2012 PSLE Discussions and Strategy
Wow.. your teacher friend is a responsible teacher. Not all teachers go until that extend. My boy's teacher only do that with the weaker ones & not everyone in the class.There is an article about a new batch of teachers-to-be. I wonder how long these new teachers will stay in MOE.
The article mentioned in ST forum is an indication of what students and parents are presently facing. It's very true.
Of course, it's not possible for a teacher to teach every child to the same standard. He/she has so much work to be done. A teacher friend of mine told me she has to stay back everyday after school as her students want 1-1 attention for oral preparation. -
Pen88n:
The exact wordings from the PSLE instructions to candidates: Write your answers legibly in blue/black ink or ball pens. If you need to change your answers, cross them out and rewrite the answers.
Sorry to disappoint your kids, but I was informed no gel pen as the ink will smudge esp. when come in contact with liquid (like sweat) accidentally. Bring your kids to popular and choose the ball point pens they like. Buy some to try out for prelims.
I remembered DS went to popular to try some ball point pens. Being choosy, he dismissed all those with caps as he found that troublesome and might lost it. He insisted must be blue in colour. Ended up choosing this brand Stabilo. I bought 3 for him to try out for prelims and ended up going back before PSLE to buy half a dozen. Well, those landed up at my study table cos he went back to gel pen after PSLE! -
I was quite pissed when son insisted on gel pens…alamak, I lost touch with working world and why he must be so choosy over a writing instrument.
He and his Pilot G2 pen. I told him he isn’t allowed to use gel pens for PSLE.
Fine, he ‘surrended’ those gel pens for now.
As for my teacher friend, she is not young. But she couldn’t bring herself to say no when her students requested 1-1. Of late, she has been sleeping close to 1130 after she is done marking. -
Aren’t ink pens same as gel pens? So gel pens are allowed in PSLE.
alng:
Aren't ink pens same as gel pens? So gel pens are allowed in PSLE.
My boy's teacher only mentioned about correction tape & nothing about gel pen. It is true that kids are very picky when come to pen. Not like our times, we just used any pen. -
My dd can be pretty fussy over pens....some pens are so expensive :lightrod: :faint:
mummy so kiasu:
Yah, my dd prefers those gel pens because of the smoothness and she likes the grip also. And she bought quite a number of coloured gel pens to do her notes.alng:
My boy's teacher only mentioned about correction tape & nothing about gel pen. It is true that kids are very picky when come to pen. Not like our times, we just used any pen.
Anyway, I got for her some Faber-Castell blue ball point pens liao.
mummy so kiasu:
I refuse to allow my son bring mechanical pencil on day of his PSLE.alng:
It is true that kids are very picky when come to pen. Not like our times, we just used any pen.
That thing can cost a lot of time if the lead doesn't pop out...definitely crazy to be 'engineer' at that time. Bought 2 boxes of Faber Castell 2B pencils. We used Papermate then. Told him the one holding the pen is MORE important than the instrument :faint: so what if holding a limited edition pen if nothing in the head. -
slmkhoo:
how come you din discover those pens in China ? those are made in china, right ? :rotflmao:LOLMum:
My dd can be pretty fussy over pens....some pens are so expensive :lightrod: :faint:
Last year, we returned to Singapore and bought a pack of cheap pens from a HDB neighbourhood shop, intending to shop for 'better' pens when we had time later. But we liked the pens so much that we continued using them, and my daughter used them for PSLE too. They only cost $1 for 5, and came in 5 different colours (all blue ink, quite dark and very smooth) too! So
'good' doesn't necessarily mean having to spend more money. -
Gotta do a checklist:
*Protractor [CHECKED]
*2B pencils for OAS. [CHECKED]
*Set squares
*Calculator batteries
*E-dictionary batteries
*Get that new pair of glasses asap.
*Student card [WITH ME]
Anything else left out…gosh, no different from P1 registration.
Getting fed up of having to scroll through the same posts each visit? When you register for an account, you'll always come back to exactly where you were before, and choose to be notified of new replies (either via email, or push notification). You'll also be able to save bookmarks and upvote posts to show your appreciation to other community members.