2012 PSLE Discussions and Strategy

Scheduled Pinned Locked Moved Primary 6 & PSLE
    6.0k Posts 467 Posters 1.6m Views 1 Watching

If school gives past year paper, it is not a waste of time doing…the prob is when to get them done, and whether teachers give correct answers and explain them in OE section. This week, the kids are having Oral. Btw, oral exams have to be prepared, not just sit there and yak whatever comes to mind.

Honestly, kids should NOT be given any hw these 2 weeks.
      Right now, it’s whether which is more important - time management or getting homework done ???
      Some kids do not take naps in the afternoon, so by 930pm, it is understandable they are tired.

mummy so kiasu:

Maybe, I do not want to give my son the wrong impression that mummy will call or email teacher if I don't do my homework. They will have more subjects & more homework when they go to Sec next year. Learning how to manage their time is important. I will not give him extra work to do due to his school workload. Just expect his to produce quality work.

If my son only does school homework, he will spend a long time doing easy work... and then he will fail his exams because his exams are way more difficult than his homework.

If child does not get hw done, he/she will risk getting black-marked by teachers. But agree 100% that daily homework doesn't help kids pass these crazy exams. What's the point of getting them done ? It's a waste of time and def not time management.
        If teachers want to give past year papers, can they coordinate with one another NOT to pile on at one go ? :siao: 4 subjects leh.

shaber

PSLE ORAL

I am thinking of narrowing down some topics for conversation and picture conversation to practise during June holidays. Does anyone here know of past years’ topics (Eng Or Chinese) or is there a thread with topics listed? Thanks

fightingmom

shaber:
            PSLE ORAL

I am thinking of narrowing down some topics for conversation and picture conversation to practise during June holidays. Does anyone here know of past years' topics (Eng Or Chinese) or is there a thread with topics listed? Thanks
            My DD school started practising past years topic since P5. i thought most schools should have given out to all the children - no ? :?

Drama Mama

august24:
              fifiyeo:

He didn't manage to finish one bit and I sent him to bed at 10.30pm. A record breaking time since 9.30 is the usual bed time.

What makes me angry is that after completing the hw, it is not collected the next day. :stompfeet: Worst still, ds forgot to hand up hw and ended up with a 'late' remark written on it! :slapshead:
              But I am amazed that dd's friend slept after 11pm and does her hw while watching drama on tv.

Every child is diffrent. My DD has no problem staying late when she was in p6 but my DS now tries very hard to stay up will 10pm but will wake up with puffy eye bag and dark ring around his eyes. Some studies very well at night and some more productive in the morning.

I feel best not to compare what others are doing but rather find a way that best suites them. :xedfingers:

Chenonceau

shaber:

PSLE ORAL

I am thinking of narrowing down some topics for conversation and picture conversation to practise during June holidays. Does anyone here know of past years' topics (Eng Or Chinese) or is there a thread with topics listed? Thanks

My DD school started practising past years topic since P5. i thought most schools should have given out to all the children - no ? :?

Nah uh... mine only JUST started.

Drama Mama

[quote=\"shaber\"]PSLE ORAL

Nah uh... mine only JUST started.[/quote]Don't worry it's not too late to start. Must make them memorise some standard phrases...important. All the best :rahrah:

• Z Offline
                    Zekezachzoom

DS just finished both his oral today. According to him, the conversation part may not be necessarily related to the picture given (at least for his chinese). The picture discussion given was a library but the conversation is about what he does during his free time. However, for English oral, picture and conversation were both related. The picture was on CCA and he was asked about his CCA during conversation.

His Chinese teacher prep them pretty well, instead of just discussion, the teacher gets the boys to write in paper a conversation topics (just like doing a mini compo). I think in this case, the kids will remember better instead of just listen and forget.

• Z Offline
                      Zekezachzoom

shaber:
                      PSLE ORAL

Picture discussion is quite standard ( there are a few scenarios) but I think conversation is hard to narrow down.

Zekezachzoom:
                        DS just finished both his oral today. According to him, the conversation part may not be necessarily related to the picture given (at least for his chinese). The picture discussion given was a library but the conversation is about what he does during his free time. However, for English oral, picture and conversation were both related. The picture was on CCA and he was asked about his CCA during conversation.
                        My son having EL oral 2moro...he is revising on his own...bcos my younger one has CL oral 2moro. Since it is her first time sitting for it, I have to prepare her. But having tension headache now.

Getting fed up of having to scroll through the same posts each visit? When you register for an account, you'll always come back to exactly where you were before, and choose to be notified of new replies (either via email, or push notification). You'll also be able to save bookmarks and upvote posts to show your appreciation to other community members.

• 178 / 602