2012 PSLE Discussions and Strategy

Scheduled Pinned Locked Moved Primary 6 & PSLE
    6.0k Posts 467 Posters 1.6m Views 1 Watching
      fifiyeo

fifiyeo:

Actually, we just went on a cruise. 6 days onboard but ended up doing nothing but play and have fun. So many programmes sleep also not enough time. Bad idea if you want to study onboard!

6 days too long...pref weekend cruise. Sail off on Fri and return Sun. :offtopic: we need some relaxation but just don't know if I can let go on the cruise if hubby agrees.

Short cruise are worse for studies 'cos you have less time on the ship and you would probably want to explore and participate in the actitivites more. If you want to go on a cruise, don't bring the books. Just go and enjoy yourselves. We tried bringing a bag of work and ended up doing nothing. In fact sleeping way later than usual enjoying ourselves. 😄

If you want to do a study trip, then go to a quiet beach resort or villa and you can study to your heart's contend with your DC. This is the only type of trip I've successfully done any form of studying with DC.

Jasmy

We are going away during June holidays for a short break, I will not want my dd to bring any study materials there as I just want her to enjoy herself as well as myself.  Now really looking forward to that day… Where we can throw away everything about PSLE, as least for that four days 

Chenonceau

fifiyeo:

Actually, we just went on a cruise. 6 days onboard but ended up doing nothing but play and have fun. So many programmes sleep also not enough time. Bad idea if you want to study onboard!

6 days too long...pref weekend cruise. Sail off on Fri and return Sun. :offtopic: we need some relaxation but just don't know if I can let go on the cruise if hubby agrees.

Ummmm... a leeeetle bit cruel leh... to put your son in a cabin and make him study. There is all that fun outside and he can't touch the fun. It's like putting a delicious choco cake within reach (but forbidden) and then make him eat stir fried greens.

So near yet so far.

Bring him away a few days and let him play lah... 3 days also shiok. No study. No worry. Can 3 days make a difference? My DS said it very well and very firmly... \"Mom, if I have to bring work to my holiday then I would rather stay home and focus.\"

Chenonceau

psle2011mum:
            Hi folks

I'm back! Moved in and counting on 2 weeks being the maid while juggling work - tired but coping 😂
            Welcome back!!

fifiyeo

Going on holiday is not easy to study. I certainly agree. Spoils the fun for all. So after trying to fit in a short 30mins daily study schedule during our last break, I gave up. It’s also partly due to me wanting a break the most. So ended up really doing nothing but play for 10 days. I agree it’s a bit long but I guess if DC can focus and study when they should be, that 10 days won’t cost them their lives. But if they are like my DC, who really can’t care more, that 10 days also don’t make any huge difference in improving anything. So why bother? When it’s time to relax, just relax lor. DH say no need to worry so much.

Actually I think my DC get scared when I say no need to study since they don’t like to. Let just go play and fail also never mind! This is when the books all come out, No one playing any more.

mum42

Honey:

Wondering how many are going away this June hols with Prelims being just 2 mths away ............ should we or should we not?

Go away ? No chance of that happening. Teacher told me extra classes in June. This June is no holiday. Maybe can bring son out for few hours in the evening to IMM or a swim. Even if we can go away, maybe a weekend cruise...study in the cabin. :rotflmao:

Wow a bit expensive to change study environment leh :rotflmao:

fightingmom

For my case, we won't be going away in June but perhaps after PSLE 🕺

Will incorporate rest and outdoors activities for DD to relax so as not to burn out before PRelim / PSLE :xedfingers: 🙏

HAPPYH

BeContented:

[quote=\"janet_lee88\"]
                    Go away ? No chance of that happening. Teacher told me extra classes in June. This June is no holiday. Maybe can bring son out for few hours in the evening to IMM or a swim. Even if we can go away, maybe a weekend cruise...study in the cabin. :rotflmao:

Sounds like a good idea :rotflmao:
                    I'm sure after this experience, my lazier younger DD will not ask for a pre-PSLE holiday when she sits for her PSLE next year :evil:

Studying in the cruise cabin is a good idea...we get to breathe salty air and experience different environment instead of same 4 walls ! When tired from studying, go to the decks and look at the shiny stars. Meals all included right ?[/quote]Just give him at least 3 days break. Sure he will love to have it. It is good to have a small break in between. And as you know very well, after June it's going to be hectic. June holidays is the only time for you/your DS to recharge.

fightingmom

Just give him at least 3 days break. Sure he will love to have it. It is good to have a small break in between. And as you know very well, after June it's going to be hectic. June holidays is the only time for you/your DS to recharge.[/quote]

Yah... i think i need to re-charge too ! :nailbite: This PSLE thingy is really very stressful ! :sick: Who knows? i might the one who get burn out first ? 😆 🙏 :xedfingers: :faint:

fifiyeo

Yes, a few days of break here and there would be good for both parent and child.

Getting fed up of having to scroll through the same posts each visit? When you register for an account, you'll always come back to exactly where you were before, and choose to be notified of new replies (either via email, or push notification). You'll also be able to save bookmarks and upvote posts to show your appreciation to other community members.

• 159 / 602

thebottomsupblogT
                        thebottomsupblog
                        EducareTutoringE
                        EducareTutoring