have no idea what is a \"jamban\" but I also refer to the woman MP of the \"Table Tennis Saga\" :mad: :rant: .
TPL in AMK GRC? Siow ah!!!! I think not in Big Bro's right mind will he do that! But why TPL in Marine Parade? I would like to see it in a positive light that perhaps SM Goh was the most diplomatic of all the ministers to be able to handle this hot-potato. Given his reply also he had to handle his wife's comments on peanuts. I see this as giving to him credit although it costs him much votes - poor thing!
That's why I say Big Bro in AMK GRC DESERVES the high vote of confidence. Other theories about weak opposition aside!
BTW, I am able to logon to KSP in my office computer liow!
:dancing: -
it really beats me why no one bring up the issue of JTC properties being \"ta bao\" into reits and squeeze the tenant high and dry, hawker centre rent ever go down ? must tender or bid for it right ? how cost of living don't go up ?
No leh...for FT, they cost many mega times more than local talent leh so local talent is cheaper in this case.... If they pay the same kind of mega bucks to our local talent, then more will take up the challenge? Just like how PAP bought the talent out of corporate world?verykiasu2010:
labour cost at every level is on one of the cost factors. the relentless increase in rental is a major factor too. the biz owners are squeezed from all sides
Rental I agree...the biggest winners are landlords, not businessmen. :rotflmao: -
i think the FTs and unemployment thing is quite difficult to understand.
i’ve come across so many fresh graduates who cannot find any jobs and resort to being full time tutors. Granted they can earn a decent amount every month.
i think the main issue is that our government is saying that we need foreigners to do jobs singaporeans dont want to do but in actual fact they are taking over our white collar jobs and also managerial positions. Healthcare and F and B is all foreigners.
and i think i have more and more foreigners wanting to become tutors too.
they wanna stick their finger in every pie… -
Thanks verykiasu2010, Funz, MummyThreeSteams for your insight. Learnt something new today! Again, this thread is too addictive...need to go for rehab again! :thankyou:
dunnoleh:
:rotflmao: :rotflmao: i where got powder to bring them here ? if I have, I won't be a keyboard warrior here liao.....
what! you brought them here?verykiasu2010:
this is not speculative
they have been persuaded to move fund management to singapore
i was at their geneva office
somebody asked you to jack up our GDP, issit? GRRR..... :mad:
happen to visit their geneva office..... :rotflmao: :rotflmao: -
:thankyou: :goodpost: this thread has taken a new life :celebrate:
:celebrate: All the things I wanna say and more.MummyThreeStreams:
If the government now decides to pull back on access to foreign workers, then we must accept that there may be lower, slower growth. This is the trade-off.
We can't have our cake and eat it....
OK, enough of my verbal diarrhoea. Don't flame me ok? I think I've been dealing with too much kids stuff being stuck at home I feel I gotta exercise my rusty brain a bit...
Anyway, gotta get back to my kids now.
[quote="DesertWind"]
jamban in her country of origin means toilet, broadcast from parliament some more…got crass
Getting fed up of having to scroll through the same posts each visit? When you register for an account, you'll always come back to exactly where you were before, and choose to be notified of new replies (either via email, or push notification). You'll also be able to save bookmarks and upvote posts to show your appreciation to other community members.